Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Panaracer GravelKing SK 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing SK 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(82 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(65)
(11)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(79%)
(13%)
(4%)
(2%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by soggycyclist

Reviewed 1/18/2024
by soggycyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for general gravel and road work. suitable for Road and lightweight Emtb.

Solid tire that I have mounted on a number of clients wheelsets here in the Phoenix Valley. All have been mounted tubeless. Zero problems aside from massive debris failure: nail, glass, etc. Running on road and gravel bikes as well as Emtb and Eroad. Solid tire and a good value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike in Richland

Reviewed 12/25/2022
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Grippy Tires

I have been using a set of 43-mm GravelKing SK tires for the past 1000 miles or so. I bought tires from BTD to replace a pair of GravelKing SS tires. I bought the SKs for winter use and have not been disappointed. Where I live in SE Washington state, gravel roads are commonly angular basalt or river deposits, i.e., silt and rounded stones. The SK have worked quite well. The tires are grippy and provide good traction on steep wet hills. The tread pattern keeps fairly clean. The tires are wearing well, and to date I have not had a flat. The tires perform well on pavement and are fast, given the tread design. As an initial matter, the tires were easy to mount. Lastly, I got a competitive price from BTD. So, if you are looking for a good all-around gravel tire with some grip, I would recommend the SKs.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/30/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tire

I like the fine tread, but was wondering about some of the mounting complaints. This is my intro to tubeless on a bike I just got. I tried nearly every trick in the book (large volume air from compressor, lubrication, band around tire, leave the tire in the sun to soften...) and couldn't get the bead to seat. Finally I stuck a tube in and popped the bead on the rim, as expected. I rode a couple times and then tried without the tube. The front bead popped off on just one side and the tube pulled out easily. The bead reset easily with a compressor. The back bead came off on both sides and I had to fiddle a bit to get it back on, but it reseated also. Now I'm happy. I think the problem was the folded bead needed to stretch out before it could be used as a tubeless. This was one of the few tires I could get in 700x32, which I wanted for an 80% pavement-use gravel bike. Fiddled with best pressures and now ride 50 psi rear and 40 psi front (I weigh 160 lb).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin C

Reviewed 9/24/2018
by Kevin C
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great Off-Road Option

I put a set of the 26mms on my Cannondale EVO road bike to see how it would do on dirtgravel roads. Great performance and traction, even with the narrow width. Nice to have these as an option.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rando / cyclotourist

Reviewed 9/28/2018
by rando / cyclotourist
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Impressive grip for such tiny lugs, was very effective for me

I was planning a tour on a crushed limestone rail trail in the Black Hills of South Dakota on our older road tandem. Unfortunately, our tandem frame did not have clearance for large tires. I had tested the bike with road tires on gravel and the front end skittered about quite a bit, sometimes edging toward hard to control.

I tried to fit several gravel tires, and (only) the 700x32 Gravel King SK barely fit the front. I had little gravel tire (or gravel) experience and was skeptical that the Gravel King's modest lugs would help improve control much. I was very pleasantly surprised - the Gravel King tremendously reduced front-end skittering and vastly improved control.

The tour was successful thanks in part to this tire. It rode well on pavement, with only a little buzzing, though I didn't try any hard cornering on pavement. On the gravel - which was sometimes much coarser and deeper than the better crushed limestone parts of the trail - I always felt solidly in control - a vast improvement over road tires.

I'm pretty sure a more aggressive tread (or a larger tire with the same tread) would have been even better, but due to frame clearance, those were not options for me. I was very happy I had tried the Gravel King.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/21/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tire

Great gravel tire! I've ridden these on dirt, gravel, grass, and pavement. They mounted tubelessly quite easily on Iron Cross rims. I have the 32 mm width and they are about as wide as most 35 mm cyclocross tires on my other bikes. It has a nice supple ride feel and rolls quite fast on pavement. The only downside I've found is that the tread does throw quite a few rocks if you have any small gravel (between sand and pea-size) in your local roads. It's time to replace my rear tire, but I got 3000 miles out of it, not too bad! I will replace it with another GravelKing SK.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by San Jose Cx''er

Reviewed 9/6/2018
by San Jose Cx''er
Competitive Racer
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling tubeless gravel tire at a great price

I've found this to be a fast rolling gravel tire. I purchased the 38mm tire and mounted them on a rim with internal width of 19mm, the mounted tire measured 38mm. Fairly easy to mount and inflate on a DT swiss rim. The tire held air when first mounted. With the addition of sealant the tire barely looses any air between rides. The tread pattern is unique. The center tread pattern help this tire rolls fast and provides very good traction when climbing. The side knobs are a bit unconventional. Each knob is linked to the next knob with solid strip of tread. its basically on continuous patterm with knobs interspersed. The tire corners ok compared to a cyclocross tire. I guess gravel tires probably don't have to corner as good as cx tires.

