Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
OTTOLOCK Cinch Lock

OTTOLOCKCinch Lock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(16)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(52%)
(33%)
(10%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 1/4/2018
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Light, easy to use theft deterrent. 30 works better than 18 for locking bike to racks and posts

Light, easy to use theft deterrent.

No need to carry a key.

I use with a thin 6' coated steel cable to secure other wheel and saddle which would not be secured otherwise.

30 works better than 18 for locking bike to racks and posts

Be forewarned - you cannot change your combination after you set it up the first time.

There have been several design improvements compared to my 18 early version of OTTOLOCK.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great product, highly recommend

I use this almost everyday. It's easy to store in my jersey pocket or saddle bag. You can even set your own personalized code. I only use this lock if I'm running inside really quick to buy a snack and I still can keep my eye on my bike. Or I use it in conjunction with my U-lock if I'm going to leave my bike locked up outside for a longer duration of time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2017
by Northernbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great lock, might prefer the 30

This is really a great lock, especially when you are out riding and want to stop for a bite of lunch or a coffee - and don't want to lug your heavy U-lock with you. This has a 3-combo lock that can be set to your preference. It may be a bit hard to setopen if you have large hands, but I've had no problems. Having had this 18 for a while now, I'm seriously considering getting the 30. A little more length would be even better given the array of racks & such available for locking your bike to. 30 would be more versatile. All in all, tho', the lock lives up to it's light and safe hype! I'm glad I made the purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Thomas
Largo
Overall Rating
Perfect for short stops

My bike is never really out of sight, but like it locked. Carry it under my seat and it is perfect.... appreciate the Cincinnati Bengals orange!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2019
by Tom
Utah
Overall Rating
Most Excellent!

This was the 2nd Otto Lock Ive owned, owning to my loosing the previous one. Relatively light, strong, and rolls up into an under saddle bag. Get One!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fine for it's purposes

This lock is not going to protect your bike for very long, if not used in conjunction with a larger locking system.

But,if you want some piece of mind in situations where you would usually leave your bike unlocked, this lock is a great candidate. It's small and light and prefect for gas station resupplies and bathroom trips. For cafe and coffee stops.

My only issue is that the locking and unlocking function can feel a little stiff and sloppy. And there is a small learning curve to getting it to run smoothly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Tom in Marin
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, CA
Overall Rating
Convenient but the elastic band keep it rolled up broke after about 20 uses.

I like the lock as it compact and strong for locking the rear wheel of my bike to a rack or other object when I go into a store. I would not use it to lock the bike for long periods. The combination lock seems a bit flimsy. The elastic band that keeps the rolled-up lock from unrolling in your pocket or pact is definitely too weak for multiple uses. Mine broke after about 20 times. I've ordered three back-ups (they only are sold in packages of 3), so clearly Ottolock knows it's too weak. They should beef it up, as well as the combination lock.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Overall Rating
Good for lightweight security in low risk areas

Light, easy to carry. Already owned 18 inch Ottolock, and decided it was really too short to be useful. This 30 inch is much better, and works in more locations.

Just as advertised, it's more for quick stops and low risk areas. No way would I rely on this lock for overnight storage or sketchy areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2021
by Bob G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, WA
Overall Rating
I bought this lock to keep with me on rides

I'm usually be myself when I ride. I use this lock if I have to make a stop at a store for treats or to use the bathroom. It probably won't stop a hardcore bike bandit, but will be enough to deter an opportunist thief.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Well worth the money

This little lock is awesome-it's compact, super durable, and easy to use. The mid-size is great for two bikes and a pole and doesn't differ too much in weight from the size below (added weight is from extra band only). Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Updated review: the Ottolock HEXBAND Cinch Lock 30 is no longer functional

I've really liked this lock, but after less than a year, the button will no longer depress, and none of the steps at the Ottolock site work to fix it. Too expensive a lock to die this soon, and it almost got locked on my bike while I was out as well, which would have been unforgivable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Victor
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WA
Overall Rating
Storage problems

Works as advertised but difficult to roll tightly and frequently unrolls despite use of the band which unfastens.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by Nobrakes
Portland, Or.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
lightweight and secure

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by Nobrakes
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
lightweight and secure

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by DoctorJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good caf lock for your road bike that you can carry in your jersey pocket.

The lock is relatively light and you can take it on your road bike trips. The width is a good size. The length is a bit short so not always easy to lock your bike to a post. I would,consider getting the longer length option, if the bulk and weight are not going to be an issue. The combo lock is great since you dont have to worry about a key.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2018
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love the Ottolock!

After doing quite a lot a research I decided to purchase the Ottolock and its turned out to be a great buy. But, its important to understand that all locks can be defeated and this lock in not intended to prevent thefts in a high crime area. It is intended to be used for quick mid ride stops and does it perfectly. If this is your intended use, go for it you won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2018
by JMoss
Daily Commuter
Germantown, MD
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Kinda pricey, but very useful

I bought the Ottolock as a backup for when I'm between places where I have a U-Lock stored. It's super light and compact. Can fit in a jersey pocket. I went for the 30, and it's about right. It can reach where a U-lock can, but also where a cable lock can. I've used it during the apres ride beer part of an event, and also to lock my bike to the inside of my car overnight (locked through the rear seat latches when the seat is down). I'm a bit surprised at the cost, but the utility seems worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Cathy
Cycling Enthusiast
Simi Valley, CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight security

I bought the Ottolock 30 model to take on overnight bike tours when weight is at premium. My old cable lock worked fine, but it was heavy and took up a fair amount of space. The Ottolock is very lightweight and I can store it just about anywhere where it can be threaded through some straps. The 30 length is just long enough to lock 2 bikes together...6 more inches would have been nice, but it works. Do be mindful of the locking mechanism. Holding down the button while both unlocking and locking is required, which is different from the typical combo lock. For me, this is a big improvement over a cable lock. I would not carry a U-lock just because of the weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2018
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good lock for quick use, ease of carrying around

Got this for quick trips into a coffee shop or store where the bike won't be left for long, plus to use as the occasional second lock to secure a wheel. You can run it from your top tube to down tube without it getting in the way or scratching the frame, so it's easy to carry and is light. My main problem with it and the reason it gets just three stars is that the combination will not change. After several attempts following the instructions, I gave it to a much smarter person, and she also could not get it to work. So we're stuck with the default, which is just barely acceptable for the intended purpose.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2018
by Barry
CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great lock

I love this thing. The reasons for the four star rating are price, it is expensive, good value but expensive, the leanth is just barely long enough for one bike, I wish it had a longer combination, 3 digits is not the most secure. But I still highly recomend this lovk

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 98

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]