Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Rekon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire

MaxxisRekon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(65%)
(29%)
(0%)
(0%)
(6%)
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by FoCoHLo
Fort Collins
Overall Rating
Super fast and very grippy!

I mounted these on my Cannondale Scalpel and have put them through the ringer. Great tires for XC.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by DHJill
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My go-to XC tires

You really can't go wrong with anything Maxxis does, but I especially love the Rekons. They aren't super heavy and hook up nicely in a variety of conditions. Here in the Boise, ID area...we have some sand, some hardpack, and some rocks...and these tires perform like champs on it all. I have been using Rekons for a few years now...they don't wear super fast and have yet to leave me stranded due to a slashed tire. My new bike came with a different set of tires...I thought for about 3 seconds that maybe it would be nice to try something different...and then came to my senses and placed an order for these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2021
by grussell
Competitive Racer
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
29 x 2.4 only 2.21

I purchased the Rekon 29 x 2.4. I mounted it up on my 29mm id rims, aired it to 40psi and let it sit 2 days. I am very disappointed that it only measures 2.21" knob to knob. The casing measures 2.19". I have the Rekon 29 x 2.25 mounted on a 25mm id rim and it measures 2.22". I like the 2.25 a lot so I thought I would like the 2.4. Basically it's a heavy, slow 2.20 Rekon. Do not buy the 2.4 if you are expecting it to be 2.35 - 2.4 wide. I waisted $70.00 on a tire that I won't use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Kirk
SF Bay
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Maxxis Rekon 29�

I was looking for a tire that had a little more grip than the Ikon that was previously on my bike. The Rekon was a great next step up and the rolling resistance does not seem to be too different. Definitely has more grip than the Ikon on loose dirt, loose over hardpack, and on gravely surfaces but it is not anywhere close to an Assegai traction wise. Great option for a fast rolling XC tire with more grip than the Ikon. I ride a number of trails in the San Jose, Santa Cruz area. I am still running an Ikon in the rear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Maxxis Rekon - Balance of Traction and Speed

For my style of riding; pretty much a mixture of everything (excluding wet conditions), the Rekon is a great tire and has become my go-to rear tire choice. When comparing to more aggressive rear tires like the Ardent or DHR II, the Rekon lacks some cornering traction, but in my mind, is a sacrifice I can forfeit.

My only complaint, along with all 3C Maxxis tires, is while the compound provide great traction, the tire wear is significantly faster than the 2-ply versions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Really great tires at a great price.

I am pairing a rekon with an ikon on my hardtail. This is proving to be a great combination for the mixed terrain/mixed surfaces that I ride. The balance of grip and being fast rolling is making me very happy. I had read some warnings about poor performance in wet conditions but so far I haven't had any problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire in the right conditions.

I am a big fan of this tire ran in the rear and paired with a more aggressive tire up front. (Current front tire is a Maxxis Dissector 29X2.4.)

The center tread on the Rekon rolls fast and has adequate braking and climbing traction in all but the rough terrain. Side knobs provide good bite so long as the bike is lent over.

As with nearly all modern Maxxis tires with 3C compound, the tires are nice and grippy but quickly wear. As a consumable product, thats just the way it goes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeastern MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Rear Tire for Michigan

Product shipped and received quickly. I will be mounting this tire on the rear, with a Maxxis Forecaster on the front, of my Pivot Mach 429 Trail for the 2021 season here in MI. There's a good variety of hardpack, and loose leaves/sand. Should be a good combination.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good all-rounder

I've used this tire on mixed terrain, with rocks, dirt, roots, and hardpack mud. It offers better traction than Ikons but feels a little smoother rolling than Ardents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by CDNBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire

2.4 on the front. Good grip in the corners.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2019
by Paul
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for mixed terrain

This tire is good for mixed terrrain, and hooks up well in moist dirt and firm mud. It's not the fastest or most aggressive tread, but hits a nice do-it-all sweet spot. I mounted these on relatively wide (28mm internal) rims without wrestling the tire bead too much, and my high volume pump inflated them in one go...I can't comment on long term durability yet, but have found the Maxxis EXO compound effective in preventing sidewall cuts with other tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Barb
Competitive Racer
Loveland CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Colorado trail tire.

Fast rolling, light but hardy enough to hold up on rocky terrain here in Northern Colorado

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2020
by Eischman
nc
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great all mountain tire

Gives a a lot of control and traction on rough and roots trails

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2018
by Robert
Auburn, CA
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Not perfect but close!

Bike Santa Cruz tallboy 29er

So far so good Running DHF in front and Rekon in rear. Ive run the ardent, ardent race, ikon and cross mark in rear and like this the best. Good traction & braking and fast rolling. 4 stars due to low profile tread which is going to wear out quickly! Wish the knob height was higher like the 27.5 version!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Schep
Portland Or.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fast rolling trail tire!

Nice tire choice for riders who are looking for a fast rolling, light weight tire that still stays in control while cornering. Has been a great summer tire for me on my Ibis Ripley.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for loose over hard dirt. Fast when you need it and grabs in the corners

Love Maxxis tires. Used to run the Ikon but this is a better all around tire for my riding conditions. Has better cornering than the Ikons

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Great rolling tire works well with xc style riding and has good enough puncture protection to ride Rocky Mountain terrian.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 08

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]