Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
NiteRider Solas 250 Rear Light

NiteRiderSolas 250 Rear Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(2)
(0)
(3)
(3)
(70%)
(7%)
(0%)
(11%)
(11%)
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Gerhard
Chicago
Overall Rating
Provides great lights, but functionality to switch between them not very good

Provides great visible flashing modes; but switching between them is not easy. You have to press top rubber button several times to get to the desired mode. Rubber button doesn�t respond to a simple push, you have to do it over and over to get to the desired flashing mode.

Also, dismounting the light from its holding bracket is not that simple.

Other than for giving a very clear and good, visible flashing light, I would not recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2019
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very Bright, stays put, and easy to charge

Used this on a 2 month tour in Patagonia with dirt roads, rain, etc. Worked great, stayed put on all the bumps, and seemed impervious to wet gravel roads. Only issue is my wife had to go first, because the light was so bright it bothered her, even during the daytime.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2020
by Buck49
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It worked great for a month and then I couldn�t charge it

It was very visible from a distance which was great but then I couldn�t Get it to charge anymore. I tried different charging cords but it still didn�t work.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing light for the price

It works really well. Doesnt take a very long time to charge and is really, really bright. I was able to clip it on to my Carradice saddle bag with no problem

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Desert
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bright Light

I use night rider lights both back and front. The front one helps with the cars pulling out on to the road from a driveway.

This read light is loaded with lots of lumins and is eye catching if you put it on the first setting.

My experience is that a good rear light makes is much more likely that vehicles will give my a wider berth.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by rpettyjo
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quit working after a few months

I was happy with it when it worked. After about 3 months of light use, it quit working. It would not turn off, charge, or respond to the button.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2019
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A still bigger improvement

Had been using a couple Solas 90s for the past few years but one finally had the tiny pins wear out in the charging port. Replaced it with new 250, which is blindingly bright. Had to return the first one, however, as the switch apparently was faulty, but BTD's excellent customer service had me a new one in a few days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2019
by PedalsUp7
Competitive Racer
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great light but poor construction

First I have to say this NiteRider Solas is the best rear light I have ever owned and believe me Ive gone through plenty.

The brightness, power and flash pattern are the best of any light on the market. The battery life is up there with the top too. I use the strobe mode and got 5-6 hours on full charge when new but about 4 hrs after a year or so of heavy use. I use it during the daytime too.

Its the best light for charging too. Simply open the rubber tab on the bottom and plug in the USB charger and good to to in an hour or so.

Why the one star review?

I bought one and had to replace it in less than a year. I keep the rubber tab on the bottom closed as tight as i can but in heavy rain, water can get inside the unit and when it does its lights out, literally.

I tried letting it dry out but to no avail. Stuffed it in some rice grains to draw out the moisture but nothing.

I contacted NightRider customer care and they basically told me to fk off but very politely.

I went to my local bike store where I bought the light ( a big chain store that recently closed PB). The store manager replaced it right away and told me to pick a new one off the shelf.

Guess what? Less than a year later that new replacement unit got wet and stopped working too.

NightRider told me to get lost again, so back to the bike store. They replaced it with a new one.

Now the 3rd light Im on has just stopped working.

Thats the last straw for me and the Solas250. It really is a great light but the reliability is terrible.

Also the USB connector on the bottom can come apart from the circuit board from overuse.

I also have the front facing NR Lumina 400 light that I got with my first Solas250 and its still working strong.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Light

I prefer the bright flash, and have had rides on group rides catch me at a rest-stop to say this light is clearly visible more than a mile away in daylight. For visibility from the rear, this is by far the best and brightest light I've seen. On long rides (say, a century in the mountains) I find I have to replace after about 6 hours, so I carry two.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2020
by Pete
east coast near Washigton DC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent. Would buy it again. Highly recommended

Excellent product. Several light options to alert drivers of your presence as they overtake you. Charge has plenty to go after a 3.5 hour ride on the highest alert mode. Bought 2 more for my family members

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quality light that adds safety to your riding.

I use the NiteRider Solas 250 Rear Light daily, on the road, in day light, in heavy traffic. Also, on rural, single lane, windy roads with very short reaction times. Game changer. This light is a standard issue item with many of the club riders in my area. You will want to use one of the less bright modes on group rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2019
by Joelh
Cycling Enthusiast
Gresham, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bright and Effective

The Solas 250 flashes a very effective pattern that should keep drivers aware of you as they're approaching from the rear. The flashes are directed so that anyone riding behind you isn't blinded by them. Charging is easy and quick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Lacks durability

Love the light, when it works! Have owned two and love the various modes for battery life, etc. BUT had to replace both bc they simply stopped working. One day, great. Turn it off, next day it won't charge. Done.

If it worked continually I would give it 5 stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2019
by WesternCO rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Extreme Western CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best rear light out there

Brighter and more visible, especially during the day, than any tail light I've seen or used. If you want to be seen, this is the light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2019
by murph
Cycling Enthusiast
South Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lost the light on my 2nd ride, can't offer much of a review

Lost the light on my 2nd ride with it, came out of it's mounting bracket, guess I didn't make sure it was clipped in. If you buy this light, make sure it's clipped in. My friends said it was really bright the 1st time I used it and BTD did a price match on it for me so it was a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Scott
El Paso Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent light

Love this light. Easy to use and very bright. Good visibility for both night and day riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2018
by ScottH
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Rear Light Out There

This is hands down my favorite rear light. It's as bright as the sun, and it holds up to water, dirt, and grime.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2018
by Onegear29
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great daytime light

Needed a light that would be seen during daytime rides and this light checked all the boxes with modes that work great for that need and of course in darkness. USB rechargeability was another requirement and this light provides easy access and long battery life after recharging. Great light all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2019
by Craig
Ohio
Overall Rating
Review for Solas 250.

Great bright tail light!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by The Nematode
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Jolly Good

It's bright. It flashes. I have to stop to switch it on but that's OK. It hasn't got nicked yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 81