Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Tire

MichelinPro4 Service Course Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(298 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(205)
(74)
(7)
(6)
(6)
(69%)
(25%)
(2%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 6/24/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle, Wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
These are great tires at a great price

I have these on my daily commuter bike and they handle great in all weather conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
I always go Michelin

I know there are other good tires but Michelin has always been my goto brand. These tires are no exception

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2017
by BKDeluxe
Competitive Racer
Leesburg, Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great race tire for the money!

I bought a pair of these for a recent foray back into road racing, and they're just as good as I remember from my collegiate days. Quick rolling, grippy (after a brief break-in period, maybe 50 miles or so), and nice and high volume. Would highly recommend for your racing needs!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2017
by Satriani
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul , MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire at an incredible value!

I ran Michelin Pro 2 tires for years on both of my road bikes and loved them, but the Pro 3s were extra difficult to get on and off the rims and seemed to result in flats more often then I had with the Pro 2s, so I moved away from them for a few years. I went back to the Pro 4s as they were on sale and I decided to give them a go. I was pleasantly surprised, they grip as good as ever, are much easier to apply and remove from the rims and the 4s are very durable and I got a couple thousand miles, at the least from the tires. This is a significant improvement. I was so impressed with the Pro 4s that they are once again my go to tire and I run them exclusively on my road bikes. The tire is great value and well worth the price. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2017
by David, OKC
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Overall Clincher Tire

Quite a tight fit new out-of-the-box, had to use tire irons the fit onto the rims. 'Not really hard on my tires, but these seem to be wearing fairly well, with good traction and handling. Excellent value when on sale from Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2017
by RB
Cycling Enthusiast
Simi Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
There are the only tires we currently use on our road bikes

Very grippy and excellent road tires. They wear out pretty fast but that is the trade off for good road tires that are light and grippy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
White color looks great, puncture resistant

I have a time trial bike with white accents, so I searched high and low for white-rimmed tires which were highly rated, light weight, and puncture resistant. I used to ride on Michelin Pro3 Race tires, and then switched to Continental Grand Prix Grand Prix 4000S. Now I'm back to Michelin Pro4 Service Course and I'm pleased with them so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Lake Stevens
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long Lasting Tires

I have these on two different Treks and they have yet to fail. These tires serve as my wife and my daily commuters.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
san francisco, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
roll out

great tires, great feel and handling. nice higher tpi feel for a clincher. i use these for road training as a bit of a luxury. there are other tires that give a good feel but last longer. i really like the feel for my longer rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by Slowzeak
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle,ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, fast, fast

Very fast tires, only a few Victtoria tires are faster. These tires are somewhat fragile however, and their longevity is not great. One of the best racing tires, but inspect them before every race. I personally would not buy these tires unless they are on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
600 miles and no problems.

I purchased a set of these a while back on sale. I usually ride conti 4000 S II. Got these only due to the sale price. After getting these I was reluctant to put them on my spare road bike because of all the bad reviews. After 600 miles I have yet to have any problems or flats. Perhaps I received a set from the good batch released? I was really expecting the worst but now I must say I'm happy I put them on and got a good sale price on them. I ride on well maintained roads for the most part.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by katie
Cycling Enthusiast
Bakersfield, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
best tires ever!

I have been temped by other tires in the past including the tubeless ones, only to be extremely disappointed. I love my Michelin Pro tires -- I started with these at the recommendation of a friend for durable tires that were easy to change a flat with. They are long lasting and 15 years later I am still using them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2016
by JW
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Zero Durability - Not Worth It

Bought for road riding in city group rides. They handle ok BUT I had a flat in less than 15 miles. It was a tiny piece of shell fragment that was probably in some light gravel. I was able to break the fragment between my thumb and fingernail,so it obviously wasn't very formidable of a road hazard. These tires don't stand up to much at all. This is the second pair of Michelin tires I've had problems with. I think I'm done with that brand for good. I had a $XX pair of Mavik Aksion on my bike before these and went for 2 years without a flat. The little bit of weight advantage these tires have is NOT WORTH having to buy a whole new set after one ride. Just be warned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Edd
Napa
Overall Rating
Michelin Pro4

Big fan, all round great tire. Great on high speed down hills. Hold road very nice.

A little bit dicey when cross water, but sheds it off rather quickly

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2016
by Steve
MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Flats and a blowout.

I had about 300 miles on these tires before I took them on a weeklong 450 mile tour. Neither tire survived the tour. The bead on the front tire separated from the side wall, causing a blowout. The rear suffered two punctures, one from a tiny piece of radial tire wire and another from a small shard of glass. The glass left a gash big enough to render the tire unusable. This is the second time I've bought Michelins and I've yet to have one reach 1,000 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2016
by Real Steel
Cycling Enthusiast
Garland, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
DO NOT BUY Michelin Pro 4 tires!!

I have purchased a total of 3 sets of Pro4 tires with ivory sidewalls from BTD. First set, no problems, so bought two more sets. Second set, tread separationcracking ALL THE WAY AROUND BOTH SIDES OF BOTH TIRES at less than 500 miles. Gave Michelin the benefit of the doubt, possible manufacturing anomaly? Pulled them off and mounted the third set. Front sidewall turned gummy, (but not the rear!!) and blew out a sidewall with less than 500 miles. I see that the ivory sidewalls are no longer an available choice of this tire by BTD - possibly too many complaints?? I now note other reviews complaining of tread separation and gummy sidewalls. I would strongly suggest that you NOT BUY AT ANY PRICE!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
A worthy tire for road use

I'm a weekend rider on reasonable roads, and these tyres do exactly what I need them to do. No punctures in a year, and they feel fine

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2016
by MA Oldtimer
Competitive Racer
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
OK all-rounder that doesn't excel at anything

Out of the box they ride nicer than GP4000Ss, since that seems to be the main comparison point. But they're no better in that regard than Bontrager R3s or R4s let alone Vittoria Corsas. My set of Pro4s lasted 3500 miles before I lost confidence and relegated them to the indoor trainer, at which they're doing a fine job. They only flatted a couple times over their lifespan and that was towards the end. I won't be buying another set because they're just not fast enough. Their rolling resistance is high compared to similarly priced tires, both in numerous tests you can find online and what I felt on the roads. Gp4000Ss, GP Supersonics, Vittoria Corsa CX and SL, Veloflex Corsa, and Bontrager R3 and R4 are all noticeably faster tires that don't give up much, or anything, in flat prevention or handling to the Pro4s. If you can get them for a really good price and your intent is to use them as a training or bad weather tire then they could be useful. Otherwise there are better tires out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2016
by CT high mileage
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
you couldn't pay me to ride these tires

Every person I know riding these tires flatted frequently and often last year. Probably 10 times the flat frequency of Schwalbe One, Vittoria Corsa, and Conti Grand Prix on the same roads at the same time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2015
by rodolfoguz20
Cycling Enthusiast
Flushear, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
To many flats spoil your ride

I just bought a set and never had so many flats in one day, I had the PR04 Endurance and never had to worry about a flat. they roll fast but punctures spoil your ride, never buy them again. Lasted less that 200 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 35

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]