Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Mr. Tuffy Standard Weight Tire Liner

Mr. TuffyStandard Weight Tire Liner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(9)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(77%)
(19%)
(2%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 6/16/2019
by Gio
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Used This Tire Liner Product on Multiple Bikes Over 25 years

I've used Mr. Tuffy tire liner products on both a road bike and mountain bike for over 25 years and have generally been satisfied with the product's quality and usefulness. However, it's still possible for a Mr. Tuffy tire liner to inadvertently puncture a tube.

This manufacturer's tire liner will generally block small, sharp items like a piece of broken glass from puncturing a tube, but the liner won't stop a larger, sharp piece of broken glass or any type of nail, for example. Also, given that the liner is supposed to be seated in the middle of the tire, don't expect protection for the tire's sidewall.

The manufacturer's claim that their tire liner will Absolutely, Positively not cause tube damage isn't true.

When installed, the tire liner must be seated directly over the tube and generally centered in place all the way around the inside of the tire wall. This process remains difficult to achieve perfectly so that the tire liner is seated correctly. Frankly, it's nearly impossible to get both the tube and tire liner properly seated together, especially when re-mounting a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model. There's a slick, slippery finish to the tire liner that makes it difficult to keep in place while attempting to position a tube. So, the tire liner moves around a bit, can end up not being centered over the tube, and is instead pushed off to either side of the tire, and therefore may end up with a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner.

If there's a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner, the end of the bend or crimp forms a small, V-like point that rubs a hole in the tube and causes a flat. Mr. Tuffy tire liners previously had hard edges that historically caused flats. A significant improvement was the softening of the tire liner's edges so that flats wouldn't occur. However, a bend or crimp in a tire liner not perfectly seated can cause a punctured tube.

I bought a set of Mr. Tuffy tire liners in May, installed them in June, and new tubes in both my front and rear tires were punctured by a small, V-like point at the end of the bend or crimp in the tire liner. I've never had this happen before. I'm not happy that it cost me approximately $16.00 for two new tubes.

Nevertheless, I ride through a lot road debris on Pacific Coast Highway in southern California, and still believe this is a worthwhile product when its installation if achieved perfectly such that the tire liner is centered and seated correctly all the way around the tire.

I use the Mr. Tuffy tire liners inside a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model on a 700x23 wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Charles
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
They work

I've been using tire liners on my bikes for 25 years. In that time I've had two flats, one road the other mountain. Before that I was having flats all the time on my road bike. One of the best investments you can make as a cyclist. I prefer them greatly over tire sealer which I have also used. Install them and forget them, unlike sealer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2020
by PZT
Queens, NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tube saviors!

I was getting flats nearly every other ride earlier this year so I decided to try a set of Mr. Tuffys. They�re a little tricky to install (thanks YouTube) but I have had no flats since from the little bits of glass and metal shavings strewn all over NYC streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2019
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, but not totally goathead proof

Fall is goathead season in southern California. I had 6 or 7 punctures on my road bike in two or three rides, so I installed Mr. Tuffy's with a new set of tires. All was good...for a while. This morning I had two flats...one front, one rear, and in both cases the dreaded goatheads pierced the tires, Mr, Tuffy's, and tubes. They repel 95% of them, but after my experience this morning, I realize there is no 100% protection from the dreaded goatheads, short of armor plating. But they can probably penetrate that, too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2019
by Gio
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
25 Years of Experience with This Product, Slippery Finish On Product Is An Issue

I've used Mr. Tuffy tire liner products on both a road bike and mountain bike for over 25 years and have generally been satisfied with the product's quality and usefulness. However, it's still possible for a Mr. Tuffy tire liner to inadvertently puncture a tube.

This manufacturer's tire liner will generally block small, sharp items like a piece of broken glass from puncturing a tube, but the liner won't stop a larger, sharp piece of broken glass or any type of nail, for example. Also, given that the liner is supposed to be seated in the middle of the tire, don't expect protection for the tire's sidewall.

The manufacturer's claim that their tire liner will Absolutely, Positively not cause tube damage isn't true.

When installed, the tire liner must be seated directly over the tube and generally centered in place all the way around the inside of the tire wall. This process remains difficult to achieve perfectly so that the tire liner is seated correctly. Frankly, it's nearly impossible to get both the tube and tire liner properly seated together, especially when re-mounting a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model. There's a much slicker, slippery finish to the 2019 Mr. Tuffy tire liner product I received that makes it difficult to keep it in place while attempting to also position a tube. So, the tire liner moves around a bit, can end up not being centered over the tube, and is instead pushed off to either side of the tire, and therefore may end up with a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner.

If there's a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner, the end of the bend or crimp forms a small, V-like point that slowly rubs a hole in the tube and causes a flat. Mr. Tuffy tire liners previously had hard edges that historically caused flats. A significant improvement was the subsequent softening of the tire liner's edges so that flats wouldn't occur. However, a bend or crimp in a tire liner not perfectly seated can cause a slow leak and eventual punctured tube.

