Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Panaracer GravelKing SK+ 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing SK+ 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(77%)
(16%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by UltraCrit

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by UltraCrit
Competitive Racer
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
SK and SK+ are my go-to gravel tires

GravelKing SK/SK+ are IMHO the most versatile tires in my gravel tire collection. I swap tires more than most, and I always find myself coming back to this tire. It grips sufficiently well on loose-over-hard (where the SS/SS+ would start to slip) without compromising *too* much speed on tarmac. I've heard other cyclists complain about punctures with GK tires in general, but I've had fairly good luck. (Interestingly, another comment I heard from others was that GK tires toss more debris into the rider on your wheel's face, so take that for what you will.) I've experienced average to above-average wear. On a final note, I'll add that the non-directional nature of the tread makes installation easier (sometimes finding those rotation arrows is more challenging that it should be).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, rolls faster than it looks and handles low pressure quite well.

I got these just as a replacement for the Rene Herse Barlow Pass. The latter were great but I had a puncture and they had a decent amount of miles and wanted to try something with a bit more tread. A wider version wasn't available and I got the 38s but I found them quote narrow relatively speaking so a 40 or 42 would have been good, although I don't find these lacking for traction either.

Really great but they need less pressure than you think based on how narrow they look.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WALEY Rider

Reviewed 7/4/2022
by WALEY Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ottawa, Ks
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
2nd Set of GravelKing - Great Product

This is the second set of Panaracer Gravel King tires. I like gravel riding but I spend most my time on road and rail trails. This is a great solution to going on all surfaces. I really like the tread on these better than my first pair. Everyone needs to understand that these gravel tires are extremely hard to put on. I never had a flat on my last pair and expect the same on this pair. This summer heading to Michigan Upper Pennisula ride that offers both gravel and road routes. The 28mm is so hard to find a good gravel tire. Now I can decide which ride option I feel like without any problems. Finally, the tires are great looking. I got the brown sidewalls and they really look nice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Judi

Reviewed 8/28/2023
by Judi
CO
Overall Rating
Gravelking tires great value

Cervelo came with GK and I am continuing with them. Great tire, wears well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/9/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Great tire. holds up well and works well across different surfaces. Over some pretty large rocks some of the traction comes off the back tire. but it not terrible

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/27/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Hard to seal but still GravelKings

Been using Panaracer GravelKings for years. Mounted this set on new Light rims with Tubolight liners. Took a long time to seal. Working great now. GravelKings are the best all around gravel tire IMO. Good price here. Will order them again

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Billo99

Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Billo99
Austin, TX
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good all-rounder

Love this tire. Running a 38mm coming from a 43mm and live the handling. Was debating 35mm in an attempt to get at a reasonable �all rounder� - I like the fun of the gravel bike on my road routes but want a tire that doesn�t slow me up too much but still capable off road. Mounting on Enve AG wheels a bit difficult - just getting over the rim - soapy water in spray bottle helped significantly. I know this is a function of the combo of wheel and tire but just sharing in case it helps. Not a fault of the tire itself. If I had it to do over again, I think I would try 35mm first but love the construction of this tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott M

Reviewed 7/17/2023
by Scott M
Northern Virginia
Overall Rating
Fast rolling on pavement, excellent gravel performance.

I went from the Gravelking SS in a 38 to the SK in a 43. I noticed little drop off in performance on pavement, and the gravel performance is a step up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by turbo_pdx

Reviewed 11/5/2020
by turbo_pdx
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
overhyped

don't know why this tire is so popular, I'm guessing because of good marketing, and they look cool.

it feels SO slow on pavement AND gravel, and on gravel doesn't offer nearly as much grip as other options by Schwalbe, WTB, Maxxis, etc. It feels especially nervous on loose corners, even worse than many slicks because it's unpredictable. sometimes you have grip... then it disappears unexpectedly as you get onto the long corner knobs.

