Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Country Rock 26 Inch Tire

MichelinCountry Rock 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(95 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(69)
(23)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(73%)
(24%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Road Side Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Second time I purchased these tires. Reccomend converting from nobby tires for road and off rd

I purchased a second set of these tires when I replaced my Raleigh after the other bicycle was stolen. I ride a M60 for pavement and hard trails off road. M60 is no longer available but i found one that was nos. These tires are superior to keeping the knobby tires that come stock with the bike and others like it. I cannot add anything I don't like as the feed back instructions request. I am completely satisfied and i believe others would be too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by PeenerOneAlpha
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's a good tire for light duty dry or wet tarmac/grass/dusty stuff!

I prefer to use the WTB Gravel tires in the winter, but they were sold out and I tried these instead. My riding consists of wet and dry pavement, grass, and light dirty spots (single track, non-racing), and general city commutes. I'm impressed and have no complaints. I got a slightly wider tire to run lower pressure, and this thing really feels nice. It helps confidence in fast sections of my commute in the rain or slow places where I cross grassy wet fields.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Flats

Before getting these tires and matching Michelin C4 tubes I had two flats in two weeks. With these tires and tubes I've had no flats in 2,000 miles of bike trails, gravel, rocks, and occasional dirt.

I replaced 2.1" MTB tires. These are definitely better for the type of riding I do. The somewhat rounded 1.75" rides well on all surfaces. I haven't had any traction issues on gravel or damp asphalt. I'd like to try something similar in a 1.65" or maybe even a 1.5", but if you're on MTB tires and looking for something a bit more gravel/adventure-friendly, these tires are highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2009
by Tommy (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
99 of 107 customers found this review helpful.
The Perfect Commute Tire???????

Best way to turn a mountain bike into a street bike. Fast rolling and great puncture resistance. Surprisingly high traction rubber and great tread. When commuting on asphalt gets monotonous, this tire is perfect for the trails on the long way home.

-The Country Rock Is Awesome-

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2014
by DogFather
Cycling Enthusiast
Near Memphis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth with great wet traction

For what I got, I'm stunned at the low price. I replaced some old knobby tires on a MTB that I inherited and hated. Now I love it and I'm using it as a bad weathertouring bike for the days I don't want to risk using my road bike. I made four different enhancements to make the MTB a better street performer, but these tires have proven to be the 1 difference maker. I've taken them through some short patches of rough gravel and they handled it well. They obviously do well on wet grass, which they see a lot of. No problem cornering on pavement in the rain, I have a lot of confidence in them. Fully inflated they pose much lower rolling resistance than I had before, I've had no problem hitting 30mph, which is a big deal for me. Drop the pressure to 40 psi and you'll get a really soft, comfortable ride, if that's what you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2019
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling tire for pavement and hardpack

I've been riding these tires for over a year now, got them when I purchased a used steel frame rigid MTB from my local bike shop. These tires are fantastic! I run 60psi for the pavement and drop it down to 45psi for rougher dirt and gravel roads. They roll very easily on pavement, and are incredibly light compared to other 26x1.75 tires. Traction on hardpack dirt is great too. Handling starts to get sketchy in mud or wet sand though.

My only issue with these tires is the lack of puncture protection. The tread tends to pick up road debris in the grooves, and on several occasions I had a small piece of glass puncture the tire. A set of heavy duty tubes and a tire liner for the rear eliminated flats. Overall a great tire for using an old MTB as a commuter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Douglas K
805
Overall Rating
Bike Path Perfection

These replaced the balloon 2.5" tires on my bmx cruiser that were just too slow. The narrower 1.75", high psi, and grippy tread are optimal. Price was good too, very pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2021
by Telepathy1
Casual Cyclist
Fairfax
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Value. A smooth consistent ride.

