Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Maxxis Hookworm 26 Inch Tire

MaxxisHookworm 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(50 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(43)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(86%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Ehookworm

Reviewed 10/4/2023
by Ehookworm
Competitive Racer
colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all terrain tire, extremely durable

about 12 years ago I put these tires on my old downhill mountain bike and turned it into a urban warrior/light trail bike, I've never gotten a flat (running slime tubes) and have put hundreds of miles on them. Last week I converted that downhill bike to a 1200watt Ebike and these tires are still on my bike. After 65 miles of tearing around with a 1200watt booster on the back i am starting to see a little wear on the rear tire. The little tinny knobbies are finally gone in a strip around the middle. Point of this ramble is that after more than a decade of riding on these tires and an e bike conversion i am finally seeing a little bit of wear take hold on the rear tire. I probably have 1000s of miles to go before i'll need to replace 1 of the two i bought in 2011.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BrewCityRon

Reviewed 11/30/2020
by BrewCityRon
Casual Cyclist
Milwaukee, Wi. USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires for urban environments when installed on my mountain bike.

My mountain bike has always had knobby tires on it. After some research, I decided to treat myself to a set of these knob-less tires since I seldom go off road with my bike. Minimal rolling resistance, good looks and above all, they were a value at only 32 dollars each with free shipping. At 2.5" wide, my bike now looks almost like a "fat tire bike" which seems to be the trend now. I would not only recommend these tires to anyone, I would also buy them again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Beer_Bikes

Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Beer_Bikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable ride, transformed my 90's mountain bike to a multi-surface cruiser!

I'm loving these tires, a great way to breath new life into your 26" 90's mountain bikes. With these tires, my old Diamondback is my grab-&-go bike. Smooth riding on asphalt and plenty of cushion on gravel paths and through the woods.

A few notes: they are heavy tires, and I can feel it on climbs.

They are really wide, so make sure you have plenty of clearance

And since they're so wide, they definitely need the bigger tubes that aren't typically stocked at big-box stores.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 12/27/2021
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding tires, great traction dry or wet

I mounted these tires on my original Rad Rover rims. They fit great and actually expand out to 3.1 inches even though "rated" as 2.5". I'm getting a smooth and quiet ride, more efficiency, and great traction on dry or wet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santee

Reviewed 10/29/2021
by Santee
Daily Commuter
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires

I am using these Hookworms on a stretch bicycle. They grip the road very well. They are a "Speed roller" tire. No road resistance make these tires a bunch of fun! And that's what it is all about!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kingman

Reviewed 10/21/2021
by Kingman
Daily Commuter
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Create fat tire look

I wanted my ebike conversion to draw attention and having very wide or widest tire that can fit on the rim is one of the, if not, least expensive way to go and Maxxis Hookworm 26x2.5 did the trick. Ride is smooth and comfortable with very little rolling resistance. Will definitely order these Maxxis tires again when I have another ebike conversion to do.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jasonmdx

Reviewed 1/2/2021
by jasonmdx
Cycling Enthusiast
jacksonville beach, fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect fit on my beach cruiser

I was looking for the widest tire I could fit on my beach cruiser and this tire is just right at 2.5 inches wide, a little wider than the stock tires. The tread feels smooth but very 'grippy' on the street and also works great in hard packed beach sand. I run them at 40psi and the ride is very comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chip Fell

Reviewed 9/20/2020
by Chip Fell
New Jersey
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No more flat tires

My daughter was popping tubes everyday on her 26� Haro downtown. I bought these tires from bike tires direct 3 months ago and haven�t replaced or repaired a tube since then. I highly recommend this tire and doing business with bike tires direct. I�m all the way across the country in New Jersey and they shipped the tires to me in a few days..????

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ''Vidsu

Reviewed 1/3/2014
by ''Vidsu
Cycling Enthusiast
Norco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Nice riding tire good for training rides on bike paths or city streets.

Overall a very good tire if you are looking to replace your knobbies with a durable, smooth rolling tire. I put a pair of Hookworms on my old GT Timberline mountain bike so I could ride the many miles of concrete bike paths in my area. The Hookworms perform well for this purpose. Granted they are heavy, so don't expect the snappy feel of a high pressure, skinny tire, but for logging miles and burning calories they are great. Be sure to run a 2.50 wide tube.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
SoCal
Overall Rating
Great tire

I used these tires for a camera rig I put together. The only smooth tire I found with this extra Cush sidewall. They work so good Im going to get a set for my bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santee

Reviewed 11/8/2021
by Santee
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Speedrollers

I put these tires on a Stretch cruiser. They are well constructed and roll real nice and fast. I got a good price and they were discounted too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gus

Reviewed 3/18/2019
by Gus
Houston
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fat and sticky

These tires are by far better then my previous tires. They are fat and sticky.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/7/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tires are great

Will buy more stuff from u guys

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ray

Reviewed 8/9/2021
by Ray
Tomball, TX
Overall Rating
Awesome

Super great tires

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Robert

Reviewed 7/17/2021
by Robert
Las Vegas
Overall Rating
Great tires

These roll so smooth

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/9/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Put them on my bike this summer,it's like a new bike,improved ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Duane

Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Duane
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Love the hookworms! Ride fast and smooth, great grip, and they look tough!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/19/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires.

I bought these tires to put on an ebike project and I love them. They hold the road fine at 40mph and I have no worries about riding in the rain. I already bought another pair for my next project. I believe these tires are well worth the price. Obviously I would not recommend them for off road use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Willy510

Reviewed 5/28/2018
by Willy510
Daily Commuter
Richmond,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great street tires

Very grippy and durable, not the lightest but if you want to bomb around the streets and some hard pack these are the tires to get. The extra volume helps cushion out some of the bumps too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/2/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I use these for commuting - super solid!

Commute on these and you'll be flat free for quite some time - solid construction and full wrap of tread makes these great for urban shredding too!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]