FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Mavic Ellipse Track Wheelset

MavicEllipse Track Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
tampa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Track Wheelset Value!

I enjoy riding fixed gear for training and fun. I have a Dolan aluminum track bike that is really stiff with track geometry and the only track wheels I had previous to this purchase were a nice custom built tubular wheelset, which are also very rigid. So I wanted a set of clincher wheels that would provide a softer ride. I coupled the Mavic Ellispse with Vittoria Corsa 28mm clinchers and keep the pressure down around 80-85. Wow what a difference. The ride is still very fast but with the wider tire and lower pressure the comfort has increased by tenfold. I did a 40 mile group ride a few weeks ago and felt so nice. Thank you BTD for the amazing wheels at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2015
by henry.crun
Cycling Enthusiast
sf bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
excellent wheels

bought a set of these in 2012 to replace the oem wheels which were also an ellipse wheelset but mavic modified the design in the meanwhile, greatly improving the braking surface. on a fixed gear bike, unless you're insane, you use the brakes far more than on a freewheel equipped machine. the oem wheels couldn't take that abuse. the replacement wheels could and have. i've more than 20,000 km on these wheels and they're nowhere near as scary looking with that usage as the original set. they've basically been trouble-free.

only complaints are the hubs tend to collect rust, which is unsightly, and the decals have started peeling off, which is also unsightly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2014
by jcruiz78
Competitive Racer
Baja, Mexico.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great wheelset

Its a great wheelset, excellent for training or racing, even your fixie will look great!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2013
by cody
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
affordable, high quality track wheel set, good for the road

These wheels are great! i had some deep v's before and i am very impressed at the strength, lightness and they are so aero! Love the double track rear hub, as long as you have a wrench, its easy enough to switch back and forth from your daily commute, or if you want to kill it at the track. I didnt think the aero spokes would make a big difference but you can really feel them cutting through the air. Maintenance is super easy with the provided wrench for the hubs. Plus, Mavic has some good logo designers working over there!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2012
by schroeder
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great wheel, light wheel, use it everyday.

I've had these wheels for a couple months now and have ridden them everyday since. And they are pretty fantastic. They are light but don't sacrifice durability to achieve it. I read reviews of people saying that they had to continually adjust the rear axle because it kept tightening up on them when they skid, but I have yet to have that happen. The bearings are super smooth and will roll for days once you break em in. They best thing about them, they look super cool, and fast. I love the low spoke count and aero design. So if you want a fast, good looking wheel but don't want to pay $600 to get it, buy these wheels. You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Darren
Monterey County California
Overall Rating
Awesome wheels!

I wanted a set of wheels that I can train on and put in some work on the streets so I looked no further than mavic. Smooth, stiff, and durable wheel. Great for velo or street use!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2013
by Anonymous
Cerritos CA
Overall Rating
Awesome! Great price at western bike works.

You don't need rim tape it's already included

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Overall Rating
Great Wheelset!

These are the 2011 Mavic Ellipse Wheelset.

Great, solid wheels. Although not the lightest wheels out there, for the price they are pretty great.

Come true straight out of the box, includes stickers and lockring. Decals are removable leaving a glossy black rim. Spokes are bladed for that extra aero-ness.

You will need to use the lockring provided through Mavic as they were specifically made for the ellipse wheelset, I hear without the mavic lockring anything else will start slipping with usage.

I would recommend these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Cleveland Oh.
Overall Rating
Rock Solid Wheel set at a Great Price

I use them on the Track and they are a Rock Solid Wheel. Very Smooth and Fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2012
by slim_mils
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Overall Rating
Great set of wheels

Bought them just in time for the summer, pretty tough wheels. It rides really smooth and they're very light. Reduced the weight of my bike, I felt the difference. Definitely worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.