FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Pearl Izumi Elite Barrier Shoe Cover

Pearl IzumiElite Barrier Shoe Cover(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(2)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(69%)
(13%)
(6%)
(13%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/11/2010
by Linda (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Keeps your feet warm and toasty!

As read from Road Bike Rider weekly newsletter, "they perform better in cold and wet conditions and do it for a reasonable price." Most all neoprene shoe covers will eventually let moisture seep in, whether it is at the cuff or at the cleat opening, but a great bootie will still keep your feet warm, even down to the teens. This is a great bootie.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2014
by ayetis
Hoboken, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good for frigid weather

I use toe covers down to 25-30F but if it is colder and I have to ride longer I switch to the full cover. I was able to ride around 3 hrs in 15-17F weather in this. My toes still got cold but not numb or painful. This is a good deep winter cover.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2014
by Augiedoggie49
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beware of fit. Sizes run very small.

I didn't have a chance to try these yet since the Large doesn't even come close to fitting a size 10 Sidi winter boot. Judging from the material, it is rather thin for a barrier cover that should keep toes warm. We'll see after I pay to return them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to get on and off. Seemed to run a little small

Easy to get on and off. Seemed to run a little small.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2013
by Poormana
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Works Well

I bought the white (because it was $20 less than the black), and although it is a huge fashion no-no to wear white before Memorial Day, I wear these in the winter. So far, so good, haven't had a really cold ride (below 30F) with them but they seem to do the job as well as any other neoprene booties. I like the tougher soles and toes, these always got torn up on other ones, additionally the velcro closure in back is a whole lot easier than a crank-scratching zipper.

Great reflective tape usage, these are super visable which is important on a rotating part of the bike to get the sleepy drivers attention.

Only negative (which doesn't matter to me for commutingtraining) is that they are not very aerodynamically smooth in the back, especially around the velcro closure area. Again, it is probably a watt or two which doesn't matter to me but if you are looking for a shoe-cover for a TT or racing you may want something different.

Overall, five stars, and BTD is the best online bike store there is. Don't be afraid to buy the white. After a couple rides in the rain and mud they'll be black anyway!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
new york
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
best shioe cover i have used

used for cycling during cold winter months

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2012
by RLW
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoe Cover

Provides great protection and warmth for days less than 40 degrees. Easy to slip on. Should have bought sooner instead of wearing multiple socks and plastic bags.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2011
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Cold and Wet

I expected something warm and dry for our Seattle weather, but I return from my 2-3 hour rides with cold, very wet feet. With the name Barrier, I was surprised by the results. Now, if it is not raining, these are very nice, but add a little wet stuff and my feet go south very quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2011
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
bullet proof and warm

Best covers I have ever used......

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/17/2010
by CharlieVZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Way too small

My shoes are 41 EU8.5 US and the medium size shoe covers are not large enough to wrap around the back of my foot. On the plus side they seem to be made pretty well - I just can't use them. I'll sell them cheap to somebody with a really small shoe size.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2014
by DKinMN
Cycling Enthusiast
MInneapolis, MN
Overall Rating
Well-made and right-priced

These are great! They're well-made and they fit well. I ride to work in Minnesota winters and these keep my dogs warm and dry. I use a commuter-type shoe, which I then wear around my office, so it's nice to be able to put them on and take them off easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/20/2014
by peloton
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston western ''burbs
Overall Rating
Fantastic cold weather booties

For those that ride year round during New England winters these are just what the doctor ordered. They keep your feet warm and dry between 18F - 40F and are also durable. Above 45F I find these too warm and use a lighter set of booties or wear PI toe warmers.

These are probably good below 18F, but I just haven't ridden in those temps.

Be sure to size up! I wear 46 road and mountain bike shoes and XXL fits both just fine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2013
by Peloton
Western Boston ''burbs
Overall Rating
Excellent booties/shoe covers!

Keeps my feet warm fro 20F to 45F. Rode at 20F with 20 mph wind. Get too hot above 45F.

Got XXL size for my size 46 road and mountain shoes.

Great Pearl Izumi quality, as you would expect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2013
by sygibson
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Newly redesigned shoe cover is now PERFECT

Fits exceptionally well, newly redesigned bottom panels are far sturdier and longer lastingwearing. Excellent cold and wet weather protection. Exceptional wind proofness.

I wore out an earlier version of these over the course of 2 winters. Hard riding conditions, hike-a-bike through snow and muddy conditions. Eventually the elastic bands underneath gave out. This newly redesigned version uses extremely tough new material with far more coverage, better stitching, and reinforcements. I suspect I should be able to get at least 3 or 4 hard winters use out of them.

Great shoe covers. I often find I'd prefer to wear my regular road or mtb shoes with these covers, over my Mavic winter boots.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Xlent

Very pleased with these booties. Not overly bulky but nice and warm. Will keep you dry in light rain for hour & half, but will get wet after about 45min of steady rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2012
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
No muss no fuss

Love these booties. Not too thick not too thin. Just right. Have used them well into the 20's with Midwest wool socks and been ok. Easy on and easy off. They runn small though. I am 44 and wearing XL

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.