Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Park Tool DH-1 Dummy Hub

Park ToolDH-1 Dummy Hub(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by bike_racer

Reviewed 6/1/2020
by bike_racer
Competitive Racer
Huntsville, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very handy tool for chainbike cleaning

Works great on my road bike and thru axle mountain bike. Allows me to use my Park Tool chain cleaner to clean the chain and not get grimy solvent and water all over the rear wheel. This is one of those tools that you can probably get by without but once you have one you'll be glad you purchased.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larry

Reviewed 11/1/2022
by Larry
Montreal, Canada
Overall Rating
Clever and useful

Wanted one for a while. Easy to use and makes drive train cleanup way easier than before. The chain is held under tension while reaching any part of the drivetrain from any angle. Worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/13/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Easy and efficient

This works great with all my bikes and just change the configuration for each bike = presto clean chain without cleaner or oil no more on your wheels .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SHBiker

Reviewed 11/28/2020
by SHBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job

Works well and as advertised, allowing easier drivetrain cleaning with wheels off, and is also useful for transporting bikes with the wheels off. I will say, though, wish I had done a bit more research before and known that the compatibly with thru-axles is literally just that the little plastic circle that hold the chain comes off of the provided dummy QR-skewer and slips on to your own removed thru-axle. I would not have paid 20 bucks for just a little plastic circle that slips onto my own thru-axle lol... I did end up using it once to transport a QR bike that I recently sold, and will maybe one day own another bike with QR, but as of now I only use the plastic ring for my thru-axle bike. So, all in all I'm glad to have the tool and think it's useful but I also think that Park Tool should sell just the 12mm thru-axle compatible plastic ring by itself for like 10 bucks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bike_racer

Reviewed 9/1/2020
by Bike_racer
Competitive Racer
Huntsville, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very handy

Great little gadget. Not cutting edge technology - just a simple tool for making it easier to clean your drivetrain. This allows you to clean your chain, rear mech, and chainrings without getting degreaser/cleaner/solvent all over your rear wheel. Works great on traditional quick release hubs as well as thru axles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dropperfree

Reviewed 2/12/2020
by dropperfree
Competitive Racer
Stumptown
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple and Ideal

Removing the cassette to apply lube or clean a chain is the way to go. This works with qr and 12mm thru axles. Great also for keeping a dirty chain off the frame while the wheel is off. Cant recomend this enough.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mechfishy

Reviewed 8/3/2022
by mechfishy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Park Tool DH-1 Dummy Hub

Does exactly what it was intended to do and does it adequately. I recommend this tool.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 11/21/2020
by Tom
Portland
Overall Rating
Makes cleaning a bike a breeze

Great bang for the buck, there are some cooler options on the market, Robert Axle for example, but this works great for my needs. Mad I waited this long to get one. So easy to throw on, keeps the chain out of the way, plus you can shift and the hub moves to accommodate the new chain position. If you hate to clean your bike get one of these it will really help.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cesar4

Reviewed 6/20/2022
by Cesar4
Overall Rating
This thing ain't dummy

Love this. I'm glad I stumbled across it looking around on the site for new things for my bike. This lets me take my wheel out and clean the chain to top notch without making a mess

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 1/29/2022
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Does the job

No nonsense tool. Easy to use and works well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PalouseRider

Reviewed 11/7/2019
by PalouseRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pullman, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Use a dummy hub for no fuss chain cleaning.

I use the dummy hub to clean chains on all my bikes (road, triathlon, and gravel). The hub works equally well on quick-release and through axle wheels.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 10/18/2021
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great tool

Great tool to help you clean your chain while the freewheel cassette is being cleaned. A must have for cyclist that do their own maintenance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/5/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A must have

Simple and easy to use. However, i found that for some frames it would not work. I had to add a spacer at the end to get it to work on frames with narrower dropouts.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/8/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tacoma, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works exactly like I hoped it would

This was easy to use and makes cleaning my bike a quick, easy job. I really like how quickly it goes on and comes off my bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CaptainPico

Reviewed 2/19/2018
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Chain scrubbing made easy

I have used the Park Chain Scrubber for many years with my rear wheel on the bike. I would occasionally bump the plastic scrubber on the spokes. With the dummy hub you can remove the rear tire and use the scrubber without having to balance it and be mindful of the spokes. I wish I had purchased this long ago.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/8/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good

Great Quality I use it every time I take my back we off

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by djm

Reviewed 9/28/2017
by djm
Cycling Enthusiast
Allyn, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A very handy tool to have. Works great for BOTH quick release and thru hubs!

Typical excellent quality Park tool. This is one of those Why didn't I get this tool sooner? kind of things - makes bike maintenance chores SO MUCH EASIER.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome product.

Wish I had this from day one. Makes cleaning MUCH easier.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brij

Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Brij
Competitive Racer
Santa Cruz
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice piece for cleaning your bike.

With CX approaching I decided to finally get a dummy hub to help with cleaning my bikes after races. Straightforward piece of equipment, works well. Good for travel too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by frankodem

Reviewed 11/9/2020
by frankodem
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works Great

Holds the chain in place and out of the way with the rear wheel off. Had an older version and another make of this type of product. This is a far superior product that is well designed.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]