I bought a set of Mr. Tuffy tire liners in May, installed them in June, and new tubes in both my front and rear tires were punctured by a small, V-like point at the end of the bend or crimp in the tire liner. Today, July 16, the Mr. Tuffy tire liner rubbed another hole into a new tube because the liner slid out of its centered position and its edge became a point that punctured the tube. I've never had this happen before, and at this frequency, with a Mr. Tuffy tire liner product. I'm not happy that it cost me approximately $24.00 for three new tubes.

Nevertheless, I ride through a lot road debris on Pacific Coast Highway in southern California, and still believe this is a worthwhile product when its installation is achieved perfectly suc

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2019
by TREKKER 60915
Daily Commuter
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Provides extra protection from thorns glass other sharp objects you unexpectedly run over.

I commute to work six days a week weather permitting. I have three bikes with electric motor kits and do a lot of riding. Put tuffy tire liners in my tires haven't had a flat since. Had several flats before that. Good product. I ride 14 miles to work round trip daily. Plus other errand's everyday.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2020
by Tom P.
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An old standard that still works.

Installed in my son's commuter bike - he swears by it. Easy to install and pretty light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Bcyspec
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Really works

I use these on my road bike and I haven't had a flat yet. I was having a lot of problems with those little wires from blown racial truck tires. I use gator tires with these inside, by the way they were easy to install. I check the tires to get the wires out as often as I can and this works well for me. Remember if you don't get the wires out occasionally they will work their way thru to the tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2018
by Rick26h
Cycling Enthusiast
Patchogue, New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding Product

I do a lot of trail riding before I installed the tire liners I was prone to constant flat tires due to thorns, now I get none.. Great product, try it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2015
by Chilly D
North Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The ses

Great for keeping the air in your tubes. I my case, they paid for themselves in about a week, not having to change a tube every dace.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2018
by BailedOut
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great insurance policy

I've had my set of liners for three years now, and no flats. At least until I split a over-worn tire 15 miles from home. Despite the large hole in the middle of the tire, I replaced the tube and the Mr. Tuffy llner, and that got me home with just the liner between the road and the tube. Highly recommended if you hate flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2014
by Long Distance Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This is a great product for preventing flats

I am a long distance cyclist. Installed Mr. Tuffy and have ridden three 500 milers and not one flat. This is a great value. You must be a bit careful on installing the liners to make sure they are seated properly but this is not a big deal. I have this product on all my bikes and no flats!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

I have worn tires down to the threads before with these in them and not had flats, nor did I even notice how thin the tires were since I usually start noticing the tires are getting worn when I start getting flats. Cuts out flats from punctures even when the tires are getting pretty worn and you usually start getting flats.

You still have to keep your tires pumped up regularly though since they do not stop pinch flats, as well as use the standard caution while installing tires to be sure you don't pinch the tube upon installing the tiretube (i.e. punctures are not the only source of flats, which some people may not know...)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/15/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works as intended.

I have been using liners for many years now and very rarely get flats. The additional weight of the liners are not that noticeable and the peace of mind far outweighs the 50g per wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
No more flats!

I haven't gotten a flat since I installed these tire liners. I ride over broken glass almost everyday. My bike does seem a little more difficult to pedal though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Jeff
Long Beach Ca
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
If you hate flats. Use these liners

I have old Schwinn vintage bikes that have very limited tire selection. The tires do not have the new puncture resistance rubber so these liners are great so any glass will not give you a flat. I use these liners on all my bikes and ride about a 100 miles a week. Each time I have to dodge a broken glass field and other bikers just go pop and whistle as their tires go flat I have only had one flat with these liners from a large piece of glass after about 6000 miles. These liners will last for 3 or 4 tires so it is a small cost to prevent flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2014
by noxbob
Cycling Enthusiast
Sitka, alaska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Stop Buying Tubes !

I had a problem with my winter tires. The studs some how were punturing my tubes . Mr Tuffy tire liners solved the problem. good to go !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
They're Great

I do mostly rides of 30 to 40 miles The last thing I want is flat and these liners cut the chances down a lot Rarely do a get a flat due to a puncture

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2013
by Rod
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas Hill Country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
A must have for MTB riders in goathead country!

If you ride in goathead country, and are tired of dealing with the mess of sealants like Slime, then, hello. I have been through countless goathead experiences. I have even taken tubes, cut off the valve stem, slit the tube on the innerside and used it as a shield between the tire carcass and the functioning tube filled with Slime, which makes your bike weigh a ton. No more folks! These babies are cleaner and lighter, and really work! Thank you Mr. Tuffy!

Upon installation, just place the still rolled-up Mr. Tuffy inside the tire carcass, and unroll it inside the tire, then insert the partially inflated tube to hold it in place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2018
by Ricky
Bronx
Overall Rating
Great liner

Tough liner...easy to install and on all my bikes.

Will buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 34