Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Pearl Izumi Mens Attack Short

Pearl IzumiMen's Attack Short(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(11)
(2)
(5)
(3)
(45%)
(29%)
(5%)
(13%)
(8%)

User submitted reviews

Review by PHXBiker

Reviewed 3/22/2022
by PHXBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
nice shell, horrible chamois

Seemed reasonably priced, but are the worst pair of shorts I have ever purchased. The nylon shell seems nice, with good fit and plenty of support, but the chamois appears to have been stamped out of a larger piece of cloth covered neoprene-like rubber. This leaves an exposed edge of rubber that chafes against my groin (in the crease where the thigh muscles meet the abdominal wall, or in other words, the inguinal crease). I have worn these shorts three times and each time have come away with an open wound where the rubber edge rubs my inguinal crease. I hoped washing them or repeatedly wearing them might soften things up, but it hasn't. I have NEVER had shorts give me an open wound, especially in that area. They can't be returned because they have been worn and washed. I would never buy these again.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
We're so sorry to hear this! Chamois fit is such a personal thing. We definitely have a lot of folks who these work great for, but we want you to be comfortable. Feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] and we can help find some shorts that work for you.
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by M. Inn

Reviewed 11/17/2021
by M. Inn
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Pearl Izumi products no longer high quality

I have purchased Perl Izumi products for their high quality in the past but no longer. Their gloves do not fit like they used to and the Attack shorts were by favorite shorts. I have an older pair and they are great. The new Attack shorts do not fit like my old size medium shorts. The material is half as thick. I could barely put them on as they were too tight. I returned them for credit. I t seem like the shorts and gloves are half as thick as before and their sizing for medium is smaller now. I will now research for another brand of bike shorts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DPB

Reviewed 11/30/2023
by DPB
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, Mo
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice fit

Terrific sale price, terrific short for the money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CarolinaMainer

Reviewed 8/6/2021
by CarolinaMainer
Cycling Enthusiast
Myrtle Beach
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great in hot humid conditions

Overall good shorts. The leg opening gripping, that other reviewers have liked, tends to pull on my leg hairs behind the knee. I have to roll the hem over to prevent this from ruining my rides. I have 32" inseam and the length is a bit long so that's something I can get away with and will just have to deal with it in the future. I've been riding in 90+ degree weather with heat index in the 100s. The light weight material has made these rides bearable. I do 40 mile rides and haven't had any issues other than the pulling of the leg hairs.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Causeway Rick

Reviewed 1/17/2023
by Causeway Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Clearwater, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not as large as they used to be

Pearl Izumi has always been my go-to bicycle clothing source until recently. I recently purchased Pearl Izumi "Select" cycling shorts and Pearl Izumi "Attack" cycling shorts in the same size as my older shorts and they are too short. The legs are shorter and the waist does not go up as high as my older shorts and I don't think it is simply a matter of the old shorts having stretched.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dgets

Reviewed 5/12/2020
by dgets
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
OK short but thinner material than expected

I've been purchasing Pearl Izumi shorts for thirty-five years because I know that their size XL shorts will fit me nicely (for my 6'1 height and 183-195 lb. weight range). I recently purchased their Attack shorts. They fit fine but I was surprised at the thinness of the material as compared to two other pairs of Pearl Izumi shorts that I already had. I have a pair of Attack shorts purchased a year ago and a pair of Elite Escape shorts purchased two years ago. The material on both of my older shorts is heavier. As a senior rider now, I go out on hard training rides that typically don't eclipse ninety minutes. I can't justify purchasing multiple pairs of PRO shorts. I do wish that Pearl Izumi manufactured a riding short whose cost and material quality was similar to their prior year's Attack and Elite Escape shorts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by D Phillips

Reviewed 8/24/2022
by D Phillips
Wisconsin USA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pearl Izumi quality and fit at a great price

The Pearl Izumi Attack Shorts were just what I was looking for when I needed a new pair of bike shorts. I found that the comfort, quality and price were great reasons reason why I continue to buy the Pearl Izumi brand. Even better than the shorts was the great price at Bike Tires Direct!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/30/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Runs small

I purchased a medium based on the size of an earlier model I have and manufacturer recommendation. The new one is too snug. Love the chamois though. No problem with saddle sores caused by seams or indentations.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pedro C.

Reviewed 2/2/2023
by Pedro C.
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointing

The chamois is a stamped piece of neoprene. It seems to have a layer of something underneath the axis, but that feels like more neoprene. In the age of gel and other materials, skip this.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Men's Short

My boyfriend always asks for these shorts as a birthday present or when he needs a new pair. He won't wear anything else. He likes the longer inseam and how the fit. No issues with the padding and they are a comfortable fit. True to size as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Billo99

Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Billo99
Austin, TX
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Low end short

Looking for solid short for the indoor trainer - hour long workouts. This short disappoints... thin, simple chamois and feels as though the size runs a bit small, perhaps that is limited stretch. I am a solid medium in everything but these feel snug.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shorts, very comfortable

I replaced the step below in the Pearl Izumi shorts line with these. I'm glad I paid the difference as I definitely feel the difference in value around hours 3 or 4 on a long ride. Very durable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by R.U.

Reviewed 11/20/2020
by R.U.
Ohio
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Just not the same

I have been looking for the quality that once was with this brand. Lately they have been uncomfortable and thick in the wrong places. For the price I do not see it worth the �maybe this pair will be different� mantra. Good luck maybe you will get a good pair...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob

Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I have worn these Pearl Izumi Attack Shorts for 5-6 years and you cannot beat them for value and Price.

The first 2 pair that I purchase in 2014 just now are showing wear after 30,000 miles in the saddle, prompting me to purchase two more pair recently with same excellent padding and great comfort fit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Acadianbob

Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Acadianbob
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable for Long Haul Rides

Used these shorts for two 75 mile rides in two days. Very comfortable. Would absolutely buy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/25/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shorts for the trainer

I generally wear bibs on the bike, but just use shorts on the trainer. These work great for 1-2 hour indoor rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old and slow

Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Old and slow
LA
Overall Rating
Good basic short.

If you need a non bib cycling short this one is good for the price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fit is snug.

I would suggest ordering one size larger.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MVDevilDOG

Reviewed 5/3/2021
by MVDevilDOG
Daily Commuter
Mission Viejo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Watch the size

I wear XL in all cycling shorts I have ever purchased. Ordered these in XL and they are too big. Saggy.... in the rear. Cannot wear without suspenders. I am a 38 waist.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim and Kate

Reviewed 3/29/2021
by Jim and Kate
Zachary, Lousiana
Overall Rating
Jim and I both wear these cycling shorts and have found them to be the best on a long ride.

We think these are the best cycling shorts .

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]