Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Michelin Protek Cross 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek Cross 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(22%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/2/2023
by Anonymous
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy but easy rolling

I installed the 1.6 x 26 on my old mountain bike which is used primarily for street riding. It is advertised as 1.6 inches in width but is more like 1.75. It is a heavy tire but appears very sturdy. It rolls smoothly yet is able to absorb the shock from some of the rough roads on my daily ride. The tread will work on hard pack and gravel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/1/2023
by Anonymous
SF Bay
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They roll well on pavement and grip well on sand

This is the older tread pattern of the Michelin Protek. The newer one looks like it is aimed at mostly pavement � with shallow sipes for water deflection and a smooth rolling surface. This one is a better fit for where I ride. My commute gives me the option of pavement or sandy trails, without much rain. On pavement these tires do well enough � they roll quietly, so there cannot be that much power lost to squirm. But they also have enough grip to push through sand when I take the trails. I like them. No flats yet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/5/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
awesomeness

Super smooth tire, grips well, fast shipping, great price, thanks bike tires direct

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BG

Reviewed 9/4/2023
by BG
Delaware beaches
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Installed easily, look great

Bought these for a pair of 20 year old bikes we keep at the beach. They replaced the original partially rotting tires that served valiantly in the salty ocean air. Tires installed easily and look great. Probably doubled the value of the bikes with the new tires and tubes. Hoping to get another 20 years out of them and me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Flak

Reviewed 7/20/2023
by Flak
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good all purpose, trail and paved surfaces, bullet proof, kinda heavy

Mounted on my all-purpose 26 inch hard fork/hard tail fitness and commute mtn bike. Bulletproof, great traction on all surfaces including crushed limestone and sand trails, absorbs some shock as it's semi-fat. I run other, lighter, narrower Michelin tires on competition bike. I'm 5'11" and 220 so a little more weight on trail/commute tires isn't a factor.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stan

Reviewed 2/3/2022
by Stan
SW Florida
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Rides really well and does not feel like it requires more effort than the slick tire it replaced!

In south west Florida the trails are asphalt with areas covered with sand, so far I have not had any instances where the tires have failed to maintain their grip. Also, property owners are required to provide the sidewalks, but many are grandfathered out of the requirement and it is good to have some tread to navigate the sand paths that result. The reflective strip is also asset considering the lack of streetlights. Instalation was a snap and the product's quality is obvious.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/26/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Sturdy, but at cost

This has a well designed thread pattern for "go every where" purpose. I bought a pair to be used as my city bike. The writings on the wall of the tire indicate the tire is designed for e-bikes, which, in theory, should not make any difference in fit and use. I believe the designers had sturdiness in mind with thicker tire material to resist puncture. However, the sturdiness came at a cost... its weight. This may not matter much on an e-bike which you don't need to worry too much about pedaling, but it does to a regular bike to some degree if you are someone like me...a picky person. I just thought there was big difference between the one I was replacing with this one. Otherwise, it should give a long tread life. I also like its reflective side wall stripes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bagel Bob

Reviewed 7/3/2023
by Bagel Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A great city tire

I put these on a high end mountain bike. It will be used for city trails and hard pack so these were the perfect replacement for the big knobbys the bike came with.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Drew

Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Drew
Casual Cyclist
south east Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
excellent customer service

I needed new tires after a blow out on my front tire , I ordered these tires ,but was having a hard time getting them on the rim correctly . these tires have a reflector strip and it was clear that the stripe wasn't even . I didn't have any experience with changing tires , so I thought maybe I ordered the wrong tire for my rims . I called the help line and someone answered on the first ring. Unbelievable . In a few minutes the technician assured me the tires were correct and told me what I was doing wrong. Problem solved . I have over 300 miles on them with no problems .Good traction on hard gravel bike path and I was surprised how well these rolled compared to my old tires

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Dime size gravel is pushing it ????

So far...150 or so miles on a 100cc 2-stroke equipped '99 Magna. Whether it's tarmac or dime-size gravel country roads. At 30-40mph the gravel is giving you a slight squiggle in the rear. WEEEE!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OldGeezer

Reviewed 6/16/2023
by OldGeezer
Casual Cyclist
Northern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A perfect fit for my TREK bike.

Good option to replace the hybrid road/mountain bike tires. Good for street and light off road use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jwoiton

Reviewed 6/21/2022
by Jwoiton
Seattle
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires at a great price!

I'm converting an old mountain bike into a city commuter and the first thing to go was the knobbies. BTD had a good selection at a better price than other sites I could name, and delivery was fast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 11/15/2019
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain View, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great heavy city bike tire

This is a great heavy-duty city bike tire. I put a pair of the 1.6 tires on a bike for my parents, and I liked them so much I bought another pair for my around town bike. I also took them on a 15 mile gravel ride and they performed well on dry fire roads. The tread rolls quietly on pavement. The only down side is that the tires are quite heavy and it gives the bike a slightly sluggish feel compared to a racing tire, but hopefully it will make up for that in puncture resistance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kcfirl

Reviewed 11/8/2019
by kcfirl
Casual Cyclist
Carmichael, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent around town and good on dirt and gravel.

I purchased these tires for my sons bike and his rides to school, the park, and the Dollar Store and taco Bell. All are about 1.5 miles away and mostly paved with some dirt and gravel. He could not be happier with them and they seem to be lasting extremely well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dave140c

Reviewed 5/23/2022
by dave140c
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I Love these Tires!

I love these tires. They are reasonably light for the size, the tread design is excellent, they roll as smooth as silk, and they are super round! The reflective side stripe not only provides a safety benefit, but looks super sharp as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff Woiton

Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Jeff Woiton
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great! Converting MTB to a city commuter

Shipped sooner than expected, which only meant one last ride on the old knobbies to buy tubes. They installed easy enough, speed and weight improvements are noticeably favorable. Pleasantly surprised by the reflective sidewall strips! Today I'll get to check their performance in the rain!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by D. Nelson

Reviewed 7/11/2019
by D. Nelson
Casual Cyclist
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for my pedal assist roadtrail bike.

I wanted a narrower tire for my pedal assist electric bike that would work well on both roads and rail trails. I had been using a 1.75 inch width mountain bike tire that was wearing out and I wanted something lighter but still substantial and a little wider than a 1.5 inch tire. This is it. The extra width and tread pattern have worked out great for my recreational rides each week. I can ride on the flat with the motor turned off and use less power for many of the hills in the area to enure I get good exercise. At the same time, I can always ride, even if I am a little tired or under the weather or face steeper hills since I can crank up the pedal assist whenever I want.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Team H.

Reviewed 4/9/2022
by Team H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Laguna Beach
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for Commuting

I put the 1.6 tires on my commuter bike. They were about the same size as the 1.75 tires they replaced. Very easy to mount, not too tight, but no slop. Perfect size, and obvious quality. The price was a terrific value, too. Reflective strip looks great and a huge plus for safety. Fast and smooth rolling. Totally happy with these tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/11/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire for around town and gravel biking

Bought these tires for my 'town bike', which I've since converted to a gravel bike (by switching out the handlebar & adding panniers). Just did the 109 mile gravel bike tour of the Michelson Trail in South Dakota. The tires did great on the packed gravel surface!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MetaNeuralNetwork

Reviewed 10/11/2021
by MetaNeuralNetwork
Casual Cyclist
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Rugged, well built tire

Great tread design and tough all around tire. Has a sharp look to it as well.

The one caveat is that the tires are quite a bit heavy. For a pure street bike, I'd look elsewhere. But if you spend considerable time on pavement and in light gravel, these are an excellent choice!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]