Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Ikon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire

MaxxisIkon 29" 3C/EXO/TR MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(88%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Bici_del_Rioba
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Longer lived tires for my MTB

Great back tire for my MTB. It is a replacement for a Rekon. I am finding my Rekons (my favorite tire) to be shorter lived than I like to see. So I am now switched to the Ikonic Ikon in the back tire. It is a little slower, but more Grippy and definitely longer lived. A good solution.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by beccamtnbkr333
murphy NC
Overall Rating
Great all terrain tires!

I've been using the ikon from day one. I always purchased the exc with thinner sidewalls and never flatted but the last 2 tires I bought flatted! so I switched to the thicker exo and no issues anymore. great fast rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2019
by Shills
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
All Around Cross Country Tire

These tires are some of the best MTB tires money can buy, endlessly grippy and lightweight. There are heavierwider tires that can bomb downhill better but at the end of the day, these win overall.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2019
by Mtn bike habit
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura Co Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
nice compromise between rolling resistance and traction

I ride in So Cal sandy, rocky conditions. Majority of my ride time is rollers, folled by long climbs, then flying down the descents. Therefore I'm willing to sacrafice some traction and cornering grip for minimal rolling resitance. The Ikon serves this goal well. There are better tires for just downhilling but for an all around cross country function these work well and have a good life span.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hollywood Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fresh tires for my MTB!

It was time for fresh tires on my Specialized Epic MTB, and I wanted to change up the look with these Maxxis gumwall tires, Ardent front, and Ikon rear, Great look on my bike, and most important, excellent riding tires for the terrain on our trails here

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2019
by JB
North Carolina
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Purchased tires for the Baja Divide

Perfect tire for the Baja Divide. From sandy tracks to rough, rocky Jeep roads, the tires were great and held up well. Definitely robust, no flats, little abrasion. Will probably use their little brother (2.2 width) for the Great Divide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2019
by Bp
Deep South
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Maxis Ikon 29er

This tire is extremely fast and versatile. I have used it in mud, gravel, sand and every thing in between. The Ikon is also very durable and has held up well over many miles of racing and training.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2019
by XC Racer
Competitive Racer
Huntsville, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rear Tire for XC set-up

Using this a a rear tire on my XC bike. Was able to seat tire bead with just a track pump, albeit pumping pretty fast. Have about 170 miles on the tire on hard pack, rock, leaves, and mud. Tire rolls great and has great traction. Seems pretty rugged given some of the rocky terrain it has been over with no issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Wrong tire for the application

I rode this tire on the Great Divide out of Whitefish, MT with a 35 llbs of gear. The tire made it three days and then riding through some shale I sliced and punctured the sidewall. I needed a boot inside the tire and a tube but with the sealant in the tire the boot wouldn't stick. I chose this tire and now wish I would have gone to BTD for some advice. My co-rider on the trip had the same tire in the 2.35 size. That tire came apart after 10 days of riding. This is probably a great tire we were just using it for the wrong application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2018
by Stumpjumper
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Cornering

I ride mostly hard pack technical single track with some loose dirtsand, the knobby 29er's that came on my Specialized Stumpjumper FSR were horrible for this, I had zero confidence in the turns and did a lot of braking to navigate them. After a lot of research and YouTube I decided to try these, they Are Awesome, I can't believe how well they perform, after a few miles I started backing off the brakes leaning into them on the turns and they just delivered, I can't believe what a difference they make. The added bonus is that they are much faster on the straights as well so it has been a win-win. I balked at the price for a pair not knowing how they would be but after the first ride I was smiling ear to ear and the price was the last thing on my mind, that doesn't happen very often. My friend wants me to put the knobby's back on because I'm smoking him now, lol

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Telluride to Moab and no flats!

I took these on a 7 day trek, hut to hut from Telluride and ending with Porcupine Rim in Moab. Not a single flat. Setting up tubeless was easy wth a pump. In the 7 days we tackled varied terrain and these tires rocked.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2018
by Smilinbikeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A good all around tire when not on pavement

I have a set of these set up tubeless on my Salsa Fargo, and so far so good. My off road riding is limited to gravel and simple single track, and these tires road plenty well, and deliver a plush and comfy ride. I like the retro browntan sidewalks. Well see how durable they are at the end of the summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2020
by Chocolate Thunder
Competitive Racer
Silver Spring, MD
Overall Rating
Great tires...I'm glad that I read the reviews prior to my purchase

I mounted the tires to my geared big tire BMX bike that I ride wooded trails on.

I finally took the bike and tires out for their maiden trail ride. The trail was extremely muddy and covered by leaves, far from my ideal conditions which made me cautious when leaning the bike over into turns. But to my surprise the tires offered impressive traction when accelerating, braking and turning. I can't wait to see what these tires are capable of next spring and summer when the trails are dry, uncovered and fast.

Mounting of the tires was super easy too, no issues with the bead being too tight or too loose.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Everything came as ordered

Tires feel good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2020
by Bill NV
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Handling

I installed on my Specialized Levo SL. They improved the handling while riding single track trails. Bike turns quicker and has less rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2018
by rsimpson
Colorado
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy XC tire

This tire, at low PSI, is very grippy. Corners very well and is light and fast. I also run the Maxxis Ardent tire and I dont notice any less traction. Just faster.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 34