Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Pirelli P Zero Race TLR Road Tire

PirelliP Zero Race TLR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(64%)
(29%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/1/2022
by Peter P
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
3,000 miles and no flats

Installation - Bought these as my first tubeless tires to mount on my tubeless-ready rims. After watching some videos and talking with friends, I decided to try to mount them myself. Overall it wasn't too difficult, I mounted them dry (no sealant) and pumped in some air to get the beads to set, then deflated, removed the valve cores, added sealant and re-inflated. I used a compressor with a presta chuck which made it much easier to get the beads to seat. I also left the tires in the sun for a bit to soften them before mounting, which others had recommended. Expect a bit of sealant to ooze out over the first couple of days as it creeps into any gaps between tire and rim, and then after that they'll lose pressure a bit quicker than a tubed set-up, but nothing crazy. For example, if I top off on Tuesday and ride Tuesday/Thursday, I don't need to add air Thursday, but will top off again before my Sat or Sun ride.

Road feel - I really liked the way these felt on the bike, I moved from 28c to 30c and typically had them aired to 70psi, but could have gone lower. The bike felt great (Wilier Cento 10NDR) and these tires really made the bike feel complete, plush but not sluggish or sloppy.

Durability - the real kicker with these tires is that I rode them 3,000 miles without a single flat. Once, at the 2,800 mile mark, I had a puncture that continued to leak slowly and required a plug (at home), and the next 200+ miles they were fine. I'm in Los Angeles and ride a mix of our city and mountain roads, and some dirt here and there. With a gran fondo coming up I decided not to push it and removed the Pirelli's but had to replace with the Schwalbe G-One Speed tires as the Pirelli's were completely out of stock everywhere and backordered for months. I still have a pair on order and may replace the Schwalbe's when they come in, or hang onto them for when the Schwalbe's wear out. I will do a separate review of those after a few hundred miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2022
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
If you can actually get them, these tires are AWESOME!

THESE THINGS ARE AWESOME! Best tires I've ridden on (I'll probably do 2,500-3,000 miles this year). I use the 28mm when I can get them.

I've used several tires in the last few years (Continental Grand Prix 4-Season, Vittoria Corsa Control G2.0 TLR, Pirelli Cinturato Velo). The 4 seasons are great for tubed riding in areas where you need puncture protection. The Corsa Controls were nice and felt great but I had some bubbling in the side wall and replaced them with Pirelli Cinturato tires. They didn't roll very fast but worked great for winter riding. When spring rolled around, I wanted some faster tires I could put on carbon wheels and just swap wheels instead of swapping tubeless tires.

These tires have excellent grip and I can feel a distinct difference between the Cinturato and the P Zero Race. I went with the TLR instead of the SL because I have a lot of roads where punctures are possible. I've had a few issues where I got weird screws in my tires and lost a lot of sealant but I was about a mile from home so was able to continue and address at the house. I have a little trouble getting them to seat on my Reynolds carbon wheels but that may have something to do with the wheels rather than the tires. The Cinturatos had no trouble seating on my Roval aluminum wheels. So I don't want to blame the tires specifically. But once mounted, they work great.

If you haven't tried Pirelli tires before, I'd highly suggest you give them a try. You may find that you didn't know how much you were missing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2022
by SLOSpokes
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great road feel with durablility issues.

These Pirelli's are my first experience with road tubeless, and generally I'm really happy with these tires. They mount well with reasonable effort, seat immediately, and hold air really well. The road feel is amazing -- it's like riding tubulars. They are fast rolling and corner amazingly well.

The downside is durability. After just a couple hundred miles I have a lot of micro cuts, some that have oozed sealant. I have not yet suffered air loss on the road, but my buddy running the same tires has had to insert two bacon strips so far with the same mileage.

All-in-all, great tires, but be prepared for roadside repairs and know that you may need to replace them sooner than expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2022
by Dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Mi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tubeless tire.

