Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Pearl Izumi Mens P.R.O. Short

Pearl IzumiMen's P.R.O. Short(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(10%)
(8%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/10/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good, not great

The Castelli Aero 4 short fits better, has superior build quality, is similarly priced, and not made in China. That doesn't make this short a terrible choice, it is still a top level product, and it out-performs cheaper alternatives. The biggest complaint I have about it is the chamois: it tends to pinch me in areas I'd rather not be pinched. I think it bunches up, due to being a little too large and thick. I also have Pearl AmFib tights that do the same thing. It could be I'm just not the right shape for this design, and others wouldn't have this problem, who knows. Overall, it is a pretty good product, but I have to admit, these shorts convinced me not to buy anything from Pearl in the future. Castelli all the way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2021
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not the same quality and Fit I Expected

Based on reviews and past experience with Pearl Izumi, I expected a better fit and quality, especially at the going price. Riding everyday, and spending some time on the ski slops, I quess my frame and size (5'9" and 167 lbs.) had something to do with the fit. Once you get them on, they really do feel supportive and comfortable on the bike, The mediums I bought felt as though a person with a larger waist size (32 inch) could probably fit the bill just as well. They feel like a second skin, which is alll well and good, but the chamois is just way to big and thick for my liking. The chamois feels more like a gel pad, rather than sponge or foam, or combination. Either way, once you get oin the bike, they do provide you with all day support and comfort. Because of the deep discount offered me at purchase, they are probably worth the price, not so much as the advertised retail price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2021
by Scott
Pacific NW
Overall Rating
Not as good as previous pros

I've been seriously cycling for four decades and love pearl izumi brand, but these pro shorts are a few notches below previous pro shorts I own. I was disappointed with the feel of the material and padding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit.

These are my first sets of bike shorts with a pad or chamois in the butt area. Of course it's not like you're going to be sitting on a cloud with these, but they definitely feel like your second skin and make riding for a few hours manageable. I tried some of the interval shorts as well (a step below these) and these are better hands down. The fabric itself is better and the feel of when you put it on.

BTW I'm 190/180 lbs and 5'10 and these fit good. I also fell on my butt and slide on concrete and my cheek got scraped but no damage on the pants. These are really meant to last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Nelson
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great shorts!

Best short I've bought, ideal for ling rides, extremely comfortable, expensive but totally worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent in many ways

These shorts are a step above the Attack Shorts by Pearl Izumi. Maybe 2 or 3 steps above. A very snug and supportive fit. My usual rides are 60-70 plus miles, 3x or more a week. These shorts hold up and do not get mushy over the ride or after numerous washings. (Just so you know, I either hand wash or use Delicate Cycle and hang dry my cycling clothing). These are extremely comfortable shorts. Many other products from other manufacturers do not fit me. I am a former baseball player, short legged, and muscular. I am not built like a cyclist. It's tough to find clothing that fits. I suggest trying on clothing before purchasing. Pearl Izumi is the only manufacturer whose clothing product I purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Okay product, but lack of cuffs a downside,

I have been riding in Pearl Izumi shorts for years. They no longer make my favorites, the Elite Inrcool with the orange padding. Too bad, because those were the best. Thought I would try these. The are okay. The padding is good, but the lycra is much thinner and they are a very tight fit. My biggest surprise was the lack of any type of cuff on these shorts. Guess I should have read the description closer. I can see these unraveling from the bottom up in a few years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product, I recommend these shorts

Excellent product,I would recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2021
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Nova Scotia, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Feel like a PRO

Got these on sale, best riding short I ever purchased. My 4+ hour rides are now done in comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by Zagie
Tahoe
Overall Rating
The best. Very comfortable after 100 mike rides

Padding is superior. Wicking is excellent

Fit and elastic is great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shorts

Comfortable to long rides (>60 miles).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by Randy
Oklahoma
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product and excellent service

Great product and excellent service, Bike Tires Direct is an excellent company to order bicycle parts and accessories, and the gold member points add up quickly to give you an additional discount

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
These are great

I have completed 5 long distance cross country cycle trips and butt pain was always a major issue. I just completed a 850 mile ride using these shorts with no butt issues. I was reluctant to spend the money but I have a whole drawer full of shorts that dont do the job. I combined these shorts with assos chamois cream and no issues. The material is very different and so is the waist band (or lack of it). I like these a lot!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2019
by wakejunky
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Pearl Izumi Is The Best!

I bicycle 8,000 miles a year. Making my shorts work extremely hard! Especially since I weigh 220 pounds. Pearl Izumi stays true to their product warranty. Due to their unraveling of seams, Pearl Izumi has replaced 4 pairs of their Pro Shorts over the years. These shorts had thousands of rider miles in them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Gerhard
NW Chicago suburbs
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding fit and comfort
These are the first P.R.O. Pearl Izumi I own. I've worn them throughout my Summer rides (~20 miles 4 times per week); and just love them. Nothing I've tried before compares. Well worth the price. I wash them in cold delicate cycle, and they come out great. Highly recommend
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by BradS
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
work best for me

among the different shorts that I have tried (Castelli, Pearl Izumi and Seqoi), these happen to work best for me; how well they fit, how well they stay in place while riding, and how comfortable as a result. I rated below 5 stars for value only due to their list price - when there's a good sale price for them, they are 5 stars for value as well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable fit, good for long rides

Very comfortable fit, good for long rides

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not worth the price...

I have been riding Pearl Izumi for many years and have always like the products. I want to see what a top of the short was like, so, I purchased the PRO short. I shorts ripped on the first ride right along the seam. The material seems lighter weight than most shorts. In the back is cut awfully low. I kind of felt like I was the plumber out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2019
by NW rider
Daily Commuter
Victoria, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great shorts

I use these shorts for daily 60 km commute. Great fit great feel. Just watch for sizing, I had to downsize!

I had been XL in PI till I bought these shorts, now I am L. I have not lost any weight, 63 and 205 lb.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Corpus Christi, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Most Awesome Shorts Ever!

These shorts are the most comfortable, light wearing shorts i've ever owned! And, they provided sturdy comfort throughout my long rides. They also stayed cool in 98F weather. Another great product from Pearl Izumi!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 56

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]