Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Pirelli P Zero Velo Tire

PirelliP Zero Velo Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(50 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(88%)
(10%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/28/2021
by RHaas
Cycling Enthusiast
Murrieta, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My new go to tire

After many years of riding on veloflex and continental tires, the P Zeros are a nice change. Not only do they look hot, they come in a varity of colors they roll nice, feel good on the road and grippy, so far no issues with flats so seem to hold up good so far. I live in southern California so weather and roads here are pretty good most of the time. Not many harsh roads where I live and ride. I bought the PZero classic gum wall tire a few months ago and recently replaced those with Gold label (Gold Text on black ) . Looks very nice on my stealth Black Canyon Ultimate. I will call this a good deal. Placing order is easy and shipping is fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2021
by Sedryer
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great road feel and incredibly easy to mount

I ride road bikes about 200 miles per week on a mixture of road surfaces, including cracked pavement, chip seal, and regular tarmac. Some of this is in a dense urban area where among other things one finds broken glass on the side of the road. I don't race but I still like to go as fast as I can. The P Zero have an incredibly supple ride for a high-performance road tire. They're especially good in wet conditions and I have a lot more confidence in them cornering at speed when it's raining than I had in Conti 5000s, which is what I used before switching to the PZero. These tires are incredibly easy to get on and off wheels, including the fairly challenging carbon wheels that I'm running on my road bikes. You really never need to use any levers, you can do it with your spare hands without incurring blisters or having to use any four letter words to encourage the process. This is especially helpful if you need to change your inner tube on a cold day at the side of the road. With respect to durability they seem fine, certainly they're not inferior in any way to Conti 5000s. I've been running them on both of my road bikes now for close to a year, so I'm pretty confident in being able to attest to their durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2021
by Deano
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These Tires are The Bomb!

I was a dedicated Continental GP4000II tire user until they were replaced by the GP5000's. The GP5000's were a smaller profile, harsher ride and more difficult to install than the GP4000's. I have been trying to find a suitable replacement tire and have really found it with the Pirelli P Zero Velo tire. The size of the tire is very similar to the old GP4000 and is a super comfortable tire to ride on. I ride year round in all weather and on all surfaces and so far this tire has just performed really well. They were super easy to mount right out of the box. Although they are very light they have an aramid fiber belt that Pirelli claims to be fairly resistant to flatting. So far (knock wood!) no flats. I had been using a different tire between the Conti's and the Pirelli's and I was getting a flat almost every time I went out. Can't wait to try these out on my next cross country ride!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by BykeRyder18
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazingly Responsive!

I use these on my Road Bike and I ride variable lengths and durations. I chose this product because of others reviews and how the specs stacked up against the Conti GP5000 which don't have that great of reviews. I have to say... I love how responsive they feel and the smooth but strong grip that they maintain with the road surface. I have only done a few rides with them and looking forward too many more miles. I have not ridden in weather with them as that is not my preferred riding environment. They are fantastic!!! 10 out of 10!!! Two Thumbs way up!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2021
by 96Eclipsed
Cycling Enthusiast
South San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

I have been riding on and off for over 30 years...recently, I got back into cycling with the purchase of a 2018 Bianchi Via Nirone 7 105. It came with Kenda 700x25c tires...but with new wheels, I wanted new tires. The wheels are Shimano RS100...which feature Tiagra 11speed hubs. With a Celeste Bianchi, I wanted a tire that would work but also compliment.

Because of the whether, I've only managed to put on about 55 miles on the American River Bike Trail and they are fantastic. The trail itself varies from smooth blacktop to occasional uneven path due to gravel, small branches and even tree roots breaking the ground. Also, because of the lack of width in the road and some inconsiderate runners and riders, I've had to go onto the gravel shoulder....not once have I felt unsafe...just confident.

The packaging is great, with a hard box and clear recommendations for tire pressure based on usage.

Pirelli is a trusted name in automotive tires, I've owned several sets, and it was natural that I would trust them for my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Caldwell NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fast and Quiet

I recently upgraded the wheelset on my 2011 Bianchi Via Nirone and was searching for the perfect tire. I've put about 100mi on these since their arrival, and running at Pirelli's recommended pressure for my weight I can happily report they are very fast and buttery smooth rolling, and whisper quiet on the roads. They grip very well and are stable over some post-winter gravelly shoulders here in northern NJ. I went with 25mm width, was worried the 28 wouldn't fit my frame, and on my 19mm internal width alloy rims they sit nearly perfectly with no light bulbing and a smooth transition from tire to rim. They were a breeze to fit with conti race tubes. The blue logo is more of a cerulean than a true blue but still looks good against the black tire and my frame. Price is decent if they can last a few seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good as advertised and look great

Had some bad experiences with discount tires. Decided to try Pirelli. I be staying with these. Easier to mount and a very stable feel in all conditions. I've never ridden faster and so far no flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2021
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Zippy and sticky!