Fast and slow rides, alone and with competitive friends. Mine are 700x28.

Mounted on Campy Bora WTO tubeless rims. Put bead wax on the bead , popped them on very easy with one plastic lever, pumped them up and seated with standard floor pump ( didn't even remove the valve core ) .

Measure 28.4 mm after 1500 miles on a 19 mm internal width rim. Still some miles left on rear and front will go twice as long. Ride nice at 75 r, 70 f, and I am 168 lbs.

I have them in para sidewalls and like the look on a titanium bike.

No punctures so far.

By the way, I know we all have an anecdotal story like this , but I tried the new Conti gp5000s tr and punctured the rear on the second ride, sealant wouldn't hold it for more than one ride so I patched it and put in my spare bin.

Pirelli P Zero Race TLR has a lot going for it !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2022
by WE_ARE
Cycling Enthusiast
Bethlehem, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy on & great ride feel

I bought these after having ridden Goodyear Eagle F1 tubeless for the last 2 years and trying Schwalbe Pro 1's. The Goodyears were a nice tire and an inexpensive way to test out tubeless. I wanted to try something else and tried the Schwables first. However, I could not mount them on my Campganolo Eurus wheels no matter what trick I tried. So, I bought the Pirellis and they fit easily, pumped up without the need for an air boost to seal the tires and have a great feel on the road. I still need some more time to get a good feel for how they work on the different road surfaces. Finally, I was impressed with the packaging. It had all of the info I needed to set the right pressure based on my weight and the wheel width. Only knock against them is that they are a bit pricey.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2022
by Michael
Albuquerque
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A nice tubeless tire

Bought a set of these as I could not find the 28mm tubeless tires I usually used. I mounted them on hookless rims. They mounted easily and seem to hold air better than other tubeless tires I have used. They also seem quite durable on the New Mexico roads with lots of broken glass. Will purchase again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easiest tubless road tire to mount

In an effort to smooth out the ride on my road bike, I decided to try tubeless tires, allowing me to drop from 105 psi down to 80 psi.

By far, my favorite road tire is the Conti GP 5k - roll great, minimal flats, but I heard nothing but horror stores attempting to mount the road tubeless version, consensus was to try the Pirelli P Zero Race TLR. Mounting was very straightforward, and after about 100 miles, there was little to no loss of pressure between rides (2 or 3 days).

While I do enjoy the smoother ride, the P Zero does not seem to roll nearly as nicely as the GP 5k, after just over 500 issue-free miles on the P Zeros.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2022
by Garin hatcbh
Cycling Enthusiast
West Monroe, LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Endurace tire

I'm using the 25mm version tubeless on a set of Token Ventous Prime wheels. These tires go on the wheel easily, seat quickly, and hold air. I cannot be more pleased with these especially considering how fast they roll.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/4/2022
by P-dog War-torn
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A very good tire

I've been running Schwalbe Pro One tubeless for about 3 years now. Decided to switch it up and try something new, so I ordered these. They were an easy install on my ENVE 5.6 SES (rim brake) wheels, sealed on the first try with just a chamber pump. I've got a couple of hundred miles on them now, and they are very good - traction is good wet or dry; they feel "fast" (though I seriously doubt I can actually tell); and no flats yet.

That said, they do feel a little less supple than the Schwalbes. I'll see how they last, but if I were replacing them today I'd go back to the Pro Ones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2022
by Charlie
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tubeless tire

First time ordering. Great quality and awesome ride! Great durability! Will purchase again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2022
by Anonymous
Verona, WI
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not Conti�s

I was excited about the tan wall Pirelli tubeless tires for something different. The puncture resistance seems good and they roll fine. They are slick on hills and slip out when standing. Went back to the new Contis.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A pleasant first time tubeless experience with Pirelli's

