Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Muc-Off Bio Drivetrain Cleaner

Muc-OffBio Drivetrain Cleaner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(16%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/11/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best chain cleaner I have tried.

I have tried many different cleaners and degreasers over the years. So far Muc-Off is the best chain cleaner I have found. I pour a little in an old milk jug, put in the chain, and shake. I have never got the chains this clean in the past. Happy with the product and already stocked up with a second bottle to use on all my bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great product.

Works great!!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MikeMo

Reviewed 11/9/2022
by MikeMo
East Tennessee
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cleaner

I�ve used this product for years.

I pour some in an empty Gatorade bottle, put my chain in and shake! Then into another Gatorade bottle with water and shake. Let dry then do my wax routine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by carpitol

Reviewed 4/3/2023
by carpitol
Cycling Enthusiast
Half Moon Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great chain cleaner

Currently after every ride to get the mud of my chain.

A spray or two and a brush it all it takes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by James

Reviewed 7/12/2021
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very impressive degreaser

I wash and clean my bikes a few times a month. When I use this spray degreaser along with the Muc-off bike wash my drivetrain always looks brand new. It performs way better than expected.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ed

Reviewed 7/31/2023
by Ed
antioch Il
Overall Rating
Drivetrain Cleaner

Excellent cleaner and degreaser. Cuts dirt and grease easily. Just spray on, let sit, scrub and hose off.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dennis

Reviewed 6/19/2023
by Dennis
Overall Rating
Great cleaner

This cleaner works fast and gets the majority of dirt and grime off chain with minimal scrubbing

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/25/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Norther New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Makes drive train maintenance less of a chore, bada bing!

Use for monthly drive train maintenance. Makes for less of a chore. A clean drivetrain improves ride quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matthew S.

Reviewed 3/26/2020
by Matthew S.
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best drivetrain cleaner I've found!

Living in the Pacific NW with several months of rain each winter, my drive train gets plenty dirty on a weekly basis, Muc-Off Drivetrain cleaner does an excellent job of cleaning even the most dirty drivetrain (cassette, chain, and chain wheels) to make it look like new! It sparkles ... well maybe not really, but it's really clean. Works just as well in the summer too. Just follow the simple directions, spray on and let sit for a few minutes, then scrub with soapy water (I use a brush, just to reach down in the cassette and between chain links), you don't need to scrub much or hard ... the dirt and gunk will just fall away. Rinse and dry and ready for lube! Couldn't be easier or more effective!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Cleans drive train to a sparkle!

I've tried many drive train cleaning methods, but this really works without having to scrub for hours with a toothbrush to get that clean new component look. Works quickly and efficiently, doesn't smell bad and is environmentally friendly. I ride primarily on paved roads and occasional gravel sections, and generally about 600 mi. month, so I clean my drive train completely at least once a week. Defiantly worth a try if your looking for a good drive train cleaner.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF Bay Area Rider

Reviewed 8/17/2019
by SF Bay Area Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
OUTSTANDING PRODUCT - read the instructions

For the longest time I thought my gear cluster was black metal. Muc-Off proved otherwise. Cut thru the grime and grease only to discover the cluster was gun metal color. Cleaning did not require much effort. Read the instructions, I didn't the first time, used the product with no gloves. It seem to suck the oils off my hands. I now wear single use nitrile mechanic gloves with no issues or dried out hands. I put on about 5,700 miles a yr on my bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eee Zee

Reviewed 3/20/2023
by Eee Zee
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A clean (and lubed) chain is a happy chain

Great chain/drivetrain cleaner, which can be used without fear of harming the envirnment.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bamicus

Reviewed 3/3/2023
by Bamicus
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very good

I use it for my chain and derailleurs. Works well between deep cleaning.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/30/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
One of the best if not, the best chain cleaner Ive used.

Ive used everything from orange chain cleaner, finishline can spray (works well just expensive), simple green bike cleaner (good value and a good job cleaning) and this product.

What I like about this product is that, like simple green it is eco friendly. This product is easier to buy as the simple green version isnt widely available. I do think the muc off spray takes off the grease better with fewer applications. I would recommend!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DeRuyterCyclist

Reviewed 6/15/2021
by DeRuyterCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Central New York State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Effective, but I prefer the Simple Green product

Simple Green was out of stock, so I bought this instead. It doesn't foam up like Simple Green, but it still does the trick. After riding a bunch of gravel in wet conditions, I needed two applications to get things clean. The smell is fine, and I'm very happy that it's biodegradeable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Philly commuter

Reviewed 7/18/2022
by Philly commuter
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well, pleasant smell

It helps clean grease and gunk and grit off drive-train components pretty well, and it did not have a bad chemical smell like some other similar products.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DavidL

Reviewed 11/20/2020
by DavidL
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This Stuff Works Great!

I had received a sample of Drive Train Cleaner at a trade show and was very impressed with the sample. I wanted to buy more but I was actually finding many sites were sold out of it including MucOff. When BTD had it available I jumped on it. I use this in my chain cleaner and will also spray it on the cassette and chainrings. Everything comes out sparkly! A little goes a long way too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MWheeler

Reviewed 6/23/2022
by MWheeler
Canada
Overall Rating
Works perfectly

As expected, this stuff just works. Pretty wild to see how easily grime comes off your drivetrain

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nathan C

Reviewed 7/13/2018
by Nathan C
PDX
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Works great, worth reading the warnings

So even if it's biodegradable and natural, any easy cleaning cleanser is likely very strong and potentially harmful. I was surprised at how strong the handling instructions were.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by scappoose cowboy

Reviewed 5/24/2019
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
works, but let it soak in for awhile before cleaning

works ok, nothing special, it is a cleaner...

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]