In addition, the tightly spaced square knobs tend to pick up tons of little pebbles that get wedged into the tread and need to be picked out. I suspect this will lead to flats eventually, since debris gets stuck and pounded in instead of just falling off, but I haven't given them a chance to find out because I took them off after a few rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cleo

Reviewed 8/28/2020
by cleo
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Used in India to great success

I used this on my travel bike as an all-surface tire. I was working in Bangalore for many months prior to COVID and was running some semi-slicks, but the streets often had sand and dust buildups (lots of construction) and many of my out-of-town rides had me on mixed to gravel to sand trails & roads. These tires rolled fast enough, great traction, and I was able to set them up tubeless in the hotel room and held air for days before requiring a quick top-off. Great tire!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scotty K

Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Scotty K
Boston
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great So Far

Replacing ClementDonnelly MSO Xplor's as my gravelmixed terrain tires on my CX bike. Running tubeless on Stan's Grails. One tire went on easily but the other took some work to seat. A compressor helped.

I've put about 200 miles on them so far, on some rough trails, and theyve performed really well. Hook up on off camber was also good for a gravel tire. Seals have held and haven't had any punctures

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jason

Reviewed 5/8/2020
by Jason
Idaho
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
All around gravel tire

Purchased the 700x38, have about 200 miles on them, Ive used these on all surface types(loose gravel, slightly muddy, pavement included) and found great traction running at just under 40 psi. Setup easy tubeless with no problems holding air since mounted.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/17/2022
by Anonymous
chicago
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice ride quality; can't set up tubeless

Got these for gravel/non-cx riding on my cx bike (hed Belgium wheels). I ride and race tubeless on this wheel set, but I can't for the life of me get these tires to seat. Tried all kinds of high pressure air, all to no avail. So I mounted them w tubes and they're ok. Even rode last gravel season w tubes thinking the casing would then be better formed to mount tubeless this season but didn't work.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Reviewed 2/27/2023
by Jeff
Denver
Overall Rating
Feels fast and it is

I bought these on reputation. They have handled just like they say they would. They feel fast and that feel translates to reality. So far they have handled Colorado gravel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arcadian

Reviewed 1/12/2022
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for mixed terrain

Ive bought these twice now. The 32s are an improvement over the 28s, but even the narrow tires gave good control on small rocks/ gravel/loose dirt. The 32s feel really secure and I can't imagine what I'd change on them to improve the ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/26/2021
by Anonymous
Rhode Island
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome

I picked up a pair of 35's for a cheap 'n' dirty gravel bike conversion. I actually meant to order the smoother SS version, but whoops - got these instead. Thought I'd try them anyway and I'm glad I did. They roll like butter over everything! They are quiet and fast on pavement as well and feel super supple. Coming from 25C road tires, these are a game changer. Nice quality tires made in Japan.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/25/2021
by Anonymous
Rhode Island
Overall Rating
Awesome

I picked up a pair of 35's for a cheap 'n' dirty gravel bike conversion. I actually meant to order the smoother SS version, but whoops - got these instead. Thought I'd try them anyway and I'm glad I did. They roll like butter over everything! They are quiet and fast on pavement as well and feel super supple. Coming from 25C road tires, these are a game changer. Nice quality tires made in Japan.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Anonymous
Central Ohio
Overall Rating
Great tire

Being my first gravel tire, I wasn't sure what to expect when hitting mud and loose rock. I was very surprised when they took everything I could throw at them through bad Ohio hill country.

Size:700x32

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gravel tire

Awesome

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JRinOKC

Reviewed 8/17/2020
by JRinOKC
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma City, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great on gravel and tarmac

Got these for my GT Grade, and our gravel roads in Oklahoma and NW Arkansas. Despite their "bomb proof" construction, they were relatively easy to get on my rims, and seated and beaded really well the first go. I have subjected them to everything from rough country roads to gravel and singletrack and they handled it all well. Highly recommend them.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]