Unfortunately i got a sidewall cut after only 200 miles. Sealant could only hold pressrue around 20 psi, so I am now running the tire with a tube. The sidewall cut happened when I was riding a pretty rocky section of gravel so that may just be normal wear and tear. I would still recommend this tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/9/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, CA, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the old standard

They live up to their stellar reputation.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GDSPDX

Reviewed 6/9/2022
by GDSPDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great all-around gravel tires

For years I have used Clement/Donnelly MSO's. I liked their small knob profile--offering more grip than a file tooth, but not so much as a knobby. I wasn't able to find the MSO's, a friend recommended Gravelking SK's and I really glad I tried them. Much faster than the MSO on pavement, with even better traction on climbs and in corners. The even tread pattern works quite well in most conditions so far, from hard pack to light mud. They are pretty light, seem to have very low roll resistance, and fit up very easily. All round great tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Gravelking SK

Good tires. I've put about 300 miles in them and very little sign of wear. Mostly road riding with some gravel and single track. I had real issues mounting them, which is the reason for the four stars. Had to use every trick, including seating one side with a tube. Once I figured out the procedure it went east for the second tire. Think the problem is they are a bit loose on the rim, which does allow room for tubes. I won't run with tubes for gravel biking though, too many flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Al

Reviewed 4/6/2023
by Al
seaville nj
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tire

I ride mostly sandy trails. Often through powder trails, dirt bike torn up trails and trails with ruts filled with water. These tires offer great traction in a condition, roll well and are sure footed. I will buy them again. So far wear is minimal after a few hundred miles

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/28/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Couldn't seat tubeless, but good ride with tubes.

I bought 32mm SK's to occasionally use my Canyon Endurace road bike as a light gravel bike. I'm fairly adept at seating tubeless road tires on my DT Swiss aluminum rims, but was unable to seat these SK's tubeless, using an air compression cylinder pumped up to over 160 psi, soapy water on the rims & beads, etc. Pretty frustrating experience. Put tubes in and rode a local gravel rail to trail and the C&O Canal path, which has some rocky sections comparable to pave. These rode fine on those surfaces at about 70 to 75 psi under my 200 lbs. I just remained a bit nervous about pinch flats and would have preferred an even lower psi, tubeless. Not much gravel in MD, these should be able to handle what's here, but if they're supposed to be tubeless it shouldn't take a full blown air compressor or a shop mechanic to accomplish that.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Midland, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great All-Around Bike Tire

I bought these tires as part of a second set of wheels for my road bike to double it as a gravel bike. I was surprised how much control I had on these tires on a wide range of gravel. I felt confident on hard pack to loose gravel, and was even able to ride on loose sand/sand surfing when needed. Great tire for gravel, and surprisingly fast rolling on pavement. Thanks to this tire, I've been able to do 60+ mile exploration rides tackling tough road and singletrack climbs and miles upon miles of gravel. 10/10 would recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/10/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
san diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good for bad roads

The tires are very easy to put on and take off, hold a good amount of pressure, and generally keep me from getting flats when commuting on roads that are more or less covered in glass (when combined with a tire liner). They wear out quickly, but are worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by drewkora

Reviewed 5/8/2021
by drewkora
Cycling Enthusiast
Patterson, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great match for the Cannondale Synapse

I have a Cannondale Synapse 105 SE that came from the factory with WTB Exposure 30C tires. Great tires, but they are slicks and zero tread an odd choice for a bike intended as a "gravel spec." So, I swapped them out for 32c Gravelkings and it's completely transformed the ride quality the bike now feels like it can really handle the dirt. (And for anyone wondering, these fit the Synapse Alloy frame perfectly... I bet I could fit the 35c, in fact).

The small, tight tread pattern reminds me of the Kedna small block tires on my cross bike from ten years ago. They have great traction on hardpack with loose gravel, they climb well, and they give me have loads of confidence cornering even at speed on a descent. And yet, the tread is fine enough to roll reasonably smooth on concrete and asphalt.

These are great tires for a bike that you want to take a lot of places, a great mixed use, go anywhere, do (almost) anything adventure bike tire. I still love the WTB Exposures, so I'll be putting them on my Canyon Endurace instead.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/26/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great for cat 1 gravel

I use them with tubes and no punctures after multiple gravel rides and a 67 mile gravel race. Highly satisfied thus far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Slade

Reviewed 5/16/2020
by Slade
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Tubeless fail

I like the performance of this tire but I've had my LBS set it up tubeless twice and it's failed twice. Paired with Zipp 30 Course wheels (also tubeless ready). I gave up and I'm running tubes now.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/26/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

I now have several thousand miles on these tires and couldn't be happier. I ride mostly on pavement and these roll quietly and efficiently while still giving a decent performance on unpaved roads. Probably not the best for technical trails or serious mud but a great all rounder and reasonably priced. These wear well and punctures have been rare indeed. Recommended!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam

Reviewed 7/3/2022
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Gravel Tire

I ride on hardpacked gravel and am entirely satisfied with the tires. Cornering is very good and traction on various surfaces seems well above average. Some rolling resistance on pavement. Had my local tire shop install them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/27/2019
by Anonymous
Boise
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
What an upgrade!

Swapped a pair of Mavic tires for the Panaracer GK SK in size 38. All I can say is wow! Faster rolling on the pavement, grippier on the technical dirt climbs, floats through sand like butter, and I feel like Im in more control of the bike. If I had anything negative to say it would be theyre a challenge to mount on my wheels, however, I was impatient and probably should have let them sit out in the sun for awhile instead of ripping the package off and going to town on them. Buy these tires, theyre awesome!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]