FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Panaracer Pasela Road Tire 27 Inch

PanaracerPasela Road Tire 27 Inch(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(16)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(69%)
(28%)
(0%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 7/1/2014
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire after 700 miles! Hoping for continued satisfaction!

I ordered a pair for my circa 1980 Nishiki International road bike after reading positive reviews here. Upon receipt, I was initially concerned that the sidewalls were wrinkled and delicate-looking and the tires seemed rather insubstantial. Mounting the 27 X 1 tires on the original Araya rims was not too difficult and after inflation, the sidewalls looked fine and I was ready to put the Paselas to the test. 700 miles later I am happy to report that these tires have earned their stars. No flat yet despite varying conditions of use on rail trails, urban and suburban streets, and occasional wooden pedestrian bridges. Even had my first broken spoke recently, which put the rear rim a little out of true but caused no damage to the tire or tube. New spoke installed and the Paselas keep rolling. I run about 95 psi front and rear and like the road feel and performance on straights and when cornering (I'm 160 lbs). Some visible tread wear but based on the first 700 miles, I'm optimistic that these tires can last several hundred more. This tire is a very good value, and BTD is consistently excellent!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2017
by Dave
Buffalo NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

I bought these for the 2017 Cycle The Erie Canal tour. Using my road bike as a touring bike. These tires have a tread, which my Continental Gatorskins did not. Good thing because heavy overnight rains produced a lot of muddy spots on the trail. The Panaracers were okay in the much and rolled very fast on the road sections of the trail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2014
by zmaloni
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
20 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, classic look

I used these tires to replace the old and cracked Kenda's that were included on my vintage 80s Japanese Miyata. I bought these because the Panaracers are also manufactured in Japan, and the number of people noting the quality of the tires.

I use these on the streets of Chicago for a 20 mile commute (mostly Clyborn to the Loop). One tire even survived a small piece of glass that punctured the tube, this was about 2 weeks after installation (bad luck). Wasn't much damage to the tire, so I installed a new tube and haven't had any problems.

3 months in and they are weathering the tough winter very well, haven't had any flats either. I try to keep them as clean as I can, but the gumball sides have tarnished a tiny bit... just too much salt and grime on the roads this horrible winter.

Pretty good grip in the snow and rain for a thin tire. Haven't been riding 27" long enough to know of the apparent shortage in this size, but I appreciate that quality tires are still out there. I'm saving up to buy another pair just so I have some great tires as a backup.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2018
by Tony
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Best tire value for vintage road bikes. Well made, light weight, good looking. I use the 27 x 1 size, which need narrow rims, but they are as lightweight and fast as 700 x 25.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Martin
EAGLE RIVER
Overall Rating
7 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Poor attention to detail

My complaints are not with the performance of these tires, but with the asthetics. The transition between the tan and black sections of the tired is uneven around the circumference of the sidewall, like icing on a doughnut. Not what I was expecting when I ordered. Makes the bike look sloppy and as old as it is.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2017
by Martywoodman
Daily Commuter
Nashville, Tn.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A great value and good looking

This is the second pair I've gotten for my touring / winter commuter bike. They are very easy to install and have a nice, classic look. A quality tire at a nice price, also seem to be very durable. I will buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2017
by wayne clapp
north Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
tires

Excellent tires, great price, fast delivery!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Cdale92
Cycling Enthusiast
Elkridge,Md
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for the $$

Been riding pasela's a long time, they look good on my 86 C-dale. They wear well and I ride on gravel a lot. No problem. For the money I highly recommend them. As 27 in tires are getting hard to find, you won't go wrong with these.

And thank you Bike Tires Direct for stocking them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Got the tires I needed!

I needed somewhat rare tires (27 x 1 18) for a 1990's bike I was refurbishing. Bike Tires Direct had quality tires in stock and was prompt in delivering them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2016
by Geezer
Cycling Enthusiast
West TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Three cheers!

