Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Mr. Tuffy Standard Weight Tire Liner

Mr. TuffyStandard Weight Tire Liner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(9)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(16%)
(3%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 6/16/2019
by Gio
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Used This Tire Liner Product on Multiple Bikes Over 25 years

I've used Mr. Tuffy tire liner products on both a road bike and mountain bike for over 25 years and have generally been satisfied with the product's quality and usefulness. However, it's still possible for a Mr. Tuffy tire liner to inadvertently puncture a tube.

This manufacturer's tire liner will generally block small, sharp items like a piece of broken glass from puncturing a tube, but the liner won't stop a larger, sharp piece of broken glass or any type of nail, for example. Also, given that the liner is supposed to be seated in the middle of the tire, don't expect protection for the tire's sidewall.

The manufacturer's claim that their tire liner will Absolutely, Positively not cause tube damage isn't true.

When installed, the tire liner must be seated directly over the tube and generally centered in place all the way around the inside of the tire wall. This process remains difficult to achieve perfectly so that the tire liner is seated correctly. Frankly, it's nearly impossible to get both the tube and tire liner properly seated together, especially when re-mounting a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model. There's a slick, slippery finish to the tire liner that makes it difficult to keep in place while attempting to position a tube. So, the tire liner moves around a bit, can end up not being centered over the tube, and is instead pushed off to either side of the tire, and therefore may end up with a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner.

If there's a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner, the end of the bend or crimp forms a small, V-like point that rubs a hole in the tube and causes a flat. Mr. Tuffy tire liners previously had hard edges that historically caused flats. A significant improvement was the softening of the tire liner's edges so that flats wouldn't occur. However, a bend or crimp in a tire liner not perfectly seated can cause a punctured tube.

I bought a set of Mr. Tuffy tire liners in May, installed them in June, and new tubes in both my front and rear tires were punctured by a small, V-like point at the end of the bend or crimp in the tire liner. I've never had this happen before. I'm not happy that it cost me approximately $16.00 for two new tubes.

Nevertheless, I ride through a lot road debris on Pacific Coast Highway in southern California, and still believe this is a worthwhile product when its installation if achieved perfectly such that the tire liner is centered and seated correctly all the way around the tire.

I use the Mr. Tuffy tire liners inside a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model on a 700x23 wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2022
by Mitch Rein
Casual Cyclist
NM high desert
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install and much neater than other options

I've used Mr. Tuffy liners for years now. Started out with the "slime" products that you squirt into the tube and found that a leak would cause a mess that was more trouble to deal with than just patching the tire. After I started using the Tuffys, flats have virtually disappeared. They come in a variety of sizes, but are easy to trim to shape with a pair of sharp scissors so you can get the perfect fit. Long lasting, to boot. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
minneapolis, mn
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
actually thought would work better than it has, tires felt like the roll changed slightly

1st time used this, trying to reduce number of punctures. lots more junk in our streets than used to be. still have the product and actually still had a puncture from a center of tire (continental gatorskin) from a thorn. kind of mixed on this, believe it might move around the tire a bit more and I inflate before every ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2021
by Clean Nails in Tucson
Casual Cyclist
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No more flats! And no need to be technical to use.

I fixed a lot of bikes in my 20s, but now I'm 40, and I like having clean nails and dislike bending over for too long. Anyway, this worked to fix my husband's issue with flats and didn't require any goop or valve-stem removal or anything like that. We live in AZ and his first day commuting 5 blocks to work he got 4 holes from dreaded goat heads. And since we added these, he's had no flats in 2 months of commuting (though the goat heads are still there, trust me). So, these work great. Here's how I dealt with adding them to the tire:

1. Put one beaded edge of the tire in the rim.

2. Added the liner into the tire. I tried to hold it there with Scotch tape, which didn't work well because the liners are so slick. Duct tape would have worked better, so try that.

3. Fit the tube into the tire.

4. Squash the other beaded edge of the tire into the rim.

Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/2/2021
by crunch
Daily Commuter
portland, or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Flat proof....no Flat resistant...YES

i have been using these liners for several years now and very happy with the results. Provided the tires are inflated properly the flats i do get are ones I deserve for example pulling out a 3 inch staple from my tire or other. these guys are really good and happy with the result. flat proof....no? Flat resistant.... yes.

I have read that some have challenges installing them, but its quite simple if you lay the rim flat after the tire is partially mounted and insert the liner and then tube. no big deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Charles
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
They work

I've been using tire liners on my bikes for 25 years. In that time I've had two flats, one road the other mountain. Before that I was having flats all the time on my road bike. One of the best investments you can make as a cyclist. I prefer them greatly over tire sealer which I have also used. Install them and forget them, unlike sealer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2022
by Vern Hickey
Hope Mills,NC
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best invention for avoiding flats ever!!

Have been using these since I first found them on Bike Nashbar co. in the mid 1980s. Never a flat since and I even lived off my 10-speed for three years when my car crapped out in LA. These even held air when I skidded through glass and worn out enough tread where the protector could be seen and it still held air enough to pedal home.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2021
by Janet S.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not one flat

Bought this to use for a Florida bike trip that involved lots of shoulder miles and bits of vital strength around as well. No flats at all during the ride (others not so fortunate)! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2021
by WILLIAM
Klamath Falls,Or.
Overall Rating
I have bought 2 sizes for my 26

All i can say is i have not had a flat since i installed my Mr.Tuffys on any of my bikes.A LOT LESS FLATS PEOPLE...if any at all to me!!! Great products at great prices coming from (biketiresdirect.com).I love it because i usually recieve my stuff in 3 days.Less flats people,less flats!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install and prevents flats!!!

