Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Pirelli Cinturato Velo 700c Road Tire

PirelliCinturato Velo 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(4)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(44%)
(25%)
(13%)
(6%)
(13%)
Reviewed 9/12/2020
by Scott
Atlantic City NJ
Overall Rating
Rode for six months

These tubeless tires ride perfectly! I ride road, titanium frame and Sram axs about 150 mi/wk. Tires are comfy, grip and corner well. So far, they are wearing well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Overall Rating
Fantastic training tire
These are amazing training tires while still having good road feel and grip compared to something like a gatorskin. I ran these with tubes for a while then went tubeless which felt much better. They are a little on the pricey side but they will keep going until the day comes when you get an enormous hole/sidewall slice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2019
by DatOtterRob
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lots of rolling resistance, and to be honest, I have no idea WHAT application this tire was made for, 'cuz it certainly isn't for what they claim it to be.

I bought these tires as a literal last-second emergency replacement of a damaged tire before a 200 mile epic event. The ride took place on open road pavement of all states of repair (everything from city streets to decaying farm road to gravel patches). I did the research, and these seemed to fit what I needed. And I was wrong.

The Cinturato tires wouldn't seat for me at home using a home compressor and Stan's. I ended up taking it to a local shop, who had to re-tape the rims because the tire bead tore up the old tubeless tape. On my test rides the tires felt sluggish, but I figured that once they got a little scuffed up on the road they'd roll a little faster. But when you're spending 25% more energy to just keep normal pace, it's going to hurt later on, and it did.

I did not finish the event, in part because the tires dense rolling resistance sapped so much energy from me. I had to aggressively pedal going downhill to fight the excessive tackiness of the rubber compound of the Cinturatos. Going uphill felt like pushing lead weights with glue under them. There were several times I had to literally stand on the pedals to start the bike rolling in my second-to-lowest gear. And to give an idea how much ahem grip the tires have? While rolling the bike by the handlebars, the tires picked up dry leaves and grass on the pavement.

There are some good points, once you get them rolling they do stay rubber side down, even on twisting and turning 7-10% descents. I had a lot of confidence taking 35MPH pavement downhills knowing my lint-roller Cinturatos would stick, but I also could feel the tires literally slowing me down on these downhill runs. They also show very little sign of wear for 100 miles, so I guess that's a good thing?

Pirelli says this is their go anywhere tire and I'm hard pressed to figure out where I could go with these. They're too smooth for anything but hero gravel, they're too sluggish on pavement, even at the widest 35mm they're too narrow for any off-road racing of any kind, and they're too dead feeling for anyone who likes to ride. The best I can figure is this is a practice tire, possibly in the same idea of resistance training? It might also be good for commuting, I would think these turtle-shell tires could deflect glass and nails all day.

Having run them with and without tubes, I'd probably suggest inner-tubes. They seem to not seal well tubeless and had to clean up a small puddle in my hotel room the night before the event. I also wouldn't run them low pressure, as a larger contact patch would only mean more drag as you pedal. Probably a good commuter tire, but definitely not a racing, gravel or adventure tire like Pirelli claims. Not unless you like to spend 25% of your energy fighting friction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Eugene C.
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
23 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
First Impressions Good

Pirelli Cinturato Velo TLR tires are what I consider the first performance all-season tubeless tire out of the Hutchinson factory. Thats right, these are made for Pirelli (with their own rubber compound) in France by Hutchinson. Other tires out of that factory include, but are not limited to Zipp Tangente Speed RT25RT28, Mavic Yksion Pro UST, and of course Hutchinsons own Fusion 5 11Storm line. They are all similar and very good.

Pay no attention to 1-star review stating these dont hold air. Yes, without sealant most tubeless tire and rim combinations will see slow leaks out tiny gaps between the tire bead and rim bead hook. With 40mL of Orange Seal and a few fast spins to get enough centripetal force to coat the tire, these tires are holding air as well as any tubeless-ready tire would...between 2-3psi of air loss a day at typical tire pressures.

While the other tires I mentioned are similar, the Cinturatos are definitely a little beefier. They are much stiffer tires to manipulate by hand than because they are the only tire with a real puncture belt beneath the tread layer. I weighed a 28mm tire at 338g...the claimed weight is 350g. On a wide 21mm Zipp NSW, the 28mm tire actually measures 29.5-30.5mm depending on tire pressure,

Ride quality is good for an all-season tire with puncture protection down the center. The Cinturatos do not have extra sidewall protection, but tubeless sidewalls are generally pretty tough already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great rolling tire, but wear is questionable

These were some of the best riding high volume tires I had ridden on the road. Unfortunately at around 700 miles I found a large cut and missing chunk of rubber from the tire. Could be that I hit something and it was bad luck. However, for this size of a cut I should have noticed and did not so I have to saw durability is suspect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Don M
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford,CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable, comfort Tire in max road bike size

I use these tires on my road bike. Tubeless ready, they hold air better than any other tubeless I've used in the past years. They are very comfortable and would make a great Tire for light gravel work. Unfortunately, they are terminally slow. I always feel like I'm pushing. For some, they will be perfect. For others not so much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2019
by FLBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Melbourne, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tire

Pros

It's the only tire I've found at 26mm and the largest tire that will fit on my road bike. I ride on a lot of gravel and the extra width is nice. It also runs at 89 PSI which gives just a little bit of dampening on the gravel.