First time tubeless user. I mounted the 26mm Pirelli P Zero TLR tires on a pair of BTLOS carbon tubeless rims. Mounting was easy maybe because I used some soapy water. The rims were tubeless ready, (no holes) so no tape was needed. I was pleasantly surprised that both tires instantly seated using my decades old Silca floor pump. After letting them sit a few minutes I pulled the valve core and added 3 ounces of Orange seal to each one. They have over 1500 miles without a single issue. Ride is good and for these uncertain times I already ordered a second pair for when these wear out. As a bonus they hold air extremely well for days on end. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2021
by Greg K
Cycling Enthusiast
El Toro, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
I am NO longer a fan of the Pirelli Zero TLR Tires

These were my 1st tubeless tires. I had these tires on my Bontrager Aeolus Pro 37 rims. The sealed with just my floor pump, no compressor was necessary. I ran them at 75 psi for my 145 lb body weight. However in 9 weeks I had 4 flats. 1 Sidewall cuts in both front and rear tires, one in the middle of the tread on the rear and one staple puncture in the rear tire that self sealed with Orange Sealant. I had to plug the other punctures. I had 4 flats in 9 weeks, so I am NO longer a fan of these tires. I used to run Panaracer Race D Evo 4 tire with tubes and maybe had one flat a year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2021
by Portland2Portland
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
4,500 miles - zero flats

After trying out two other sets of tires, I decided to go with these for my 3,842-mile cross country trip (plus another 700-800 training miles pre-trip). These tires were put through every imaginable condition - glass, gravel, potholes, interstate shoulders filled with tire blowouts, downpours, wet descents on fresh asphalt. Zero flats, great grip in slippery conditions. They also hold air better than any tubeless tire I've used, losing maybe 5 psi overnight.

I have not tried taking them off the rims, but they were not difficult to mount with an air compressor (on Roval Terra CLX wheels).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire

I run the Pirelli with a 700 x 28 on my front wheel. This is my first time using this tire but I am happy with it. I have it on my road bike, carbon wheels, and run it tubeless. I have about 1500 miles on it so far and I think the grip is really good and no flats or issues. I feel it must have good flat protection because I ride over the occasional crud on the road and no flats. I pump it up to about 85 and add air about once every 3 rides but it doesn't need much air, it holds it's air pretty good - better than my bontrager R3's. I would buy this tire again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
henderson, nc
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good.

Tire has been ridden approx. 1000 miles on the road with no issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by #1ROC
Central NC
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good so far

I changed to these hoping they would be easier to mount tubeless on my Campy Boro WTO 45s. They went on very easy. Popped in place and sealed up nice with just a floor pump. Only been out 1 time for about 40 miles, but they felt nice and smooth at 80 PSI. My weight is 195lbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2021
by sjhaynes7
Competitive Racer
Kansas City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great 30 mm Tubeless Road Tire

I have 5-600 miles on the tires with no issues. They roll fast and I have been using them on my Ti gravel bike riding on group rides. No problems staying with the faster groups and they handle the rough roads out here great. Been running about 60 psi in the tires and they still roll fast.

They were relatively easy to install on my set of Zipp 303 Firecrest wheels. (My previous experience with road tubeless were with Schwalbe Pro Ones and Conti 5000 which were significantly more difficult to install.) The tires are expensive but so far I am impressed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2022
by Howie
New York
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tubeless Option

In light of the lack of continental availability had to try a different option. This Pirelli is doing the trick. Holding air well and mated well as a tubeless option on Reynolds carbon wheels. No flats to date! (hopefully I didn�t jinx myself)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Solid tire

I ordered these earlier this year, when the Continental 5000 TL was on back order. I run 28 x 700 at 60psi, on Enve SES and found the installation easy. I replaced only my back tire, and it was hassle free for more than 2000 miles. I ride on roads that have a lot of pot holes and debris. Although I prefer the Contis to the Pirelli, the Pirelli is now my go to when the Contis aren�t in stock.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 47

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]