Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Panaracer Pasela ProTite Road Tire

PanaracerPasela ProTite Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(15)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(42%)
(42%)
(6%)
(6%)
(6%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/21/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Super tight. Impossible to mount without pinching inner tube.

Super tight. Impossible to mount without pinching inner tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2017
by Marty F.
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseburg, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire when you have enough clearance. It rolls happily on pavement, and accepts gravel graciously

I purchased my first adventure bike and chose this tire. I have a couple of hundred miles on it now, and I'm happy with its performance. Most of my miles have been on payment, city and country, and I've always been pleased with the road feel. I've done a few miles on gravel, and no complaints! (BTW, no flats so far.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2017
by fatguyonabike
Daily Commuter
Seattle area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Supple Budget Touring Tire

Panaracer is the OEM for a high end touring tire brand here in the Seattle area, so I thought, why not get a deal and go directly to the manufacturer? That said, I've ridden the high end brand, and this is not the same tire-but for the price difference, I didn't expect it to be.

I picked up the 38c size to run on my daily riderlight touring bike. They do a great job of absorbing the potholes, cracks, and other atrocities found on Seattle's third world-like roads.

I believe supple is the word all the skinny-jeaned kids are talking about these days. So, supple it is....errr...they are.

The Panaracers also hang corners like nobody's business.

Well....I'm sure it's somebody's business...but nobody that I know.

And they look cool with their classic gumwall styling.

Looking cool automatically makes you 20-30% faster. Scientific fact!

My only beef with the tire is that I somehow got a hole in the sidewall on the Seattle-Portland ride this year. Whether that happened on the road or in transit, I'll never know. But, the tube stayed intact, so it could have been worse.

So maybe it's not really a beef. Maybe it's more of a tofu.

All in all, a nice tire at a nice price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 11/25/2014
by Ezra Ryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable, smooth riding good handling

I have a set of the 700c x 32 Pasela PT's on my commutertouring bike. So far have 1335 miles with no flats. Front tire still has the little diamond tread pattern showing.. Rear is just starting wear the diamonds off in the center. I think tires will probably last 3 to 4 thousand miles if I rotate them. For an earlier reviewer, these are mounted on Velocity Blunt SL 29er rims. Rim width is 25mm OSM, 20mm ISM. Tire width measures 33.5mm at 75psi inflation pressure (which gives a great ride and decent handling for my 150lbs). Overall, I am very happy with these tires and they are a good deal at BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 8/20/2014
by v1pro
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ, Pa, NY, CT, Ma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Best All Roundr Tires

I started using the TG version back in 2010 when I first started riding brevets. On my Rando bike I have over 12,500 miles, all on these tires. My first set, front tire lasted 6,500 miles and rear was 2700 for the first, 3800 on the second. Tire size are 700 x 28. My second set are the same size as the first I have a bit over 6000 Miles on the front, the rear 5,600 on the first, almost 1000 on the second which is the PT. Feels the same as TG. These tires are pretty supple, fast and durable, only 4 flats total on all tires ridden. I also have size 32 on another bike with almost 2000 miles with no flats and very nice to ride on. Great tires overall!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 3/25/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
great ride

I'm a randonneur and year-round commuter logging about 5000 miles per year-lots of wet weather and lots of night riding where I don't necessarily see road hazards before I hit them. I get plenty of flats with all kinds of tires, and I'm not afraid of flats. If you are, then you should get over it, or give up on road feel. Tires are basically a wear item. The Paselas provide an excellent road feel and light weight. They do have some puncture protection. As another person noted, when they are new flats are more rare. For me this is just gravy. But for this price and this road feel I'm not sure you can do better. I've used the 28s and 32s. I do like how compact the tire is when folded-I carry a spare most of the time. I'm moving one of my bikes toward wider tires and gravel. I plan to start it's new life with the Pasela 38s (available at an LBS).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 6/2/2015
by VinnieS
Competitive Racer
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tandem tire

These have been my go-to tires for our tandem for decades. 700x28 for general riding and 700x32 when we load up the panniers. The 32's must have thicker rubber. Get many more miles on them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by StSox
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great While They Lasted

I posted a review in July 2014 once I hit 800 miles on these tires with no problems and joked that I had probably jinxed myself. Well.....in the two months since, I have had FIVE flats all from small pieces of glass embedding in the rubber and grinding their way through to the tube.