It was very easy to install.

It holds air fairly well. Some tubeless tires take a couple of rides before they start holding air well, but this one did on the first ride. It still needs to be topped off before each ride.

Cons

Another reason I picked this was the puncture protection. I got a flat that won't seal after 3 rides. It could be a fluke, so I'm trying another.

The larger softer tire is a little soft in the corners. This hasn't caused any problems, but it reduces my confidence while cornering a bit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Desert Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Mounting challenge

Haven't ridden it yet, but mounted it yesterday. It was a challenge! Though the tire went on the rim easily and without levers, getting the beads to seat was difficult. Couldn't get the bead pre-seated all the way around. Definitely requires taking valve stem out of the valve and definitely requires a compressor. Once seated, some leakage was evident. However, once the sealant was swished around inside the wheel, the leaks between the bead and rim were sealed. I'm looking forward to riding it and hope the durability and ride quality warrant the work it took to get it mounted.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by XMXER
Competitive Racer
santa fe, nm
Value Rating
Overall Rating
these may very well be my tire of choice from now on

after dealing with two sets of defective goodyear eagles i switched these pirelli tires. i have now a little over 900 miles on them and they are perfect. they were not difficult to mount and hold air as good or better than any tube or tubeless tire i have used in the past. i am using orange sealant. i climb and descend mountain roads. i often exceed 50 mph and sweep through turns at over 35 mph on these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/20/2019
by MelbourneBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Melbourne, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worst tire I've had

I got 2 of these. One of them got a puncture that wouldn't seal with less than 100 miles on it. I thought that might be a fluke, so I replaced it with a 3rd one. That one had the sidewall blow out with less that 50 miles on it. I was just riding slowing and didn't run over anything. I had the tire at the recommended 89 psi. These are the worst tires I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for almost all purposes

I bought these tires to replace Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless tires. Those tires are great for racing but I had bad luck with flatscuts when I used them for training. So far these Pirelli Cinturato Tubeless are working well. Mounting them took a little more effort than lighter weight tires but was not overly difficult. Upon mounting, the tires did lose pressure quickly until the sealant filled in around the bead, now the tires are holding air very well! I will be interested to see how long these tires last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great for training

I bought these as an alternative to gatorskins. Everyone raves about gatorskins but I'm not a fan of their lack of grip and unpredictable feeling. These are a lot closer to a race tire in terms of grip but provide good protection. I'm a few months in and no nicks or anything in the tires. I ride almost every day and often chip and seal roads or through a large city with tons of glass.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2018
by Dominic
Southern Oregon
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great grip, supple ride for a 4-season

Like the P-Zero 4S, but not enough sidewall protection. Running the Cinturato tubeless and enjoying the ride and the tread-wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
NOT a tubeless tire in any sense

There is absolutely no way these can be considered tubeless. Ive been running tubeless tires (Hutchinson & Schwalbe) for some ten years on dedicated Fulcrum Racing Two Way Fit rims without any issue. They all hold air at least reasonably well, perhaps losing 5 pounds overnight (no sealant). These Pirelli's (28C), while mounting easily on the rim, and the bead sealing easily with a compressor, go from 75 psi to completely flat within a half hour. This is entirely unacceptable for a tubeless tire, and may well account for the pair reviewed by Velonews May 28, 2018 (and inspiring my purchase) having been supplied by Pirelli with tubes in them - Pirelli must have known the tires would quickly go flat otherwise. Calling these a tubeless tire is completely misleading. No amount of added sealant would make these a tubeless tire. I'm not going to even try, and I don't want to run them with tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2019
by SacTony
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire - feels like a light race tire, but is ready for any surface.

Id read early reviews saying this was a good ride, but also complaints that it didnt hold air and was hard to mount. I mounted them on DT Swiss Spline 24 rims using Stanss Notubes rim tape and 3 oz. of Stans standard sealant and have had zero problems, and no pressure loss, even over a two week layoff for that bike. The ride and handling have exceeded my expectations. A great all-road tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Slice pretty easily.

Roll slowly on the road and have had multiple punctures. They usually seal. Some have required a plug. Okay training tire. Could be more durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 86