Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Oakley ARO5 Helmet

OakleyARO5 Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(4)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(53%)
(27%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/8/2021
by NickSlyness
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure why this was on clearance...

Needed a new helmet. Saw this one was on clearance for a ridiculously low price so I got one. Now I wish I had grabbed two. Within minutes of riding, I forgot I was even wearing a new helmet. I have used it for casual spins around town and long, fast Sunday rides. The best thing I can say about it is that I forget it is there. As someone who unfortunately hits the pavement a bit (hence need for new helmet), I am also happy to have the extra MIPS protection. Previous helmets have always been Giro, but I am glad I made the switch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by rmictks
Competitive Racer
Wichita Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Helmet

Picked this up on a one day sale and I and I am extremely happy. fit is great very light and seems to be very Aero combined with my Oakley Special Forces . Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2020
by SuperM
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable clean looking arrow helmet!

Oakley Nailed it, light weight clean looking arrow helmet.

Great Color choices. True to size as I wear a medium.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2020
by Windows 10
Ont
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perf

Looks like a sports car from the back anyway. Comfortable. Bit strange front but yeah, not a second thought purchasing this on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

Very pleased so far with the fit and finish of this helmet. It is comfortable true to size and provides good ventilation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by redzone77
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Oakley boa system works.

Overall i like the style and look of the product. The boa system works well for me although it does run small....pay attention to your sizing. The profile of this helmet is bigger than my giros but it preforms well and is comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2018
by SF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
New best helmet

Road riding in the heat and humidity, the temps feel a lot cooler with AR 05 on my head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Mediocre

At first glance, I would give this helmet a 10 for style. Once I took it out of the box, though, my excitement dwindled. My first issue with the helmet was the height adjustment tab. For such an expensive helmet, the plastic piece is flimsy and snaps in and out of place for adjustments. Once it is snapped into place, it is very difficult to remove, if you're not careful you will break the piece. My next problem is while actually wearing the helmet At speed the air rushing into the large scoop at the back pulls the helmet away from your head. Very poor design. The only way to alleviate this problem to some degree is to wear a thin skullcap or sweatband like Headsweats as you can tighten the securing nob for a better grip. Lastly, for a manufacturer of sunglasses, I am disappointed with how I am unable to slide my Oakley Jawbreakers into the air vents when not in use (they do not secure nearly well enough and WILL slide right out the moment you tilt your head forward). So, taking these issues into account, it's a great looking but rather poorly designed helmet. For the price there are better quality options.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2018
by WVCyclist
Competitive Racer
West Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and breathability

I will start by saying it allows a great amount of air flow for an aero helmet. The weight of the helmet is slightly heavy, but you do not notice it is on your head while riding. The Boa fit system makes this helmet easy to adjust on the fly and use with any type of sunglasses. The downfall is the price compared to the competitors in the aero helmet line. BTD is the cheapest place you will find this product and that is what makes it a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2018
by Mangineer
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Good ventilation and very stylish.

Self explanatory.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sizes run small, Large barely fits

Very nice style and the build has a good balance between aero and ventilation. However, the helmet isn't very comfortable for my larger head due to its shape placing pressure on my temples. In addition, the boa headband is kind of awkward and gets caught easily in hair, sunglasses and sometimes ears.

The helmet is great looking and otherwise very comfortable and sleek. But, If you feel like you may be on the larger side of the size chart (60+ cm), you may be best off avoiding these helmets unless you can try the fit in person

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Sizes run small, Large barely fits

Very nice style and the build has a good balance between aero and ventilation. However, the helmet isn't very comfortable for my larger head due to its shape placing pressure on my temples. In addition, the boa headband is kind of awkward and gets caught easily in hair, sunglasses and sometimes ears.

The helmet is great looking and otherwise very comfortable and sleek. But, If you feel like you may be on the larger side of the size chart (60+ cm), you may be best off avoiding these helmets unless you can try the fit in person

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by AD
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
Solid

Good helmet. Seems to be sturdy and solid fitting. My only gripe is its kinda bulky looking for my personal taste. Although i have a small head so that might be why. If your not too concerned with looks its overall a good helmet for the average rider

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2019
by Crystal
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia Beach
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and so easy to adjust.

Loved from the moment it came. Immediately comfortable alone or with winter wool cap underneath it. Old Giro mips helmet pressed eyeglass frame into head if not very careful putting on, causing pain after 15 miles or so. Not so with this. Wonderful. The bright yellow is very visible too. Hope to be unable to report any crash results! Recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Lalo Rivas
Competitive Racer
MTY MX
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Well protected

Hello, I recently fell wearing my ARO5, I hit the back of my head, I went to check myself at the DRs and nothing, I was well protected. I got me a second one. Besides, that is very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 90

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]