Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
PaceLine Chamois ButtR 8oz Tube

PaceLineChamois ButtR 8oz Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(130 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(97)
(29)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(75%)
(22%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by AdamW
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It make so much difference

It's hard to explain to new riders how much difference chamois cream can make, not only preventing chafing but just the overall comfort in the backside-to-seat interface. it's like the difference between a cheap and expensive saddle, it's that important. Not only do I use this if I plan to be on the bike for longer than thirty minutes, I also carry along the single use packs by the same brand in case I need to "top off."

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Big O
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Never Leave Home Without It!

Very easy to use and leaves no residue on you or your clothing. I use it even though the bike short manufacturer says you don't need it...yeah, right! Our average rides are 30 to 50+ miles 3+ times a week and never have to worry about a sore butt. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Aurora, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Chamois Cream that is comparable to Assos Cream

Great Chamois Cream that is comparable to Assos Cream.

This is one of the best creams and a great value compared to

other products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by igineer
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbar, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best for during and after ride

Use this cream religiously on long rides (>100k). Keeps the chamois moist and prevents chaffing. It also helps heal any chaffing if I forget to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2020
by Nitrowolf
Rogersville, TN.
Overall Rating
Great stuff!

I have been having some hot spots when riding even on short 10-12 mile rides. I ordered this after reading reviews and all I can say is wow! Dont know why I hadnt bought it before now but after my last ride of 23 miles and using it I will never go without it again. Great product, helps with saddle soreness, eliminates hot spots or at least for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2017
by Ryman1108
Competitive Racer
Des Moines, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Can't believe I rode WITHOUT this, ever

I figure there are 2 audiences taking the time to read a review of this kind of product 1) those who've never used a chamois cream and are wondering if it's something to try, and 2) those who've tried numerous creams and are still looking for the best.

For audience 1, the answer is YES, you've got to be using this stuff, and Chamois Butt'R is an outstanding option. Works fine by itself, but I often go with a thin layer of Aquaphor or Vaseline on the more tender parts of the male anatomy plus right where the inner thigh hits the groin and then go with this product mainly where the directions suggest putting it (immediately posterior to those tender parts). For context, I only ride a triathlon bike, so positioning and pressure points may differ from your riding situation. Of course after a couple hours of intense sweating on the trainer or on a humid day, Chamois Butt'R will need to be reapplied. Their little one-use packs are like magic about halfway through an Ironman bike leg.

Then, for the 2nd audience, I admit I have a limited chamois cream repertoire I've only used this product and their Eurostyle version over the past 15 yrs. The Eurostyle gives a significant cooling effect down there, much more than I'm comfortable with. With that stuff, you're feeling mentholly down below for quite some time, and then when you shower, it comes back to hit you with an open hand of minty-ness. No thank you-a fresh feeling is good, but for me, ice is not nice down there. Stick to this original Chamois Butt'R-you won't regret it.

Certainly, I wish it didn't cost so much, but for the protection it provides, I'd be willing to pay significantly more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2020
by twuerslin
Cycling Enthusiast
Waukesha, WI.
Value Rating
Overall Rating

Non-greasy yet provides good protection from friction, saddle sores. Washes out of chamois well even in cold water wash.Great value compared to similar products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2020
by Nick
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I can't ride my bike without it. Life saver for those long rides.

I've grown so accustomed to using this on every single ride, that if I don't use it, I feel like I'm self inflicting pain upon myself. This skin lubricant is a life saver. I never go for a ride without applying it, and my body starts thanking me for it on those 30 mile rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My go to chamois cream

I have been using this chamois cream for many years and I have not had any saddle sores or pain after long rides. Great value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
San Joaquin Valley
Overall Rating
A must for long and short rides.

Pain never made a hero of anyone. For a comfortable ride of any length, I apply directly to skin. It is easy to use, odorless and non-greasy. I prefer the tune to the chair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2019
by 10kman
Competitive Racer
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works!

Tried this on a whim just to know if I have a viable option from my tried and true. It's not as paste-like as Assos is, it's more of an actual creamlotion. Goes on easy, a little goes a long way. I think for rides approaching 3 hours (and beyond), it seems to not be as effective, but honestly sweating and rubbing skin for 3 hours is a lot to ask of any skin lubricant. Just noting. They do sell a travel packet size you can throw in your jersey pocket, for reapplication (I don't, but it's an option). This seems to do about the same as the Buttonhole does, Assos is still my go-to, but the price makes me keep looking for an alternative.

Can't go wrong with this one though, it works fine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good for short rides Doesn't last as well as other products.

Chamois creme really makes a difference to how well I feel after a ride, whether it be 30 miles or 200 miles. Every time I do a ride of more than 20 miles or so without using some form of creme, I can feel the imitation on my skin. I enjoy long rides and tours with 7 days or more of continuous cycling, so a good chamois creme really makes a difference.

The Paceline creme is way better than no creme at all, but there are better alternatives. This is a good value product and I wouldn't hesitate to use it for a 50 mile ride. But it does tend to lose effectiveness during longer rides.

If I'm doing a really long ride (100 miles or more) or many days of 50 mile rides, I will choose another product. My favorite these days is DZ Nuts, but I think the Assos Chamois Creme is also pretty good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2014
by Goldbug
Competitive Racer
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good value when on sale!

After thirty years of cycling I have tried a lot of different stuff and wasted a lot of money on hype. This product, however, is a good value. When BTD runs a special during the off-season, load up! This stuff is more durable than other brands I have tried, yet does not leave any residue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2014
by mindanalyzer
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
excellent chamois cream, great value

I love this chamois cream, this is a must for my rides, in special for the long ones, above 70 miles. If I forget to apply this cream before a ride, that next week will be a painful one (and I only wear Assos and top quality castelli bibs)

thanks to BikeTiresDirect for the good price and VIP points. Great store!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2019
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Value

Dont ask me how or why, but I didnt discover the wonders of chamois cream until around year twenty of now thirty years of riding and racing. It was an epiphany indeed and is now a necessity on every ride. Since then I have tried many different products and find this one to offer the best combination of performance, durability and value. If you can catch a good sale AND buy in bulk, you can get it for around a dollar an ounce, which is my measure of a really good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2018
by DanS
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must have for long rides

Keeps the saddle sores at bay and makes for a smooth, soft chamois. Can't ride without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2018
by TriGuyRy
Competitive Racer
Des Moines, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It's the lube-iest, I can't imagine riding without it

For any more than 20 minutes in the saddle, I can't imagine riding without Chamois ButtR. Pretty long lasting, though if it's a really sweaty day, I do like to reapply every 90 mins or so. The individual packs work well for that. Has a nice lotion consistency as isn't greasy. I like to apply a thin base of Eucerin healing ointment before applying Chamois ButtR if it's going to be a long day in the saddle, especially since I'm usually wearing triathlon shorts with pretty thin chamois.

With that one-two punch for protection, your undercarriage will be bulletproof...or at least saddle-sore free.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2019
by Steve B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great chamois cream for before, during, and after rides

I use chamois cream for all of my longer rides (over 50 miles). I tried a few different brands, but found the Butt'r cream to work as well as any of the others and seems to be a comparable or better value. This helps be tackle long rides and avoid chafing and saddle sores that can result from many hours in the saddle. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Won't Ride Without It

This product is easy to apply, not greasy, and does not stain the chamois of my riding shorts. It lasts several hours. I carry the small packets to re-apply during rides longer than 3 to 4 hours. It prevents chafing well. Great deal if you buy it on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2019
by Tim
el paso
Overall Rating
Fantastic chamois cream

The stuff is a must for long rides! Don't worry about any sores

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 65