I bought these tires based on earlier positive reviews by others and have little new to add other than to state I hope these tires remain available for those of us who still ride 27 rims. They have performed perfectly on a commuter bike I built from a 70's Atala steel frame and a good wheelset laced with Wolber alloy rims. Inflated to 110 psi these tires hum sweetly on the blacktop, roll fast, and provide a comfortable and responsive ride. After nearly 1000 miles on pavement the tread is still great. And with Stan's in my tubes I've had no flats despite our prevalent thorns. I could ride any one of three better bikes for my commute, including a titanium-framed beauty rolling on sew-ups, but I end up riding the bike wearing these tires 90% of the time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, durable!

smooth ride, durable, have ridden over glass (on accident) with no issues

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Terrific solution for old-school road bike wheel size

These Panasonic 27 x 1.125s are great. I was concerned about the width, as I was replacing 27 x 1s, but the extra 18 is barely noticeable. The tires fit my wheels perfectly and I am very satisfied with the 115 psi suggested inflation. The inflation along with unidirectional tread makes for great glide distance. Good looking as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2015
by DJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City, Mo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Great tire. Love the gum wall look. Replaced ten yr old tires on my 28 yr old Cannondale. Holds 105-110 psi with no problem, and they are great in the rain and bumps. 500 miles on them. The rear tire is balding but, hey, 500 miles! I was so pleased with them that I bought two more and stored them in air tight container for when it came time to replace just in case they stopped offering them. Only two flats, both my fault. I use the Continental TOUR tube and they hang in there quite well. The gumwall cleans real easy and looks great among all the high tech hardware everyone else is riding on. Even fellow riders tease me in a good natured way about my gumwalls. I love this tire. Going to get a couple more. I would definitely recommend this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2017
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Prairie Village, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great looking tire on my '73 Raleigh Super Tourer, and comfortable.

This is a great looking tire on my '73 Raleigh. It was very easy to install with the wire bead, and a comfortable riding tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Not the same size as vintage 27 x 1 tires

If you have an older road bike, these new 27 x 1 tires are not the same size as the vintage 27 x 1 tires, even though the ISO numbers are identical. They are nearly 1 cm taller and they do not clear the brakes on my 1987 Centurion Accordo. In fact, no new 27 x 1 works for this bike any more.

So keep this in mind if you have a vintage bike with little brake clearance. I've had to scavenge some older Avocet 27 x 1 tires to keep my bike going for now.

The return process was very smooth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2014
by Kiwi biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Wellington, NZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for the completion of my 80's ten-speed refurbishment

Here in New Zealand we don't have a supplier for these tyres. As others have said, I was looking for that classic, gum-wall effect, to complete a retro refurbishment. Previously tried Kenda, but they have a heavier tread, I'm sure that creates a fair amount of rolling resistance. These tyres fit the bill perfectly. Better quality than Chinese-made. They look right, and my bike really flies now. Dealing with Bike Tires Direct was painless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2014
by Miniapple biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Vintage rubber for classic frames

If you have a bike that was built before terms like hybrid and composite were used to describe bikes , than your bike will probably love these tires. Basic Old School tread baby. Straight out of the seventies, these tires are the real deal. If you have an old Peugeot, Fiorelli, Fuji, Raleigh or Kabuki this is the replacement tire no doubt. New rubber for your old love.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2014
by Jared
Cycling Enthusiast
Elk Grove, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire until you hit a 3 inch tall lip.

It does get punctured every once in a while, but thats to be expected on country roads. The main con for me is that if you put sealant in it, it voids the warranty. Which is fine if your tire doesn't get a tear in it from hitting something. I hit a 3 inch lip going about 15-20mph, my tube popped and I later found a tear in my tire, since I used a sealant, I had no warranty for a possible manufacturing error. I had a 27x1, and later that day I got hit by a car so I haven't bought another one yet due to some damaged parts. I do like this tire though. It gets very good grip and is great overall. I used it on an old, original Schwinn I received from a friend.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi Jared,

Thanks for your review! I'm sorry you had a less than awesome experience with this tire. I encourage you to get in touch with us if you believe your tire was defective. We'd love to help you out and we're often able to work with manufacturers on warranty issues. Contact our customer service department at [email protected]

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2014
by Bruce M
Casual Cyclist
Valencia, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, great service

This tire size is almost impossible to find, kudos to these guys for carrying them! Tires mountly easily with no tools and they ride well so far. I heard that they were a real headache to mount but this was NOT the case. The service from biketiresdirect.com was great too... very fast and good communication. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2014
by AnthonyD
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very thin tread

A good tire overall - smooth ride, flexible & easy to mount, lightweight, good quality. The flip side is that the tread area is quite thin. Within first week of use, the tread had a 1/2 inch gash & had to be discarded. First time for me in 15 years of riding on city roads

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.