Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Pearl Izumi Mens Escape Quest Shorts

Pearl IzumiMen's Escape Quest Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(91 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(60)
(20)
(4)
(3)
(4)
(66%)
(22%)
(4%)
(3%)
(4%)
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by FAA
Daily Commuter
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Downgraded from previous years

These are horrible shorts. They look nothing like the picture. Perl Izumi has gone way downhill as far as I'm concerned. I bought a few of these 5 years ago. Same item - Escape Quest shorts. The old ones are excellent, so I decided to get a couple more pairs. WOW, have they gotten bad. Cheaply made - worse then the knock-offs that can be had for 1/2 the price. They have a single zig-zag stich around a flat piece of padding - not contoured like the old shorts. Extremely uncomfortable to wear and I look like a fool wearing them as well. Pearl Izumi used to mean quality. Now it just mean how cheaply can we make something and sell it using (what used to be) our good name. No more P.I. for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2021
by FAA
Daily Commuter
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Downgraded from previous years

So disappointed in these shorts. I have several pairs from 2014, which are still going strong, even after thousands of miles. So I decided to get a couple more. The 2014 version has double stitching, no overlapped seams, grippers on the bottom all the way around and a contoured pad. They are great shorts! The new version has single stitching in a zig-zag pattern which just looks dumb and obnoxious, overlapped seams (this will get totally irritating and annoying after just a few miles), a few grippers pieces in the bottom, and a pad that is a single huge piece - extremely uncomfortable. Sadly, the quality of PI has gone WAY down as I've had the same issues with their jerseys. I feel like PI is no longer a brand that I will buy. I've gotten "cheap" no-name brands that have had better quality, which is sad when you are paying a premium for PI. The short literlly look like something you'd pay $10. So disappointed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great deal

Good fit, good look, good value. Most importantly adds comfort on the bike

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2021
by Smithaca
Cycling Enthusiast
beautiful finger lakes NYS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Typical BTD good value

Understand that cycling shorts and chamois are like saddles - very personal. But for me, I find these shorts to be quite comfortable regardless of ride length or air temperature. Also on my indoor trainer they work well but not 5 star. One hour seated only sessions. Outdoors, 2-2 1/2 hours. But what shorts do get 5 stars on a trainer? Older male rider, 175 lbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2021
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT CYCLE SHORTS

So guess what? A new pair of cycle shorts can make a huge difference. It's especially true when the manufacturer has improved the product. The Chamois and the construction of the shorts are both improved the the pair I bought several years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by GCLobban
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Bulky chamois; Only good for short rides

This is a solid, non-articulating chamois. Bulky feel, no comfort for long rides. At the price they are fine for a daily commute. These are not your best choice for anything over a 10 mile commute. The shell squeaks on my seat as well. These used to be my choice for my weekday workout ride (~20 mile) not any more. Has Pearl abandoned the 'value' segment of recreational rider wear.

I'll not longer trust a short were the chamois isn't shown.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2019
by Anonymous
North Florida
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
I LOVE the chamois!

I've seen a lot of reviews lately on these shorts and how people aren't liking the chamois in the newer pairs. Personally, I LOVE the uncontoured chamois. There are no less or more padded areas which for me gives an extremely comfortable, consistent level of comfort in the whole area (sit bones, perineum, etc). These are more comfortable than my contoured Specialized shorts which are $20 more in price and i can only make it about 20 miles without those bothering me. Give them a go. You may have the same result!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Bruce
Minnesota
Overall Rating
Love Izumi Shorts!

The Quest short is a great price for a six panel short of high quality lycra. Excellent chamois, neither too thick or too thin. Perfect length (I'm 5'8). Bookmarked these so I could buy another pair in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Shadow
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
These bike short fit well except for the inserts which are bulky and uncomfortable.

I am a road cyclist. These shorts are so uncomfortable that I am not using them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by spiderlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Taos, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Surprisingly good quality and performance

I bought these (2 pair) to replace some aging Pearl Izumi (not sure which model) shorts from many years ago that had now lost the elasticity in the waist. I wasn't expecting much at this price. But they have proved to be comfortable and even hold onto my leg quite well. I'm super lean, so that was somewhat surprising. The butt pad felt kind of weird at first-like I had made an accident in my pants like when I was a kid. But when you're on the bike, these are noticeably more comfortable than previous versions of Pearl Izumi shorts (for me). Truly excellent price as well for something that works this well. Wish they were still made in the USA instead of China. But that's how the world is these days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/10/2020
by MrMike
Houston
Overall Rating
Good value.

Good value product. It's part of my biking routine. But not for long distancing. I use higher end Pearl product for distance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product.

Have been using these shorts for several years. I usually alternate 2 pair for the whole summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2020
by Bikerman1
Ohio
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great riding shorts

Great fit. No waist tie is nice also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2020
by Bikerman1
Ohio
Overall Rating
Great riding shorts

Great fit. No waist tie is nice also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Anonymous
carson ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for indoor workouts!

Outstanding comfort especially on those long sessions on the spinner!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Simple,effective,fit well

I had never owned this brand before so I did not know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised with the fit and simplicity of design. No frills, a simple short, fine quality, no issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2020
by msknopf
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good quality shorts, use for Spin Class, very happy with purchase

I generally wear PI Pro or Elite bibs on the road, needed something for Spin class during winter months. Very happy with this purchase, nice material, fit well, good length, comfortable. The chamois is slightly bigger/thicker than what I am used to but feels fine on the bike. Good quality and definitely an upgrade from other lower end shorts that I had been using previously. Very satisfied.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Quality Shorts at a decent price

I use these in warmer weather by themselves and under tights in cool weather. As with most Pearl Izumi gear they are well made and seem like they will last a long time. I am a 32 waist and these fit me just right. My only minor complaint is that the padding is a bit thicker than I like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Gurley, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Very good product at a reasonable price!

Very comfortable and seems to wear well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Steve
Arizona
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Met all expectations.

These fit well, and are very comfortable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 83

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]