Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Maxxis Hookworm 26 Inch Tire

MaxxisHookworm 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(84%)
(9%)
(2%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 8/9/2021
by Ray
Tomball, TX
Overall Rating
Awesome

Super great tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2020
by BrewCityRon
Casual Cyclist
Milwaukee, Wi. USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires for urban environments when installed on my mountain bike.

My mountain bike has always had knobby tires on it. After some research, I decided to treat myself to a set of these knob-less tires since I seldom go off road with my bike. Minimal rolling resistance, good looks and above all, they were a value at only 32 dollars each with free shipping. At 2.5" wide, my bike now looks almost like a "fat tire bike" which seems to be the trend now. I would not only recommend these tires to anyone, I would also buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2021
by Robert
Las Vegas
Overall Rating
Great tires

These roll so smooth

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by Beer_Bikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable ride, transformed my 90's mountain bike to a multi-surface cruiser!

I'm loving these tires, a great way to breath new life into your 26" 90's mountain bikes. With these tires, my old Diamondback is my grab-&-go bike. Smooth riding on asphalt and plenty of cushion on gravel paths and through the woods.

A few notes: they are heavy tires, and I can feel it on climbs.

They are really wide, so make sure you have plenty of clearance

And since they're so wide, they definitely need the bigger tubes that aren't typically stocked at big-box stores.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Duane
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Love the hookworms! Ride fast and smooth, great grip, and they look tough!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2021
by jasonmdx
Cycling Enthusiast
jacksonville beach, fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect fit on my beach cruiser

I was looking for the widest tire I could fit on my beach cruiser and this tire is just right at 2.5 inches wide, a little wider than the stock tires. The tread feels smooth but very 'grippy' on the street and also works great in hard packed beach sand. I run them at 40psi and the ride is very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2020
by Chip Fell
New Jersey
Overall Rating
No more flat tires

My daughter was popping tubes everyday on her 26� Haro downtown. I bought these tires from bike tires direct 3 months ago and haven�t replaced or repaired a tube since then. I highly recommend this tire and doing business with bike tires direct. I�m all the way across the country in New Jersey and they shipped the tires to me in a few days..????

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2020
by Electricdreamer
Daily Commuter
Chattanooga TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Go to tire

I run these on my mid drive electric commuter, have done so for the past 4 years. Great tire, low rolling resistance and great grip!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2020
by BikeBoston
Daily Commuter
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are huge! i love them!

I put these on an old 26 inch mt bike. They reasonable well. They are huge, steering geometry is a little bit affected due to size but overall better than the knobbies they replaced.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Anonymous
Central Indiana
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

These tires are really great on traction and rolling much easier than knobby tires. Couldn't be happier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cruiser tire with tons of grip.

Works great as a cruiser tire or asphalt downhill tire with plenty of traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
SoCal
Overall Rating
Great tire

I used these tires for a camera rig I put together. The only smooth tire I found with this extra Cush sidewall. They work so good Im going to get a set for my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2019
by Gus
Houston
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fat and sticky

These tires are by far better then my previous tires. They are fat and sticky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tires are great

Will buy more stuff from u guys

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Put them on my bike this summer,it's like a new bike,improved ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2014
by ''Vidsu
Cycling Enthusiast
Norco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Nice riding tire good for training rides on bike paths or city streets.

Overall a very good tire if you are looking to replace your knobbies with a durable, smooth rolling tire. I put a pair of Hookworms on my old GT Timberline mountain bike so I could ride the many miles of concrete bike paths in my area. The Hookworms perform well for this purpose. Granted they are heavy, so don't expect the snappy feel of a high pressure, skinny tire, but for logging miles and burning calories they are great. Be sure to run a 2.50 wide tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires.

I bought these tires to put on an ebike project and I love them. They hold the road fine at 40mph and I have no worries about riding in the rain. I already bought another pair for my next project. I believe these tires are well worth the price. Obviously I would not recommend them for off road use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2018
by Willy510
Daily Commuter
Richmond,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great street tires

Very grippy and durable, not the lightest but if you want to bomb around the streets and some hard pack these are the tires to get. The extra volume helps cushion out some of the bumps too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I use these for commuting - super solid!

Commute on these and you'll be flat free for quite some time - solid construction and full wrap of tread makes these great for urban shredding too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Happy with everything

I should have ordered larger tubes to go with these tires, I can't find any locally, but so far the skinny tubes are working fine, but that was my fault !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 95

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]