Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Oakley DRT5 MIPS MTB Helmet

OakleyDRT5 MIPS MTB Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(2)
(87%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
(7%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Rob

Reviewed 5/6/2021
by Rob
Competitive Racer
Woodinville, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great sweat management for bald guys

I've been cycling for some time (think leather hairnets and Bell V1 Pro era) and have owned a lot of helmets over the years. Helmets are like shoes, the shape either fits or it doesn't. I find the DRT5 to fits me well. For comparison, I find the "ovalness" of Specialized helmets fit my head shape. The coverage is excellent, the fit is trim (not a big old mushroom head helmet) and the adjustments are top notch. As far as I know, Oakley is the first to NOT use foam pads inside a helmet. The MIPS shell fits right against your head so there are no sponges to collect sweat. I find that sweat beads right off my bald head, which brings me to my favorite feature, the silicon gripper. The three blade gripper contacts the forehead at the brow. Any sweat that runs forward gets trapped in between the wiper blades and eventually runs out the side, right down my temples, away from my eyes and glasses. I have used every type of sweat band, dew rag and whatever other sweat management products are out there. None work, they all stop sweat until saturated and then sweat runs down the inside of my glasses and into my eyes. The DRT5 helmet has no foam pad sponges to saturate with sweat. The air flow is good for how few holes the helmet has and the plastic interior holds no moisture, so sweat dries as it runs off my head. Best helmet for bald guys! Like other reviewers, I can take or leave the sunglasses dock. Hey Oakley, put the silicon gripper in a road helmet and I'll buy that as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/9/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgetown, On
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Oakley DRT 5 Disappointment

I purchased the Oakley DRT 5 from Oakley over the winter and it sat until the snow cleared. I had tried it on when I purchased it and it seemed to fit fine. On my first ride, with my Oakley Flak 2.0 glasses on, the helmet kept pushing my glasses down the bridge of my nose. The Oakley glasses are not compatible with the helmet. The Flak 2.0 ear stems are too long and rub against the the drop down part of the helmet that cuts behind my ears. The Boa system has two strings that run along the side of your head just forward of your ears. I�m bald and found this strings cut into the side of my head, after a ride, I�m left with two string indents in the side of my head.

Really disappointed in this helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/29/2021
by Anonymous
Indianapolis
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Buy this helmet!

I bought this a few months ago, and today i am so glad I did. The husband and I went on some mtb trails in Muscatatuck this afternoon, and I misjudged my descent at the end of the tail. I should have gotten off and walked my bike down, it was a bit steeper than I usually go, but i said to myself "Why not? The end is right there, you got this." I did not, in fact, have this. I hit a large rock, and flew like a bird straight over my handlebar. If not for this helmet, I might not even be able to write this review. After a few moments to assess my damage, I was able to ride my bike away with only minor road rash and a scraped up hand. I wish I could post pictures of the indent in my helmet, it's crazy to think that could have been my skull... buy this helmet folks. It's cheaper than a visit to the ER or a funeral.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anthony Garcia

Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Anthony Garcia
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This helmet is Top Notch

I purchased this helmet for MTB. This Helmet is what I've been looking for. Its comfortable, safe and fits perfect. I believe I purchased this helmet about 6 weeks ago after tons of research. After about a week I took a nasty spill with bike in tow. I don't know if I hit a rock with my head or my bike hit me in the head. I suffered some bruised ribs and chest soreness. I didn't get a headache or dizziness. I still rode about 5 miles off the mountain. Its been one of my best purchases of 2021. I also purchased the same helmet for my wife.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/27/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome helmet but it could use improvements

Helmet is very well designed for mountain trails but the comfort could be improved. The ratchet mechanism could be more padded.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rolf

Reviewed 7/6/2023
by Rolf
Mukilteo, Washington
Overall Rating
Great trail helmet.

Fits nice and secure. Visor keeps the sun out of your eyes. Great helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NickSlyness

Reviewed 6/9/2022
by NickSlyness
Daily Commuter
St Paul
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable, adjustable helmet with great visor

Previously purchased an Oakley road helmet, which I love.

So when I saw this on sale I grabbed it. I wanted a helmet with a visor for commuting, mountain biking, gravel riding, etc. Very happy with how comfortably this helmet fits.

