Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Michelin Country Rock 26 Inch Tire

MichelinCountry Rock 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(107 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(80)
(24)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(22%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/1/2022
by Hesso
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocky Mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better Than Expected

My previous tire was the Schwalbe Big Ben on an older Giant Iguana MTB. Those had a nice forgiving feel to them which was important as I dropped the fairly low-end front shock in favor of a rigid fork.

These Michelin Country Rock (sounds like an oldies FM radio station), have just a tad less internal volume so perhaps just a little more rigid, but for the price (almost half of the Schwalbe) they have turned out to be a great value. The full width at the tread is about 1-5/8 (43mm) so a little narrower than the stated 1.75" width, but that makes them a little lighter than the Schwalbe.

All-in-all, a really good tire for the money and Bike Tires Direct got them shipped out in a timely manner as usual.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2022
by JGee
Traverse City MI
Overall Rating
Great choice for a gravel bike

Converted my rigid mountain bike to gravel / city use and I selected these. Roll really well and mount easily. Good quality and reasonable weight�and a great price! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great tire

Great tire for turning my mountain bike into a gravel cinder trail bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2022
by Kilken
Louisiana
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very good

Perfect tires for touring,pressurewise perfect threads for road and gravel and grass no surprises with losing traction while pulling gear on bike and attached Bob single wheel trailer,also long lasting no flats with Mr tuffy heavy duty tire liners,definitely my favorites.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2022
by Shaun
palos verdes
Overall Rating
Great commuter

My son uses these to bike to high school and around the neighborhood. They are lighter weight and a bit narrower than his old tires. He is riding packed gravel and paved roads. Great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2009
by Tommy (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
99 of 107 customers found this review helpful.
The Perfect Commute Tire???????

Best way to turn a mountain bike into a street bike. Fast rolling and great puncture resistance. Surprisingly high traction rubber and great tread. When commuting on asphalt gets monotonous, this tire is perfect for the trails on the long way home.

-The Country Rock Is Awesome-

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Road Side Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Second time I purchased these tires. Reccomend converting from nobby tires for road and off rd

I purchased a second set of these tires when I replaced my Raleigh after the other bicycle was stolen. I ride a M60 for pavement and hard trails off road. M60 is no longer available but i found one that was nos. These tires are superior to keeping the knobby tires that come stock with the bike and others like it. I cannot add anything I don't like as the feed back instructions request. I am completely satisfied and i believe others would be too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by PeenerOneAlpha
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It's a good tire for light duty dry or wet tarmac/grass/dusty stuff!

I prefer to use the WTB Gravel tires in the winter, but they were sold out and I tried these instead. My riding consists of wet and dry pavement, grass, and light dirty spots (single track, non-racing), and general city commutes. I'm impressed and have no complaints. I got a slightly wider tire to run lower pressure, and this thing really feels nice. It helps confidence in fast sections of my commute in the rain or slow places where I cross grassy wet fields.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2014
by DogFather
Cycling Enthusiast
Near Memphis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
28 of 28 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth with great wet traction

For what I got, I'm stunned at the low price. I replaced some old knobby tires on a MTB that I inherited and hated. Now I love it and I'm using it as a bad weathertouring bike for the days I don't want to risk using my road bike. I made four different enhancements to make the MTB a better street performer, but these tires have proven to be the 1 difference maker. I've taken them through some short patches of rough gravel and they handled it well. They obviously do well on wet grass, which they see a lot of. No problem cornering on pavement in the rain, I have a lot of confidence in them. Fully inflated they pose much lower rolling resistance than I had before, I've had no problem hitting 30mph, which is a big deal for me. Drop the pressure to 40 psi and you'll get a really soft, comfortable ride, if that's what you want.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Flats

Before getting these tires and matching Michelin C4 tubes I had two flats in two weeks. With these tires and tubes I've had no flats in 2,000 miles of bike trails, gravel, rocks, and occasional dirt.

I replaced 2.1" MTB tires. These are definitely better for the type of riding I do. The somewhat rounded 1.75" rides well on all surfaces. I haven't had any traction issues on gravel or damp asphalt. I'd like to try something similar in a 1.65" or maybe even a 1.5", but if you're on MTB tires and looking for something a bit more gravel/adventure-friendly, these tires are highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2021
by Stereoman
Casual Cyclist
Rockaway Beach
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Upgrade to my old MTB

Really great replacement to the larger Cruiser type tires I had. These are much better, smoother, quieter, more comfortable and faster. Sounds crazy but these tires made a huge improvement. Using on concrete boardwalk and the street.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2021
by Kirk005
Daily Commuter
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires!

Terrific price on a great general purpose tire. These were added to my Trek 990 Single Track (HT) to convert it to a gravel bike. Great option! They roll well, no flats, and can go pretty much everywhere. I really like them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Appalachia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are excellent multi purpose tires.

These tires are great all purpose tires. Air them up higher for pavement. Lower pressure for gravel, and off road. These are great gravel tires. Fast, while still having great traction. These are the best bang for the buck tire I have used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2021
by 80''s BMX
Texas
Overall Rating
Soft rubber, Fast Rolling, good grip

I replaced a set of 26"x 2.4" Radio tires off a 26" Radio Asura Dirt Jumper with a set of Michelin Country Rock Tires 26" x 1.75" I ride these on dirt jumps around berms and loose, powder dirt. Such a better tire. Good Job Michelin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2019
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling tire for pavement and hardpack

I've been riding these tires for over a year now, got them when I purchased a used steel frame rigid MTB from my local bike shop. These tires are fantastic! I run 60psi for the pavement and drop it down to 45psi for rougher dirt and gravel roads. They roll very easily on pavement, and are incredibly light compared to other 26x1.75 tires. Traction on hardpack dirt is great too. Handling starts to get sketchy in mud or wet sand though.

My only issue with these tires is the lack of puncture protection. The tread tends to pick up road debris in the grooves, and on several occasions I had a small piece of glass puncture the tire. A set of heavy duty tubes and a tire liner for the rear eliminated flats. Overall a great tire for using an old MTB as a commuter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
very satisfied

excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by bruceweiser
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockaway Beach
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent MTB upgrade

Very significant upgrade to the cruiser tires on my MTB.

The bike rides like new, smoother, quieter and faster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2021
by Old skcool rider
Lumberton NC
Overall Rating
Great tire for my old trek 930 singletrack

Smooth ride with good traction just a little noisy. Good deal all around

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Seattle WA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Really great tires

These tires turned an old mountain bike into a super commuter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2016
by Northern rider
Daily Commuter
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
1000 miles on em

I have put 1000 miles on my Michelin CR's with excellent results in quality of ride and handling riding 5050 Dirt gravel asphalt concrete. They look and perform as brand new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 53

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]