Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Panaracer GravelKing 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(68 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(47)
(10)
(6)
(4)
(1)
(69%)
(15%)
(9%)
(6%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/24/2018
by Trevor McDonald
Wichita
Overall Rating
Super tire

So happy with these tires. Such a big deference going tubeless and from 35s to 38s. There is a huge difference cornering and on the open road it feels much softer. On the gravel I cant say enough about these tires They seem to be holding up everything that I can throw at them. Ive only put about 400 miles on the set since getting them but I believe that theyre going to be the tire for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Anonymous
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
Great tire for the price

Performance road tire for a great price.You can not go wrong when ordering from this place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2019
by Kevin M
Cycling Enthusiast
North Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
28c narrow

The 28c tires run narrow. I mounted a 28c on a 24mm OD width rim, and they barely measure 27c with calipers. I was hoping for more width

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2017
by Edward Grey
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, in
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great tires

Great fires, my bike came with 700-38c Schwalbe Road Plus commuting style tires. They felt like molasses and had a ton of rolling resistance. They felt ok on corners but i never wanted to take anything too tight, especially as speed at speed. not great traction in dirt, they got squirmy fast. I got these in 700x32c and they feel great. they corner much better, and roll sooooo much better. i have not had to take them through dirt yet but they feel so much better already. the only downside is it took me about 2 hours, tire levers, and one pinched tube to get them on. they are a TIGHT fit. great tires, I will buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2017
by rrnsd
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Durable tire that won't slow you down

Great tire, was able to buy a few pairs on sale around $37 each. No complaints

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2017
by durishange
Pittsburgh, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire

I like the tires. They roll nicely. I use them on commutes and training rides. Any flats have occurred because I failed to inflate fully. That's my fault, not the tires. I've ridden on some rail trail, road and some service roads. I would repurchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/22/2016
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Solid tire for road to gravel, low grip

The 700x28 has been a good tire for both the pavement and graveldirt road rides. The tire is ideal for gravel grinders and gran fondos that feature lots of pavement with smooth dirtgravel mixed in. The tire doesn't have enough volume or tread to inspire riding with abandon on sharp large gravelcobblespall roads, where you really want something bigger and beefier. It's a great tire for cruising around town in the winter too, and I really haven't noticed it being a lot slower than the slick 25's on my other road bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Unable to mount

These may well be great tires, but I'll never know because I cannot mount them on my Neuvation R28 SL2 wheels without damaging the tube. I gave up after pinch flatting two tubes and realizing that even if I managed to successfully install them at home I would never be able to out on the road if I got a flat. These rims have a reputation for a tight fit, but I've never had this problem with them before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2019
by willymtb
Cycling Enthusiast
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire in not so great conditions!

The Gravel King tire was awesome on the mixed surface gravel event that I purchased them for. I felt super confident climbing in the muddy conditions, descending and picking lines on technical single track. I had to sacrifice some traction on the deep mud due to not having any lugs on the tires but this was a trade off. Great tire!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2016
by Tarwheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Best 28s I have used!

The Panaracer Gravel King 28s are the tire I've been looking for to use for commuting. They are durable, reasonably light weight, roll nice and provide a plush ride. On Dyad rims, they measure 30 mm wide, and should measure a true 28 mm wide on narrow rims like Open Pros. Other 28s that I've tried include Continental GP 4 Seasons, Vittoria Rubinos, Panaracer Pasela TGs and Rivendell Ruffy Tuffys - and the Gravel Kings are far better than all of these. The Conti 4 Seasons are just as light but much narrower (closer to 26 mm wide) and harsher riding. The Rubinos are also much narrower than billed (26 mm) with ride quality similar to the Contis. The Ruffy Tuffys were close to advertised width (27.5 mm) but much heavier with higher rolling resistance than others. The Paselas were close to advertised with and relatively light weight but do not roll as smoothly as the Gravel Kings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2015
by SomeOldCruster
Competitive Racer
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, silent, fast rolling, great value