There is a slightly gimmicky mount in back for sunglasses, which I have not tried.

But the visor is great for visor fans and it feels like a quality helmet that will last a few seasons.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 6/12/2023
by Mike
Connecticut
Overall Rating
Fits well, looks great!

A very nice comfortable helmet that is easy to adjust. I like the way I can store my sunglasses on top when not wearing them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by frank1623

Reviewed 2/14/2022
by frank1623
Cycling Enthusiast
Round Rock, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gorgeous Helmet! Two Thumps Up.

I have been an Oakley fan for a long time. When the opportunity came up I just jumped in and bought this mountain bike helmet. It is gorgeous, it has been my favorite MTB helmet so far, the silicone strip on the forehead is really working well in blocking the sweat drips to my eyes which the major benefits wearing this helmet. BTW, I ordered the second one with different color for spare.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hernandenberg

Reviewed 4/18/2023
by Hernandenberg
Overall Rating
Contable helmet

I like this helmet as the straps do not interfiere with your glasses. Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NM2MN

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by NM2MN
Cycling Enthusiast
Twin Cities, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Oakley DRT5 Helmet-Black

I've been really happy with this product overall. Sizing was spot on. This is my first mtb helmet and I found that I don't really use the sun glass feature. I do like the adjustable visor for different lighting preferences and it ventilates well and the sweat guard helps some but definitely doesn't catch everything.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/9/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Favorite helmet

By far my favorite helmet! I've worn Fox, Fly, TLD, & Bell over the years. The Oakley helmet vents well, is super light and very comfy! And the sunglasses holder is brilliant!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DM

Reviewed 4/3/2020
by DM
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
not so great

Heavy and the strings are very uncortable after riding for an hour.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Bob
San Diego
Overall Rating
Great hemet

I like the build in shade visor. Very adjustable and comfortable fit. Light weight but sturdy

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Brian
Northern California
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Save your money

To say I am disappointed, would be putting it lightly. The helmet fits nice, but the sweat management feature of the helmet is actually a hazard. In order for the sweat to drain, you have to constantly look skyward and tilt your head to the side. When you dont, the sweat overwhelms the system and it sheets down your face. Ive seriously never been so disappointed with a cycling product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really loving this helmet

Really like the silicone forehead contact. Incredibly comfortable, lightweight, and all the features work well and are utilized.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/17/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Premium price for a premium helmet.

DRT5 is the most expensive MTB helmet I have ever purchased, and it's worth it. It excels in the 2nd most important feature, which is fitcomfort (crash protection being 1st, but haven't had the opportunity to test it....thankfully). DRT5 does not use traditional foam pads like other brands, but rather it is suspended using very soft plastics which wraps around your head. Combined with the BOA retention system, it is without a doubt the best fitting and most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. I imagine the Oakley road helmets are similar in design also. Coverage of the helmet excellent and feels like it would provide adequate protection in most reasonable crashes. Plus, I think it is a really attractive looking helmet. Vents are large, but hasn't been warm enough to test the effectiveness, but seems like it would do the job. Installed in the helmet is a ribbed silicone pad in front of the helmet....acts as a seal to prevent sweat from falling into your eyes or glasses. When the helmet is adjusted correctly, it actually works very well and you can feel beads of sweat moving back and forth inside your helmet. A traditional foam pad is also included if you prefer that. The landing zone feature, which are 2 clips that holds your glasses on top of the helmet, is kinda gimmicky and I find myself not using it at all. I'm a cheap but I broke open the piggy bank for the DRT5 and do not regret it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/9/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Nice helmet

Fit is true to size and comfortable. I'd purchase this helmet again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by matt8urton

Reviewed 8/23/2021
by matt8urton
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, CO
Overall Rating
Great helmet with great tech features!

I'll start with the very small complaints. I think Oakley could put a little more design and tech into the core foam of the helmet, like what Smith uses. Second, the sweat band takes getting use to. But then... the sweat band is freaking awesome! It totally works keeping out moisture and aiding with glasses fog. The glasses storage on the back is also sick (don't use while heavy DHn though). The visor on the helmet is the best I've ever had. And last but most important (kidding) It's the most stylist helmet on the market and has a nice low profile look.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Exceeded Expectations

This is a great helmet, really quality construction and very comfortable!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]