FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Pearl Izumi Mens Elite Softshell Jacket

Pearl IzumiMen's Elite Softshell Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(4)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(19%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/21/2016
by WAonabike
Cycling Enthusiast
WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nice looking, bright yellow

I wear a M or L in regular clothing, and,usually, a L or XL in bike gear. I ordered a L. It fits okay, definately not loose, and rather snug under the armpits. It is soft, with a fuzzy texture underneath, very similar to a Bell jersey that I have had for a while. Not waterproff, but it should be ok in a very light drizzle. There is not much room under jacket for layering, so I will be wearing a jersey or something small under. NO VENTS other than the front zipper. I can see how it will warm up and may get a little stuffy. Also, the front and rear are the same material. I generally like a little thicker, or wind blocking on the front, and a little thinner material on the back to let the heat dissipate. The yellow is very bright, but it has a lot of black on the rear where cars will approach. There are good reflectors. Would I buy it again? Probably not. I would spend a little more and get a nicer jacket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2016
by WilsonNYCbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great shell. This thing's an inferno.

I bike commute throughout the winter in NYC. Usually we get a good stretch of 10-20 degree Fahrenheit mornings. This thing is light, tight, and extremely warm. 20 and windy this morning and I was nice and toasty on my ten mile ride to work. It has rubberized material on the inner sleeve cuffs and on the bottom garment hem so the shell doesn't ride up on you, or peel back and expose your wrists to the cold. If you value your cold weather rides, I highly recommend this shell. Note I usually get size M, but I wear an L in this. If you plan to use it as a layering piece, as I do, you may want to get a size up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2015 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 2/19/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Jacket

The jacket is light, fits well and most importantly, is quite warm without overheating. Cuts the wind very effectively.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 4/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great jacket but not on the coldest days

This is not a Minnesota winter jacket - particularly in regard to the black inner sleeve material, which is not wind resistant. good to about 20 degreees F with layering, which the snug fit is not particularly conducive to. Nice curved long sleeves which are cut to cover glove cuffs, long tail with a gipper strip on the inside to prevent it from riding up. Very well cut and tailored.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 1/6/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
WASHINGTON, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good fair weather jacket

The jacket is comfortable for temperatures above 45 degrees and below 55 degrees. The jacket is not wind resistant and does not dissipate heat very well so it have limited use in south western PA winter rides. I do like the jacket however.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 12/2/2013
by HR mtnbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hood River, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Sleek and fitted jacket for a wide variety of weather conditions.

This jacket has served as my outer layer on lots of muddy rides in the 40-55 degree fahrenheit range as well as some cold dry rides in the mid 20s. I've been impressed by how adaptable the jacket is. It's stretchy enough to stay form-fitting even if I've added additional layers, and it breathes well enough that I don't overheat even on long climbs. It's really been a great do-it-all garment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 12/2/2013
by bjamieson177
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice jacket!

The sleeves are long and the back extends lower than a normal jacket, so this jacket does a great job preventing drafty conditions. 45-60 conditions you could wear this and a jersey and be set, but when it gets colder than that I find that it works well in a layering scheme.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2015 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 4/2/2015
by Gereboy
Cycling Enthusiast
Agoura Hills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Typical great style and workmanship from P.I.

Very good wind and water protection on the cold/wet days that are few and far between in Southern California. It's still a must have piece of apparel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2015 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 11/6/2014
by STLCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
EXCELLENT jacket

I LOVE this jacket! I wear it as often off the bike as on. The only thing that could improve it is one or two slash pockets on the lower front.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 2/3/2014
by Bikers wife
Cycling Enthusiast
Glastonbury CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband. He loves the jacket!

My husband has been biking in very cold weather lately and says that the jacket keeps him very warm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2018
by Tall rider Carl
Daily Commuter
San Diego, Ca
Overall Rating
Streamline styling with a European fit.

Great styling all around. The arm length is sized longer so you don't not have to deal with the cuffs working up your arms.