Use Mr. Tuffy in my mountain bikes for trail riding to prevent blackberry thorns from puncturing. I also convert on of my mountain bikes for winter when I install road tires but keep the Mr. Tuffy in to prevent punctures from road debris.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2019
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, but not totally goathead proof

Fall is goathead season in southern California. I had 6 or 7 punctures on my road bike in two or three rides, so I installed Mr. Tuffy's with a new set of tires. All was good...for a while. This morning I had two flats...one front, one rear, and in both cases the dreaded goatheads pierced the tires, Mr, Tuffy's, and tubes. They repel 95% of them, but after my experience this morning, I realize there is no 100% protection from the dreaded goatheads, short of armor plating. But they can probably penetrate that, too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2019
by Gio
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
25 Years of Experience with This Product, Slippery Finish On Product Is An Issue

I've used Mr. Tuffy tire liner products on both a road bike and mountain bike for over 25 years and have generally been satisfied with the product's quality and usefulness. However, it's still possible for a Mr. Tuffy tire liner to inadvertently puncture a tube.

This manufacturer's tire liner will generally block small, sharp items like a piece of broken glass from puncturing a tube, but the liner won't stop a larger, sharp piece of broken glass or any type of nail, for example. Also, given that the liner is supposed to be seated in the middle of the tire, don't expect protection for the tire's sidewall.

The manufacturer's claim that their tire liner will Absolutely, Positively not cause tube damage isn't true.

When installed, the tire liner must be seated directly over the tube and generally centered in place all the way around the inside of the tire wall. This process remains difficult to achieve perfectly so that the tire liner is seated correctly. Frankly, it's nearly impossible to get both the tube and tire liner properly seated together, especially when re-mounting a Michelin Pro 4 Endurance tire model. There's a much slicker, slippery finish to the 2019 Mr. Tuffy tire liner product I received that makes it difficult to keep it in place while attempting to also position a tube. So, the tire liner moves around a bit, can end up not being centered over the tube, and is instead pushed off to either side of the tire, and therefore may end up with a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner.

If there's a small bend or crimp in the edge of the tire liner, the end of the bend or crimp forms a small, V-like point that slowly rubs a hole in the tube and causes a flat. Mr. Tuffy tire liners previously had hard edges that historically caused flats. A significant improvement was the subsequent softening of the tire liner's edges so that flats wouldn't occur. However, a bend or crimp in a tire liner not perfectly seated can cause a slow leak and eventual punctured tube.

I bought a set of Mr. Tuffy tire liners in May, installed them in June, and new tubes in both my front and rear tires were punctured by a small, V-like point at the end of the bend or crimp in the tire liner. Today, July 16, the Mr. Tuffy tire liner rubbed another hole into a new tube because the liner slid out of its centered position and its edge became a point that punctured the tube. I've never had this happen before, and at this frequency, with a Mr. Tuffy tire liner product. I'm not happy that it cost me approximately $24.00 for three new tubes.

Nevertheless, I ride through a lot road debris on Pacific Coast Highway in southern California, and still believe this is a worthwhile product when its installation is achieved perfectly suc

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2019
by TREKKER 60915
Daily Commuter
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Provides extra protection from thorns glass other sharp objects you unexpectedly run over.

I commute to work six days a week weather permitting. I have three bikes with electric motor kits and do a lot of riding. Put tuffy tire liners in my tires haven't had a flat since. Had several flats before that. Good product. I ride 14 miles to work round trip daily. Plus other errand's everyday.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Stops the relentess goatheads

I was getting flat tires almost every day from the late summer goatheads in NM. Then I put in this tire liner and I haven't had a flat in months!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Bcyspec
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Really works

I use these on my road bike and I haven't had a flat yet. I was having a lot of problems with those little wires from blown racial truck tires. I use gator tires with these inside, by the way they were easy to install. I check the tires to get the wires out as often as I can and this works well for me. Remember if you don't get the wires out occasionally they will work their way thru to the tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2020
by PZT
Queens, NY
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tube saviors!

I was getting flats nearly every other ride earlier this year so I decided to try a set of Mr. Tuffys. They�re a little tricky to install (thanks YouTube) but I have had no flats since from the little bits of glass and metal shavings strewn all over NYC streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2020
by Tom P.
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
An old standard that still works.

Installed in my son's commuter bike - he swears by it. Easy to install and pretty light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2015
by Chilly D
North Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The ses

Great for keeping the air in your tubes. I my case, they paid for themselves in about a week, not having to change a tube every dace.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2014
by Long Distance Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
This is a great product for preventing flats

I am a long distance cyclist. Installed Mr. Tuffy and have ridden three 500 milers and not one flat. This is a great value. You must be a bit careful on installing the liners to make sure they are seated properly but this is not a big deal. I have this product on all my bikes and no flats!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

I have worn tires down to the threads before with these in them and not had flats, nor did I even notice how thin the tires were since I usually start noticing the tires are getting worn when I start getting flats. Cuts out flats from punctures even when the tires are getting pretty worn and you usually start getting flats.

You still have to keep your tires pumped up regularly though since they do not stop pinch flats, as well as use the standard caution while installing tires to be sure you don't pinch the tube upon installing the tiretube (i.e. punctures are not the only source of flats, which some people may not know...)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 77

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]