Mounted these after years of Vredesteins and most recently some Vittorias which I didn't like at all. These felt much faster and are holding up as well as the old Tri-comps. Besides the performance they are quite comfortable!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light and fast!

These are excellent tires. They are fast and hold up better then tires that are this light. The suppleness of the rubber is surprisingly good and the Cornering grip of the tire inspires confidence. Great buy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My new road tire!

Just took these out on a longer ride. Very comfortable, roll great and just feel fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by tRex
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires I've ever used.

I have been an avid cyclist for at least 40 years. In that times I've of course had a slew of favorite road tires. I look for a combination of ride quality, comfort, flat protection and endurance. A firm favorite was the Panaracer Ruffy Tuffy. Incredibly flat resistant, comfortable and long lasting. However, at 27mm they were a little too fat to fit my dream Moots titanium with Campy Record brakes. My LBS recommended the Pirelli PZero 25's about three years ago and I haven't looked back. Road feel is incredible. I find that I can run them at lower pressures for great comfort and speed. (At around 190 lbs body weight I can run the rear at 80-85psi and the front at 70-75psi on Hed Belgium wide rims) They are extremely durable too.These are honestly the best tires I've ever used and to that end I have a healthy stock of them for both of my road bikes.

I could not recommend these tires more enthusiastically. Try some!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2020
by cRule5
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Much like Conti 5000, but easier on and off

I've used Conti 4000s and 5000s size 28 on Enve 3.4 wheels. These Pirellis so far seem very comparable to the Contis as far as wear, comfort, rolling resistance, and flat resistance. However, the Pirellis are far superior in one major regard. They are much easier to mount on my Enve 3.4 wheels and easier to remove as well. When you get the inevitable puncture on a tire, the struggle removing and mounting your tire is now one less thing to worry about.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by Terry Rardin
Moreno Valley
Overall Rating
Nice tires. Good replacement for Continental 5000.

Bought these becuse reviews said they were easy to mount. Both my bikes have tough rims to mount. Mounted these on the tougher of the two rims and they mounted much easier than 5000's. The performance is really good. They feel fast and handle really good. Haven't had them long enough to see how durable they are. But, I am glad I bought them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Switched from Continental 4000S. I will be sticking to Pirelli.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Baal
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Supple riding great tire

I have never had a tire that mounts as easily as these. The carbon clincher rims I have are at the best of times challenging to use with Conti 5000GPS. A few weeks ago after struggling mightily on the side of the road after a puncture, I decided to get some of these Pirelli P Zeros, based on reviews here. Wow, they went on like putting whipped butter on warm toast. After inflation to 85 psi the 25 mm tires actually measured 27.9 thickness with a digital caliper, which actually makes me happy. As for how they ride, they feel great. Corner nicely. Haven't had them long enough to see about puncture resistance or wear lifetime or performance in the wet. But for the riding that I do (I don't race but I try to go as fast as fitness allows) they don't feel to be in any way inferior to the Contis as far as I can tell. For me that is high praise. Contis ride great but as I said, mounting them on my carbon clinchers was a nightmare. (I never had that problem with Conti 4000s) As for puncture resistance to be honest, as long as these Pirellis are reasonably puncture resistant and have a close to normal lifetime, I will stick with them. I like to know that if I get a flat on the road -- a not uncommon occurrence where I ride owing to all sorts of glass and road debris -- I can be rolling again in five minutes with no profanities or sore fingers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Doug W
Cycling Enthusiast
Lubbock, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy with Pirelli�s

Got these Pirelli�s to replace some Conti 4000�s. Pirelli�s are super sticky and quite comfortable. What I like most is that they are SOOO easy to get on and off rim when fixing a flat. Easily removed with 1 tire lever and then put back on with just hands and little effort. I just wish they were a little more puncture resistant because the roads where I live are terrible and have tons of debris. I feel the price from BTD was a fair price. I use them on my Canyon road bike and ride about 2500 miles p/yr. After 1000 miles barely show any wear. I�m very happy and would buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2021
by Christian Manigque
New York
Overall Rating
Classic

the p zero velo classic is one of the best tires that I've ridden, and the classic touch of tan fits perfectly with my brown bar tape, which is a great plus for me personaly. I had no problems with the tire grip so far, it just got torn because of cracked shells on the road, I've had one puncture in my 1,500mile'ish ride, but that depends on how careful you are too. All in all i love the classic tires, and gonna get another set now

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Framingham, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love, Love, Love these tires!

I love these tires! I loved them so much that I bought a second pair just to make sure I had a back up set!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by Rare
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Performer

This has been my go-to race and training tire for a while now. There are some tires that might be a bit faster but lack the durability and others that are more durable but handle/ride poorly (and are heavy). The Pirelli PZero Velo Tire performs very well in all areas. If I'm really concerned about every last ounce of power/speed I ride tubulars anyway.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2021
by Dan
miami brach
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Harsh ride

Got 2 flats on the first day and harsh ride. Continental 5000 much better

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 01

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]