The jacket fits snug with no loose materials flapping around while you ride.

I'm a tall person so the XL size ran a little too short for me. At the time there was not a XXL option which may fit a taller body length. I'd recommend selecting a size larger than your normal size

Overall a great looking jacket and very effective on keeping the elements out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 4/9/2014
by ensignawesome
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicagoland, IL
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great looking and feeling jacket with real functionality

I've had the opportunity to wear the Pearl Izumi Elite Softshell Jacket for the last couple of months and I can tell you that I've been extremely happy with my purchase. I'm a larger individual in terms of weight (208 lbs) with a squat build of 5 foot 8 inches and a 36 inch waist. The XL size fits comfortably for me on and off the bike. With most bike jackets, the sleeves are cut longer to keep you completely covered when you are on the bike

As a man who has a bit of a paunch, I feel the jacket fits well. It's not air tight or crushing but it is snug - just about right. It does well with the elements and I'd recommend it for a a 40 degree day. One of my favorite things about this jacket is the front pocket that has a small slit for head phones. There is also a zippered back pocket to keep your GU or whatever it is you want back there. I feel like it is a pretty well thought out design thus making this a jacket that you would actually use to go for a walk, a run. Hell, it's even stylish enough to wear at the bar.

In my estimation, I'd say highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by torpeto
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
Overall Rating
Great Jacket for temps down to 45 F.

Morning winter cycling for temps down to 45 F. Size is accurate. I'm 5' 8 170, stocky build. M fits well and allows for a thick base.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2015 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 1/20/2015
by Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Overall Rating
Keeps me warm on chilly days!

Biking and running in sub 40 temps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2015 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 12/29/2014
by Commuter Biker
Redding Ca
Overall Rating
Great all around riding jacket

I use this jacket everyday for a commuter ride. I never know what I might run in to for weather for the day so unless it is a down pour rain day I take this jacket. If it warms up no problem. It breathes excellent such that I don't over heat but on the other hand if it is a chilly morning when I get off Graveyards no problem. I wouldn't call it an all out rain wear though. If you get caught in it no problem you might feel some dampness coming through but if I know it is going to pour then I pull out the big guns.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 5/9/2014
by Fran
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Exactly what I was looking for

I needed a three-season jacket that was truly hi-vis . It's all of that and surprisingly comfortable as well, even for a very broad shouldered man.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 3/3/2014
by  JR
Cycling Enthusiast
los angeles Ca.
Overall Rating
The jacket fits all my needs. It is warm and comfortable. One suggestion would be an additional side pocket.

The sizing needs to be improved as I wear a medium in everything else but had to return my medium for a large. It is very comfortable and rain repellent. I also like the zippered to the neck feel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 1/25/2014
by VADave
Cycling Enthusiast
Tidewater, VA
Overall Rating
This is a great jacket, just what I was looking for to ride in the up and down temperature ranges of the Tidewater Area of Va.

With this jacket I now have the ability to ride on cold/damp weather days (38 to 50 degrees) that I didn't have before. It's not bulky and has great versatility. It's a quality jacket that I can add layers to for the colder temperature days. With this jacket I am able to put in more time on my bike outside.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 1/11/2014
by SVW
Virginia
Overall Rating
Great riding jacket, fits true to size described!

I've used this jacket in 40-50 degrees with a base layer and it keeps me nice and warm even in windy conditions. The extra long sleeves are nice as they keep my wrists covered when my arms are extended over the drops. The back of the jacket keeps my bum covered and toasty, I highly recommend this jacket!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Pearl Izumi 2013 Men's Elite Softshell Jacket
Reviewed 12/26/2013
by MLE
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe,NM
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great cold weather jacket!

Have used the jacket with light base layer in temps between 35 and 45 and the temperature control has been perfect. The sleeves are plenty long, which has been a problem with some other brands and the back pocket is just right for a cell phone and other small items.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.