Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Velocita AR Gravel/Adventure Tire

MaxxisVelocita AR Gravel/Adventure Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(1)
(58%)
(17%)
(0%)
(17%)
(8%)
Reviewed 3/22/2021
by gloverb103
Competitive Racer
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and reliable gravel tire

A comfortable and reliable go-to for off-season training. Lasts quite a while by comparison and at 40c it's nice and comfortable on particularly rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2020
by Mithrilbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty fast rolling for a big tire

I use these tires on a gravel bike that I ride mostly on pavement with about 20% very rough or broken pavement, and occasional short gravel segments. They feel pretty light and roll smoothly on pavement. Only a whirring sound differentiates them from smooth road tires. No flats or cuts after about 500 miles of use. The rear tires seems to lose about 5psi overnight so I pump them up to 45 psi for each ride. The front tire does not lose as much although I don't see any sealant leakage or small cuts on either tire. On gravel they feel ok but not great. I have gone over some "washboard" gravel with small even bumps that shook the bike so hard I could barely hang on, so I don't go there any more. I am not an experienced gravel rider so I don't know if more beefy tread would help there, but these tires seem best for pavement/rough pavement but not rough gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2020
by JBJB
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Montana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Both tire developed bubbles under the tread.

Mounted a set of these tires using Orange seal endurance sealant. After 1000 miles the rear tire developed a bulge under the main body (where the rubber meets the road) of the tread. Replaced the tire with another Velocita I had in my supplies. Now after 2000 miles, the front tire also developed a bulge in the same location. These tires were ridden on the road, not over gravel. Both tires appeared slightly worn but still had good rubber left. Inflated to 40 psi front and 45 psi rear. Never buying theses again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2020
by David
Loma Linda
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Maxxis for life!

I run Maxxis exclusively on my mtb & gravels. I just built up a new Wolverine and thought I'd try a Rambler in front, Velocita at the rear. The Velocita's are fast! I get the grip I need with the front Rambler and great rolling quickness with the Velocita at the rear. After my rides I often pull out thick thorns from both tires since I'm in SoCal dry heat. They seal quickly with Stans just like the other reviewer states. I have never had a tire blowout and I run through some rowdy trails that give my full suspension mtb a run for it's money. Dear Maxxis Take my money

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Blister's everywhere

Rode a few gravel rides and the rear tire centerline blistered in eight places.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel tire

I'm very pleased that I switched to the Maxxis Velocita tires on my gravel bike. I ride on a hard compact surface with some gravel and find the tires perfect for this setting. The rolling resistance is outstanding, much better than prior knobby tires, yet the tire provides adequate traction in turns. So far, wear appears as expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2020
by Bend biker
Competitive Racer
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Large blisters formed on both tires within a week

Large blisters formed between the rubber and the casing on both tires within a week. One blister was too large to fit through the front fork. Returned to lbs for replacement. Fast light tires with surprising amount of grip. I will likely sell or give away the replacement. I cant trust them enough to be far away from home when a failure occurs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Old Timer
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NYS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great gravel & road tire

mountain bike ridden on small rural roads and gravel paths. Rolls easy on both surfaces. Relatively quiet on paved surface with good traction on gravel roads for moderate speeds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2020
by Brian B
indiana
Overall Rating
Great tire for my gravel bike

Swapped out the standard small

knob tires for the Velocita AR. Great tire for rough roughs ie chip n seal. Smooth rolling bigger volume tire. I really like them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
Fast rolling all purpose tire

Reviewing the 700x40 tire on a 23mm (internal) rim. Fast rolling general purpose tire that can be used on everything from gravel to pavement. Only condition to avoid is mud. The silkscreen version is highly flat resistant. The EXO version is more susceptible to flatting (even with Stans sealant, did get a piece of glass go thru tread and flat). If your daily rides includes lots of glass/debris, pick the silkscreen version. If you are mostly off-road and/or not riding thru urban areas with glass, the EXO rides a bit nicer (and is lighter).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
Best choice for smooth gravel or road use - 700x40 size reviewed

The Velocita is a great choice for light gravel and road use. It was easy to set up tubeless and relatively worry free. I did pick up a piece of glass that got some sealant seepage (Stans), but it sealed quickly and I only had to add a bit of air.

If you are looking for a relatively light, worry free and fast rolling tire this is a good choice. Downside, it does wear pretty quick. I got about 3000 miles out of the rear (front will likely get another 1000 miles).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2020
by Anonymous
New Mexico
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Surprisinging positive experience

when I bought my Giant Revolt Advanced 0 I thought the tires would be the first thing I would swap out. But after about 400 miles I am quite surprised by their performance over a variety of terrain. I ride gravel predominantly in the desert, and so I ride through a great deal of sand and rocks. Both hard packed and loose as well as rocky gravel. These tires roll very fast over all surfaces and are exceptionally fast on tarmac. I've had a number of mesquite thorns punctures that have been sealed by the Stans, thanks Stans. But they have stood up to rocks quite well and have handled well. I'll report back should I have a change of opinion over time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 97

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]