Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Pearl Izumi Mens PRO Short

Pearl IzumiMen's PRO Short(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(65%)
(24%)
(6%)
(6%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Eachesrob

Reviewed 7/13/2023
by Eachesrob
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The best shorts that money can buy.

I've been riding these shorts forever. They have the thickest, firmest chamois. Mine are now 5 years old and I started getting some saddle sores. I bought a new pair to see if the older ones degraded. While they are still thick they are evidently not as firm because the new ones solved the problem. I ride daily. I bought more shorts and now mix riding older ones with newer ones which works. A friend of mine complained of saddle sores recently. I suggested these shorts and he said that they are in a whole other league so it's not just me saying it! Make sure to buy according to their sizing chart. They will be very tight, but this is how they are supposed to fit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/19/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great fit and quality

like any clothing, cycling shorts are very specific to the individual in terms of sizing and fit, but these work great for me.

i'm about 5'9" (175cm) and 133 pounds (60kg), and for me the size small fits really well. they are definitely form fitting (especially at the leg opening) in a way which may take getting used to if it's your first pair with that type of fit, but i quickly got used to them and find them really comfortable now.

the leg grippers work well, the laser cut edge is really nice, and the seams are very smooth all around. these are my first high end cycling shorts, so the chamois is a huge improvement over what i had previously.

they are expensive, but if you're patient you can occasionally find them on sale for 50% off, and even at the more common 25% off, they seem to be a good value for what you get.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/23/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Did not work for me

I have been riding the PI Elite shorts for years and have been very happy with them but wanted to try the new Pro shorts with the new levitate pro chamois. I ride 30-45 miles on each ride on smooth bike paths. My personal opinion is that A) the PI Elite shorts are more comfortable with a little more compression B) the levitate pro chamois is only marginally better than the orange PI elite chamois C) I was sliding all over my saddle in these shorts which I do not do on my Elite shorts D) the leg grippers on the PI Elites keep my shorts from riding up my legs better E) overpriced. All of my shorts are size large. Unfortunately, once you try any apparel, they are yours.

So now I have a pair of what I thought would be awesome shorts that I do not wish to even wear again. That is the way it goes with cycling clothing sometimes. BTD would not provide any credit and I cannot disagree with them. They have been very good to me overall. I tried anyway.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 8/28/2023
by John
nevada
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best shorts for me.

These fit great and make my ride comfortable. They are a bit more expensive but seem to last quite a bit longer than other brands.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jkpeck

Reviewed 7/17/2023
by jkpeck
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My favorite

This is my favorite of the many shorts I have had over the years. The fit is great; the pad is very comfortable, and it breathes well. I have several pairs. The earlier ones have been very durable, so I expect this one will too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matthew

Reviewed 8/2/2022
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Not the Old PRO Short

I have a lot of riding gear collected over 20 years. I have always preferred the Pearl Izumi PRO shorts with the "In-R-Cool" and the red chamois. These newer shorts lack the high end design touches of the older PRO shorts: touches like the additional design stitching and leg hem are gone. The newer PRO shorts still have nice interior padding, but they are a plain material, and without any imagination in their design. The old model of PRO short used to stand out, and the material quality was visible, and also palpable when washing them. The new model works, it just looks like a lower-end version of Pearl Izumi shorts. I will only write honest reviews, and these are a slight disappointment considering the price point.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Senior Cyclist

Reviewed 9/18/2023
by Senior Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Merced CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable.

My go to shorts for longer rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MontBiker

Reviewed 8/28/2023
by MontBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Strong and sturdy bike shorts

I use the PRO short for all of my riding. They are comfortable and durable

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by btd

Reviewed 1/16/2023
by btd
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Decent short for the money

Fits a bit tighter than other Pearl shorts or tights (wear large usually W=35, Hips=37) but comfortable once on and riding. Pad provides good comfort.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TulsaLes

Reviewed 9/15/2022
by TulsaLes
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Support

First time I purchased a pair of these shorts....I usually wear Sugoi RS which are pricier.....the PI Pro short is a good alternative ....the fabric is nice and allows for body movement without rubbing.....nice shorts

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LoneRider

Reviewed 6/5/2022
by LoneRider
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not Form Fit and Good Leg Length/Grippers

I bought an XL which size chart says is for waist sizes 33 - 37.5. My waist is about 36 inches and these were too big - both too roomy and too long. Good leg length and silicone grippers. Quality seemed good for PRO level shorts but no riding experience yet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ernie pilon

Reviewed 12/15/2022
by Ernie pilon
northern mi
Overall Rating
Pearl Izumi shorts

It's all in name,,, great product,,,, but run small

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Oceanbikerider

Reviewed 1/29/2024
by Oceanbikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Overall Rating
They Fit Like A Glove.

They are a perfect size and shape for me. They are very comfortable and now my new favorite biking shorts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 3/13/2023
by Tom
Houston
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love them and hate them

You have to be careful buying the PI shorts. PI ruined them with the 2019 design, which are too small and you cet the plumber�s crack effect. They fixed this with the 2022 design by adding a 1 inch waist band, but they are still a bit tight. I love the Shamir. It is very well padded. I wish that PI had stayed with the 2017 design.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/14/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Comfortable for long and short ride!

I've worn these shorts for years, they never let me down in fit or comfortably.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan Beausoleil

Reviewed 10/19/2022
by Dan Beausoleil
southern Oregon
Overall Rating
Definitely recommend

By far the best shorts ever they are expensive but worth it

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Neil

Reviewed 11/11/2022
by Neil
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Overall Rating
Not cheap but the best

125 mi /week road bike cyclist. Most comfortable for 80+ year old butt

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]