Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Park Tool DAG-2.2 Derailleur Alignment Gauge

Park ToolDAG-2.2 Derailleur Alignment Gauge(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by BikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An essential tool

When it comes to keeping modern multi-speed derailleurs shifting precisely, this is an invaluable shop quality tool. However, this tool comes at a price making casual ownership problematic. There are somewhat cheaper alternatives, but they don't measure up to the Park quality and functionality. I had a good friend that I borrowed this tool from for years, but he moved away and so I bit the bullet and added this tool to my ever-growing inventory of specialized bicycle tools. I happened to catch a sale at BTD for this unit, which helped with the sticker shock, and now I can lend this tool to all my other cycling friends who work on their own bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by Tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bike maintenance necessity for home mechanics

After many attempts to quiet the drivetrain myself I ordered this alignment tool. Completed alignment and then adjusted the derailleur for a bike shop quality tune up. Just make sure you follow the directions. I did a second bike with the same outcome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2017
by Velocio
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
problem solved

my touring bike lives a tough life on the road, been dumped on the derailleur side 3 or 4 times. Some gears didn't shift correctly or stay in gear ... the bike shop said, well you've got 30,000 plus miles.... new cassettes, chains, and rings didn't clear the problem, didn't really look out of alignment...., bet I was 12-15 degrees off. re aligned the drop out, gee, the bike shifts better than when new, runs quiet. I'll check my other bikes, like I said, problem solved.... Velocio

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2020
by Steve F.
Saugus, MA
Overall Rating
Perfects your shifting.

After months of wondering why my bike would not shift into the hardest gear it finally occurred to me that when I dumped my bike on an icy patch over the Winter it had bent my derailleur hanger. This tool was a little tricky to use but once you get it right your shifting will be like new, I�m very glad I bought it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2017
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
When your derailleur is out of alignment, you need this tool

I was struggling to adjust the rear derailleur on one of my bikes to get clean shifts across the whole range, and realized that the derailleur was not looking properly aligned. The DAG 2.2 confirmed my suspicions, and allowed me to coax the hanger back into alignment. Problem solved. I checked my other bikes, and ended up adjusting another as well.

The tool itself is functional, rather than elegant, but it gets the job done at a decent price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2018
by Ol'' Gal triker
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
How did I live without this?

I've been riding various bikes for over 50 years, but never realized how much derailleur misalignment effected shifting. Once I read online and saw the videos, I had to have this tool. What a difference it made in the shifting on my recumbent tadpole trike! It'll pay for itself quickly in saved service trips to the LBS and trying to fix problems by buying new (unneeded) drivetrain parts. Now I'm going to check derailleur alignment every so often and offer to check my friends' bikes. Wonderful, well made tool! Typical Parks high quality, and they have many good videos on YouTube to walk you through doing your own repairs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2018
by Jim
Issaquah
Overall Rating
Rarely needed but great to have

This is one of those tools you might not need often, but indispensible when you do. Solved a pesky shifting problem on a mtn bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2017
by Itsnotyou
So. California
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tool

Was having shifting problems and could not get them corrected. After being told about hanger alignment i purchased the DAG 2.2. I found the hanger out of alignment. Aligned my hanger and readjusted the derailleur then my shifting problems went away.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A great tool at a reasonable price.

Sturdy tool that does exactly what it's intended to do. But go easy, lots of leverage can make it easy to break a badly bent hanger.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2017
by BNystrom
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A quality tool, as you would expect from Park

The differences between this and the original DAG that I've owned for decades are not huge. In fact. I made an extension for the old tool that duplicates most of the functionality of the new one. The DAG-2.2 does seem a bit tighter and I'm happy with it, but the difference is subtle. If I hadn't needed a second tool, I would have been perfectly happy with the modified DAG.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by CE
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Overall Rating
Saves time!

This tool ensures derailleur hanger is aligned prior to making adjustments, so you don't waste time adjusting a derailleur that visually looks straight, but isn't...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
Well Made, Easy to Use, and It Pays for Itself

Ride enough, and sooner or later, your derailleur hanger will become misaligned. And when it does, shifting suffers. You could take your bike to the shop and pay a mechanic $35+ to realign it, or you can pick up this tool and do it yourself in a matter of minutes. It's simple to use, and Park Tool has a great You Tube video that shows you how to do it right. Two realignments and the tool has paid for itself. Like all Park Tools, this alignment gauge is well made and will last. It's a solid investment for anyone who enjoys working on their own bikes

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2017
by C.B.
Daily Commuter
Sheattle
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Another mandatory tool if you want to maintain your bicycles yourself.

Good tool. Well built and very sturdy. With thinner rear cassette spacing and lighter weight drivetrains, this is just a must have tool for anyone who does their own maintenance. Park makes good quality tools at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Great tool to have

I was having issues with my rear derailleur shifting correctly and this tool got it straightened it quickly!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Another high quality Park Tool tool

Typical high Park Tool quality. Provides great leverage for fine adjustments to hanger alignment. Easy to use for a semi-experienced home mechanic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tool to have

I keep my bikes clean and do regular maintenance on the drivetrain. I'm careful that I don't lean the bikes on the derailleur side. That being said, for some unknown reason, I've bent the derailleur hanger 3 times this year. At $30 a pop at the bike shop to straightened the hanger, it was a no-brainer to invest in this tool. The Park Tool Derailleur alignment tool is extremely easy to use. I was able to straightened the hanger in less than 10 minutes. I recommend this tool. It has paid for itself already this year.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA
Overall Rating
Outstanding quality, works great!

Only need this once in a great while but its great to have, 15 min job, prefect alignment!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 53

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]