I put these on my 59' Schwinn Jaguar with red rims. They look and perform beyond expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2021
by Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic value tire for vintage commuter conversions

This is a fantastic value, and a great tire for vintage MTB commuter conversions. Great grip, and a robust tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Seattle WA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Really great tires

These tires turned an old mountain bike into a super commuter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2016
by Northern rider
Daily Commuter
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
1000 miles on em

I have put 1000 miles on my Michelin CR's with excellent results in quality of ride and handling riding 5050 Dirt gravel asphalt concrete. They look and perform as brand new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by the frog48
Cycling Enthusiast
north east Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Choice

A safe yet versatile tire was needed for asphalt,, hard and loose dirt, and gravel but yet remain comfortable. I have found this tire the best to date for the more than average hybrid rider

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wash, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire! Great price!

Low rolling resistance, handles pretty high pressure, grippy rubber. reasonably light, carefully made. What's not to like? The junker bike I ride to work just got a lot easier to pedal. For 50% of the original msrp, I'm not too worried about it if these tires don't last forever. As others have pointed out, they may not resist flats as well as a more expensive tire with a kevlar layer. I'll take that chance though as my rides are on pretty good roads and close to home.

I fully expected to buy Kenda Kwest 193s (which the local bike share uses, very good very tough tires!), but then I saw these, and I've never been disappointed by Michelins, so that's what I got.

No regrets!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2016
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, smooth and cost efficient.

These are the perfect tires to change your mtb to a street ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2019
Fort Myers, FL
Overall Rating
Best tire for the road

I ride city streets and sidewalks 15-20 miles every day and these Country Rock tires still have the look of fairly new even months of that amount of use. Over the years I have had several pairs of Michelin tires and all held up extremely well with not only

Tread wear but puncture resistance s well... Cost for some may be an issue but trust me when I say theyre worth every single penny. I TRUST MICHELIN!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Gives a mountain bike road manners

Incredibly low rolling resistance compared to the old knobby tires, yet still provides enough traction on grass and soft dirt. At maximum PSI these tires do great on the road, at normal/average PSI they soften out the rough spots-take your pick. Sidewall is a little thin and flimsy, so I wouldn't recommend going much below 50 PSI, my tube got pinched on some rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2015
by thepiratemorgan
Casual Cyclist
Utica, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
The real deal for a right price!

Changed out deep aggressive knobby tires on my wife's Cannondale for something a little less aggressive and considerably less rolling resistance so the gal doesn't have to pedal her behind off. Well, her bike isn't quite a hybrid quite yet! These work perfectly for sidewalk riding and some light trail use. I wouldn't have go down a single track with these, but if you need to turn that monster, ahhhhh..... mountain (LOL), bike into something a little less mountainy and a little more streety, then these will work well and are priced right. I'm considering adding them to my Gary Fisher Tassajara as I'm not riding as much dirt mud trails much these days either, but I don't mind the extra pedal power required for the knobs, I need the exercise...LOL.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/1/2014
by Happy Team Angry
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Love these tires. My old ones are going stroung - bought new because of a rocking price!

I ride a hybrid on roads and gravel so I needed a tire that would get good rolling on hard surfaces and yet grip on looser stuff. Bought my first set over a year ago and probably have 800-1000 miles on them. They are going strong but this sale was too good to pass up. Only flats I have had were caused by two instances of very fine wire which I am told is common on resurfaced asphalt streets as they partially use recycled shredded car tires with steel belts.

I am happy to recommend www.biketiresdirect.com to my riding buddies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2014
by Tballance74
Casual Cyclist
Baltimore, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire for City Street Riding

Purchased a pair of these tires to replace some stock knobby tires on a full-size folding mountain bike that I use to commute to work. They make a huge difference in ride and comfort. Long lasting also. Will definitely buy another pair when it's time to replace the current pair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Willows,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This tire delivers what it promises.

I needed a tire to hit the paved trails, open roads, and graveled roads that are common where I live. Bought a set and ended up buying a second set for my wife's bike since they worked out so well for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 51

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]