Purchased a pair of 700x28 and mounted them on wide DT460 rims with Michelin butyl tubes. Tires looked good out of the box, a little bit of extra rubber hanging off the bead but no big deal. Relatively thin and light casing for a gravel tire. More like a big road tire. Pumped up at 85-90 psi they were exactly 28mm wide with my calipers. Seem to be high volume. Out on the road they are fantastic. Almost completely silent, feel like they roll excellent. The ride is great at 85 psi on rough pavement (I weigh 180lb). Inflating more than 90 hurts the feel. Not much tread. Have only ridden them a bit off pavement. I think they'd be OK for smooth dirt roads with occasional chunk just because of the volume, but for me this is more of a sweet riding, good rolling road tire. Too early to tell how they will wear but I don't expect to get extraordinary mileage as they are pretty thin and I replace tires early rather than risk flatting. I think they're still an excellent value at the BTD price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2015
by Guy from Arkasas
Cycling Enthusiast
North West Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Going to order some more

It will sound pretty funny to say that I like these tires enough that after cutting the sidewall on one today, I am going to order some more. I was really asking to much of it, but I was having a good time making new routes by connecting pavement with some unpaved stuff, got lost and ended up on a road more suited to a fat tire bike.

Its going on the stack of barely used tires that have been destroyed by the flint shards that are everywhere around where I ride. I got almost 200 miles out of it, which is 197 miles more than a couple on the pile(that cost more).

I was not kind to these tires, riding rocky rough roads at 220 pounds, in the 26mm size(yes, its actually 25). All the other tires that I have gone through only hit pavement.

They are fairly fast on pavement, and felt secure in the turns. Only rode them in the rain once, didn't die. When I get some more, they are going on all my faster bikes. Will probably Get the 28mm next time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2019
by BranFlakes
Daily Commuter
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best All-Around Tire

I was able to ride these tires on most surfaces, gravel, pavement, hard-packed dirt, even some dicey technical rides where most would want 29 tires. The have lasted me around 800 miles and have more life ahead of them! Great all-around tire for mixing it up on the single track and gravel road, or cranking away miles on buttery asphalt. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2018
by Chris
Competitive Racer
rohnert park, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, easy to setup tubeless, but not the most puncture resistant

Great tires, easy to setup tubeless, but not the most puncture resistant. I bought the 700x38c tires, they are awesome tires, the feel is fantastic, they ride really smooth, but I was disappointed with the puncture protection so far. I've gotten a lot of flats. Thankfully I was able to plug larger hole with Dynaplugs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2018
by John
Daily Commuter
western Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Thin easy to puncture, very supple

This tire is very supple which is why I purchased it. I didn't know that it was so light and punctured so easily. I hope to solve the puncture problem with some tire liners.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2014
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Aurora, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
JUNK- Don't fall for the magazine hype.

5 flats in less than 100 miles. I guess if you put the trendy term du jour, gravel, in a name all of the magazines will think they're fantastic. Bought them after several good reviews. Do feel good on patches where snow has blown across road but otherwise nothing special. 700X26 is actually narrower than a Continental Gator Skin 700X25. My Gator Skins went several thousand miles between flats on the same roads. At least the price is cheap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by NP
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best all round tire period.

Best all round tire I've used in terms of price weight and performance. Only thing I don't like is the name and logo, should be called allroad or something Gravel King kinda seems silly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2018
by HG
Casual Cyclist
Bellbrook, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, light, and SMOOTH

Put the 700x38C (622-40) on my Trek Crossrip 3 recently for some light gravel. These tires are really cushy and very fast. No noise on pavement at all. I did have a horrible time getting them to mount. Very tight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2018
by villa891
Cycling Enthusiast
Olathe, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires!

I bought these tire to replace a set of Compass Bon Jon tires (which I liked a lot) and have been pleased so far. Panaracer makes tires for Compass so I knew the quality of the tire and at a better price. I run these tires at 50psi when I ride the road and drop down to 40psi when riding gravel. I love how they respond on either surface.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
wish it was more supple

good value, but rides a big harsh. for slicks i prefer compass over gravel kings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 21

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]