Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Ravager 700c Tire

MaxxisRavager 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(60%)
(30%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 8/22/2022
by EarlyRiser09
Cave Creek, AZ
Overall Rating
My Go To Gravel Tire

Love these tires, on my second set and have recommended to several friends. Measure out closer to 41, and like most Maxxis, they mount up easily and keep a very good seal. I run with Vittoria Gravel Liners, and find that is a great combo in preventing burping and provide enhanced protection of my wheels. I find the tread pattern to be very good in the sand, gris and exposed rock we find here on the trails in AZ, and they are fine on paved surfaces as well. I ride the higher TPI version and have found it durable in tough conditions. Overall, it's my choice for the gravel bike, like the Minion is for the MTB.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2022
by bikegeek1968
Cycling Enthusiast
The OC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good casing, questionable tread

I had been riding Ramblers front and rear, but wanted to see if a little more tread up front would help with control in loose, dry conditions. It did have a bit more control when cornering on sand or loose dirt, and as a front tire it seemed to roll pretty well on hardpack and pavement. But when riding on loose over hard, or in deeper sand, the tire just seemed to grab on the surface and burrow down into the ground. This was particularly noticeable when transitioning from a hard surface to loose while at speed, Ramblers seemed to float over the surface. The Ravager would grab on, burn off several MPH, and then plow its way through the sand. I will not be buying another.

j

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/27/2020
by All day Adventures
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Mass
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A 42cm Tire that acts like a 2.2inch MTB Tire

My Ravagers I got 3 years ago have over 500 miles on one of my CX bikes. I have 3 CX bikes and 3 MTB's. This tire is outstanding. Climbs loose dusty trails, climbs hard packed trails, climbs granite like no other bike I own. I lead 40 - 70 mile CX and MTB rides every weekend in the peak ride season. I take my fully rigid CX bike with these tires into LYNN WOODS of Eastern Mass, and love the looks on the full suspension bike riders faces when I pass them on very difficult climbs. I do not rock drop... that is stupid not designed for that, especially with no suspension. What I am saying absent or rock drops and jumps... no one can come close to the speed and climbing ability of these tires. The bike these are mounted on... I can accelerate up hills where other MTB's spin out. There is no end to the surprise of how well these tires perform. They are not as fast on Paved roads as other CX tires. If I want fast road riding and excellent trail performance, I grab my other CX bike with the MAXXIS Ramblers on it. The Ramblers are actually my favorite CX tire and I use that bike a lot more than this one, but when I want to show-off on the nasty trails of Lynn Woods, the bike with the 42c Ravagers is the one I use. PS Look for my Lynn Woods Video's on You Tube. I have 5 of them posted. Look up All day Adventures, Lynn Woods.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic Gravel tires

I switched to these bad boys from the WTB Riddler's, a litgher faster tire. I don't go on hardcore gravel that often, but I sent a route near lake jocasse in NC and holy moly was I glad I had these guys. These tires are sure footed and feel like a mini mountain bike tire. They suck up watts but it's a fair trade for the confidence they gave me. Now I have two sets of gravel wheels: a cheap aluminum set with these on it for intense gravel and a lighter wheelset with fast light tires for when I dont want to get dropped.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great for gravel trails.

Although a lot faster on the trail and in the turns, there is a little loss of speed on pavement. Overall, great tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by nicksmish
Nashville
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect combination of traction and roll

I have the Ravenger up front and a Rambler in the rear of my gravel bike. The Ravenger has great traction in corners on dirt and heavy gravel roads, but still rolls nicely on hard pack and asphalt surfaces. Highly recommended if youre spending a lot of time on rough or soft roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2021
by Jorge
los angeles
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Handles good

I ride mainly on asphalt and they have very good grip overall.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2019
by TerryM
Cycling Enthusiast
Belgrade, MT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great gravel tire for my hybrid

I mounted this tire on my Trek hybrid DS4 for use on rough gravel roads. Mainly fitness riding, so far the Maxxis Ravager has been great. I am using it with a tube ,didn't want to mess around with the sealant. Mounted up fairly easy. Handling seems to be great on hard pack and loose gravel, loose sand is a little squirrelly but I am sure most tires of this size (700x40) would be. Bike on dry days only so not sure how mud use would be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa cruz
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Breat in dirt.

These are great tires in loose or muddy conditions. Not too fast on the road though. Its always a trade off- how much road vs. gravel on a typical ride. My solution is different bikes. Ha. The ravengers are on my 25% road bike and Schwalbe all arounds on my 75% road bike. The ravengers have a more supplemfeel,than the schwalbes- tubless and 38-40 psi .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by Bnystrom
Cycling Enthusiast
NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for loose conditions

A 'cross bike I recently purchased came with the 120TPI version of the Ravagers and they're perfect for the conditions I typically ride it, a mix of hardpack and loose sandgravelleavespine needles over hardpack. The 40mm size helps prevent bottom outs on the bonier roads and trails. They definitely feel soft and somewhat slow on pavement (I run them at 28/30 front rear for dirt/gravel/trails). If I was riding strictly hardpack and pavement, I'd probably switch to the Ramblers, but I'm very happy with the way these perform, as they provide a lot of grip and confidence in corners and the loose stuff. I'd rate them on par with or superior to the Conti CycloX King 42s in the loose stuff, with the Conti's being betterfaster on harder surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 62

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]