Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Protek Cross 26 Inch Tire

MichelinProtek Cross 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(23 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(65%)
(30%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/15/2019
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain View, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great heavy city bike tire

This is a great heavy-duty city bike tire. I put a pair of the 1.6 tires on a bike for my parents, and I liked them so much I bought another pair for my around town bike. I also took them on a 15 mile gravel ride and they performed well on dry fire roads. The tread rolls quietly on pavement. The only down side is that the tires are quite heavy and it gives the bike a slightly sluggish feel compared to a racing tire, but hopefully it will make up for that in puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2019
by kcfirl
Casual Cyclist
Carmichael, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent around town and good on dirt and gravel.

I purchased these tires for my sons bike and his rides to school, the park, and the Dollar Store and taco Bell. All are about 1.5 miles away and mostly paved with some dirt and gravel. He could not be happier with them and they seem to be lasting extremely well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by D. Nelson
Casual Cyclist
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for my pedal assist roadtrail bike.

I wanted a narrower tire for my pedal assist electric bike that would work well on both roads and rail trails. I had been using a 1.75 inch width mountain bike tire that was wearing out and I wanted something lighter but still substantial and a little wider than a 1.5 inch tire. This is it. The extra width and tread pattern have worked out great for my recreational rides each week. I can ride on the flat with the motor turned off and use less power for many of the hills in the area to enure I get good exercise. At the same time, I can always ride, even if I am a little tired or under the weather or face steeper hills since I can crank up the pedal assist whenever I want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by Richard
Daily Commuter
Oregon Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
High quality tire fits my needs

This tread design is very adaptable to road conditions. I am wary of any slick flat tread designs because of the frequent wet weather in my town, but these tires have adequate grip. Easy to install. I trust the Michelin brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eureka CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Michelin Protek tire is an excellent choice

Michelin Protek Cross 26 tire- is an excellent choice because it's durable, rides smoothly and attracts the eye which is good for safety. Its very good value for the money and a long lasting tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2017
by Nezzy
North Carolina
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Dgneizmikgmail

I was looking for tires to replace the tires i wore out on my Trek 4300, and these tires are fantastic. Extremely free rolling on pavement and amazing off road,where I ride this bike most. Couldn't be happier!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2019
by Jazz
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana&40summer&41 Florida &40winter&41
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great compant to deal with.

Replaced 2 inch wide tires rated for 60 with these tires. The new tires are rated for 87 p.s.i. I am currently running 80 p.s.i. in the tires. I have logged around 80 miles in the last week. The tires have great grip, but are also very smooth and quiet. I would highly recommend these tires. I do not ride at night, but the reflective sidewalls look great on a black bike.Jazz

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by SPRacer
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Street Tires without the worry of punctures!

I mostly used this tire for City riding and average 15 mile daily. I have only had these tires for a few months and always have had a smooth & fast ride. So far I have not found anything that I dislike about these tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by AVROE
Casual Cyclist
Vermont, New England.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Michelins just as good on a bike as an automobile.

I use these Michelins on a Fuji bike. I like everything about them. These Michelin bike tires are far superior to other brand tires just like Michelin & Nokian automotive tires are to other brand automotive tires. I ride primarily on resurrected rail trails and these are great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
boston, ma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice smooth ride

Replace knobby tires on wife's Mtn Bike. These tires are pretty substantial but offer a really nice smooth ride. I got the 1.85 version so they almost look like Cruiser tires. The reflective sidewalls are a nice touch. Overall very happy with the purchase

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
palo alto
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
strong multipurpose tire

Seems like a very good tire both for paved and unpaved surfaces, but be aware that 1.6 refers to the width of the tire. The tire is 2.1 high making for clearance problems on some bikes (including the one I intended to use it on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2018
by Bruce Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty good tire but not totally puncture proof

A good looking, smooth rolling tire.

I mounted a pair on my Cruzbike T50 and withing the 1st block I had a flat.

A tiny glass shard had gotten through.

Since then I have put appx. 400 miles on them on not another puncture.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Philadelphia Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire for Both Pavement and Off-Road

My bicycle is a few years old, so I was somewhat limited in my new tire choices, however, these tires are proving to be just right. They roll smoothly on the pavement and hold up really well on off-road terrain. I ride across rocky dirt paths as well as roads and sidewalks. I'm very happy with this set!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2018
by Anonymous
wisconsin
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Bought these for a mtn bike I am turning into a commuter.

Great tires! So far have ridden in spring snowslush, rain and gravel. Would ride them anywhere.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for converting moutain bike to street riding

This is the first time Ive used the mountain bike for commuting, and these tires make it possible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2017
by Mike,65age
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent rolling hi-Pressure tire for Mtbs,Hybrids,Road.Smooth and grippy,rain or sun.

I repair a lot of Bikes run a small repair shop.Ive changed peoples views on these smooth rolling,nice riding,go anywhere tires w flat protection.The Very Visable reflective stripe lights up at night over 200ft away.Safety in rain,dry,snow traction.Best buy on Fast rolling replacement tires that may Surprise you.Mtbs will fly over off-road knobbies.Hybrid,comfort bikes will be in fact more Comfortable all around.Best tire Ive found here for Up-Grading most stock tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atwater, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice looking and nice riding tire for backroads and hills,

Use the tires on backroads that are very poorly maintained and also quite hilly. Relatively smooth ride in spite of the road conditions. The tires are on an older Trek 820.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2017
by Rich
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great deal and great tire

I've put about 100 miles on these commuting to work on a paved trail. Smooth and quiet, just what i needed...and they roll much better than knobbies!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2017
by Mikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great replacement tires for commuters.Bright reflectivenight and easy to finger on.Tightfit rims well.

Very smooth rolling. Bright Reflective sidewalls .Road Protection built. Lots of tread,go anywhere confidence. I repair lots of bikes and steer my customers towards these for lasting easy to mount replacements on their MTBs. Hybrids,commuters. Dont cost a lot Superior ride brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2017
by Mikeys Bykes
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver Wash.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great replacement tires for commuters.Bright reflective and easy to finger on.Tight-fit rims well. Run 2mm larger.

Puncture protection, smooth and pretty fast aired up.Reflective stripe is bright easy to see 200ft. Fit rims and hand/finger on quite well.These run larger w/calipers by 1.5 to 1.8 - watch your frame width. Ride is smooth and quite an Improvement without spending a lot more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 04