Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Pearl Izumi Mens Elite Gel Glove

Pearl IzumiMen's Elite Gel Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(13)
(5)
(2)
(3)
(62%)
(21%)
(8%)
(3%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by MontBiker

Reviewed 9/27/2023
by MontBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I use the gloves on good weather rides, and enjoy the feel and the unusual color

I use the gloves on good weather rides, and enjoy the feel and the unusual color

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/30/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Caution: Gel pads are VERY hard

Like comments about other Pearl Izumi Gel Gloves, the gel pads are very hard. I had to take the gloves off midway during a 60 mile road ride because of the discomfort. I would be weary about buying a Pearl Izumi gel glove due to the change in technology.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mechfishy

Reviewed 8/17/2023
by mechfishy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pearl Izumi Men's Elite Gel Glove

Not exactly what I was expecting. But they are very nice gloves, which are best for cool days. Because they are quite a bit heavier than the typical summer type of gloves. These gloves also seem to be very durable due to being heavier and therefore somewhat more well constructed than the typical summer gloves. I am glad that I bought these gloves, because I now have a wider selection of gloves to use for different weather conditions. And these will most likely last for many years of regular useage.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scotty K

Reviewed 9/15/2023
by Scotty K
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
PI Gloves Always Dependable

Got on sale from BTD and like other Pearl gloves, they've been great. Some think they're small, but I usually wear a large and these fit fine, a bit tight at first but better after wearing and washing twice

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael gille

Reviewed 9/2/2022
by Michael gille
san luis obiso, ca
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Short finger pearl Izumi gloves

The new gloves look and fit like the previous pair, just what I wanted! The material for the back, stretchy fabric ,has been changed and is already showing that dusted with salt look that my older pair does not. . Still using them the same way, that means wiping sweat and runny nose as necessary, but the new fabric is not as resistant to the salts and whatever. The main reason I bought the new pair was the gradual, understandable failure of the Velcro closure in the old pair.

Thanks for the good service!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bayareacyclist

Reviewed 6/24/2022
by bayareacyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Beware...April 2021 version has VERY THIN gel padding

I saw Pearl Izumi Men's Elite Gel glove in stores but what I got from BTD had very thin padding. I'm returning this and got another pair directly from Pearl Izumi, which had gel pads twice as thick. Upon inspecting the labels, what I got from BTD was an "April 2021" version and the one I got directly from PI was an "October 2021" version. The gloves are otherwise very nice. Except for the strange variance in the padding, the fit is very nice, and I also use another pair of PI gloves for my MTB.

Maybe that's why BTD is putting clearance labels on this item (color red in particular), but if you are expecting nice padding from these gloves, I'd recommend you check the vintage of the gloves carefully (if possible).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by des1958

Reviewed 9/19/2023
by des1958
Cycling Enthusiast
Marietta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Road Glove

These are great gloves. I have this glove in lite gray, black and the blue. Very comfortable for long rides and great for warm weather.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ManyMiles

Reviewed 8/11/2021
by ManyMiles
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
They don't make them like they used to

Pearl Izumi gel gloves were my go-to choice during years of endurance racing, long, hard training rides and month-long bicycle tours. Unfortunately, this model has fallen a ways from the standards of their gel gloves of a few years ago. The construction overall seems flimsy, and the gel padding isn't as thick as it should be. The velcro wrist strap is particularly thin and narrow, and doesn't look like it will survive hard use. For the price, I was expecting more. About the only thing I like about them is the bright yellow color of the pair that I bought.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alan

Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, nice design

I've worn a few different versions of the Pearl Izumi Gel gloves and these are the nicest ones yet. The fabric on the palm is soft, the velco on the wrist closure is very thin and small, and there are two little pockets at the front of the palm area that let you grab the glove with two fingers of your other hand and pull it off without having to turn it completely inside out. I liked the first set enough that I immediately bought a second pair.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DonWA

Reviewed 8/16/2022
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Fruita, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
OK Glove

These are not the best glove I have worn but if gotten on sale are a decent value. Pad is a bit thin but they fit well. I have large hands and not every manufacturer makes a 2XL glove. I also use a padded handlebar tape so paired with these my ride is very comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 7/25/2022
Kalamazoo, MI
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Able to go the distance

Have had issues with sore hands for awhile, likely from poor posture. While trying numerous brands I picked up the PI Elites, in Fog, to try out. (Nice BTD sale price). Rode several shorter rides, but just put in a longer distance wearing them yesterday. Here's what I noticed, a great fit, not bulky or warm feeling, and less buzz in my hands than with many of my other mitts. Like the light color for signaling drivers and they're sharp.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/18/2021
by Anonymous
Centreville, VA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good Gloves

These gloves fit well. They are a bit thin in terms of padding. The closure strap is also a bit thin, but works fine. Recommended especially when on sale.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/15/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worth the $

Several hundred miles ridden with these gloves. Comfortable, seem to be well made. Going into first wash soon. Will see how they do.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by on_a_mission

Reviewed 10/15/2021
by on_a_mission
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great bang for buck!

Fits really well, comfortable, reasonably priced, washes up nicely and the velcro on the closures doesn't deteriorate like some other brands.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old Peddler

Reviewed 8/31/2021
by Old Peddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, Ok.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice Gloves

These are one of my nicer pairs of gloves.. I really haven't found a perfect pair...The pads on some are too thick and rub at the base of the thumb...that sort of thing but I ride 50 miles...These are well made attractive gloves nicer than most...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Graveljunkie

Reviewed 7/20/2021
by Graveljunkie
Illinois
Overall Rating
Good fit

Nice fit with just the right amount of padding...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Biking Bill

Reviewed 7/13/2021
by Biking Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They Get The Job Done!

I bought these gloves because when I'm driving bright yellow gloves are really visible on cyclists in spite of their relatively small size. Be seen every way you can. I usually purchase extra large so I can get them off easier. These gloves are comfortable, visible, padded and get the job done. They do fade with time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Reviewed 6/14/2021
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
BELLINGHAM, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect fit

Use for summer road cycling. Like the way they fit my hands. XL size was just right. Back velcro enclosure straps work great. The only thing to detract from these gloves is the color I chose, white and gray. It is starting to show the dirt and grime. Guess it is time to wash them! As usual I waited for them to be on sale at BTD. Good price, excellent service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DRobi

Reviewed 5/17/2021
by DRobi
Cycling Enthusiast
Saint Petersburg, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Cycling Gloves

These gloves fit great, have just the right amount of padding, and appear to be very durable. Gloves by other companies sometimes pinch between the thumb and forefinger, but these do not. Stay comfortable all day, and help minimize hand numbness.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Albanker

Reviewed 5/8/2021
by Albanker
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
New product design has little padding

I have purchased the Elite Gel gloves for many years and have always liked them. However, they recently changed their "style" ( as Pearl Izumi says ) and the padding is much thinner than previous gloves. On my first 30 mile ride with this new "style" I felt much discomfort on the heel of my hand on the hoods. Be forewarned.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]