My riding conditions and miles haven't changed. I gauge my tires at least twice a week. The tires look noticeably worn after 1100 miles.

I believe this is like a race tire. Super soft compound, great grip and ride but like race tires, they aren't designed for the long haul. Prior to this I had a set of Vredestein Moiree's that logged 2500 miles with one flat.

These are not worth $70.00 every 800 miles. They are not good citycommuting tires and are going in the recycling bin. Wish I could find the Moiree in a 700 again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 7/9/2014
by StSox
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Well worth the extra bucks.

I bought a set of wire bead Vittoria tires for my commuter which were hard to mount and one was seriously out of round. Returned them to Bike Tires Direct where they made me a good deal on these. Several of the staff at the warehouse use these for their daily commute.

They don't LOOK tough and I have waited to review them because my only doubt was durability. Now I've passed 800 miles on them without a flat (just jinxed myself!) and will say they are easy to mount, they weigh nothing compared to the Vittorias and have excellent grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 6/24/2014
by Tarwheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great touring, commuting tire

I installed some of these on my touring bike before embarking on a 400-mile loaded tour on the GAP - C&O Canal trails, which consist of dirt, mud and gravel paths. The Paselas rode great, provided plenty of traction and never flatted. Their light weight made it easy to carry a spare. I'll be keeping these tires on my bike for commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 1/14/2014
by Anonymous
travel 48 states
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
great all purpose road tire. 32mm

Flat free winter. Very light for a 32mm but a bit stiff 60tpi(I was told 120).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2019
by UrbanRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The 700 x 28 is adequate, but is definitely not a 28mm wide tire

The context I bought a set of the Pasela 700 x 28 tires to mount on Mavic Open Pro wheels underneath a vintage steel bike. The bike is set up as a road racing bike from the late 70's. I'm a 60kg132lb rider and I take this bike over urban streets and gravel roads in the Portland area. This is an initial impression so rain and worse road conditions might change the evaluation. The tires were mounted with Conti Race butyl tubes and inflated to recommended pressure for evaluation, then deflated to 85psi for riding.

First, these tires, when inflated to recommended 105psi measure just 25mm compared to the stated 28mm. That is a substantial difference and a disappointment as my interest was in a wider tire for both performance and comfort over long distances.

The ride On smooth pavement, these tires proved very quiet and smooth with good cornering. But, in Portland, our streets are generally not like that. Once on rougher pavement, the typical Portland street, the ride was a no longer quiet and smooth. I think this has more to do with the tire width than the materials or air pressure. Once on minimal gravel conditions, the Columbia Slough path, the tires behaved well, but as you would expect from a 25 or narrower tire. It negotiated the fine and occasionally soft gravel adequately. In softer ground, they proved a very nice ride.

Overall If I had known the actual width of the tire is as it has proven to be, I may have gone to the 32mm, assuming it is narrower than stated. If it is proportionally narrower, it would be a 28 and ideal for my purposes. On the plus side, these tires look good, are reasonably priced especially for gum walls, and seem to have many admirers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2018
by Anonymous
Portland
Overall Rating
Good for the roads and trails

Use these for my commuterweekend rider. No flats on approximately 700 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2017
by Ottobot
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet balance of performance, durability and price.

I use these as my daily driver on a disc gravel bike that's a fenderlight commuter bike all winter. I rode a set of these into the proverbial ground with only one flat in 18 months of riding. Nice road feel, light weight and a plenty durable. All for a super good price relative to the market (at least IMO). Hard to beat for the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2017
by riccochrane
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome balance of performance and protection

I have run Paselas in various sizes on gravel, touring and commuting rigs for a couple years. I bought these for my wife's commutingtouring bike and I am never worried that she'll find herself stopped to fix a flat during her ride home, and the rubber is sticky as hell on Seattle's slick streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Panaracer Pasela PT Road Tire
Reviewed 3/20/2015
by Avid rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Bakersfield, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 30 customers found this review helpful.
Not what I expected.

I have used Panaracer tires before and thought these would be just fine. They are okay but are not what I was expecting, however will continue to use them. Not sure but it maybe the rims I have them. Hope they are more like what I wanted after I chance rems and tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 54

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]