Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Louis Garneau Mens Optimum Mat 2 Tights

Louis GarneauMen's Optimum Mat 2 Tights(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(65%)
(35%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mitty

Reviewed 1/16/2024
by Mitty
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A well-designed and constructed midweight tight.

The different panels on this tight keep you warm on the downhills and prevent you from overheating on the climbs. I have been using these for mountain biking in temperatures from the upper thirties to low fifties. I wish I had bought these years ago, they are a great addition to the wardrobe. Value rating is 5 stars as I got them on sale, but worth full price no doubt.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin Sage

Reviewed 3/8/2024
by Kevin Sage
Carmel Ca.
Overall Rating
LG tights

Excellent set of tights. I needed tights with a drawstring to hold them up to and anyway I�m real pleased with him. Thank you so much.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by richgfcst

Reviewed 10/3/2021
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
North of Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good slightly chilly weather tight

1. Thin material is nice for those days when its too cold for shorts, but not cold enough for a winter tight.

2. Reflective components good enough to feel confident don't need reflective ankle bands when cycling just past dusk.

3. Sized on the wide size of sizing specifications.

4. Only negative: The top section is uncomfortably over my belly button. I fold over that top section a little lower than than my bibs start to be more comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by danj66dallas

Reviewed 1/21/2021
by danj66dallas
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
good product

Note: I own an LG jersey is inferior and I so was initially afraid of LG quality when buying these tights. I was also hesitant due to the fact that these have no padding (extra wear on my current shorts and complexity with dressing). But I've been very happy with these and glad I got them. They have no fleece lining. They have been great for chilly weather and--depending on your constitution--I've found they are just about right for me starting with temps in the upper 50's F and below (I haven't found and documented a bottom range yet). I was initially afraid of a cheap cut and short length but I completely appreciate that they are generous in length, fit me well and fully (I'm heavy for my size). They did not leave my knees constrained or my ankles cold (I am 5'9", 33" inseam, 34" waist, ordered large and it has been about right). They seem to keep my legs warm but they can cause my legs to sweat when it gets into the 60s. As they are nylon, they wick about as you would expect. There are no bottom zippers and I have just a slight tussle getting my feet into them initially always, but not at the cuffs. I'm not finding any issues wearing padded shorts underneath. These are a great basic tight although I feel they are a bit pricey at full retail. I'm hoping I can catch them on sale again (my value rating is based on Black Friday sale price)... I would be happy to order another pair of these.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/13/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light Tights from Louis Garneau

I've always liked Louis Garneau products - good quality at a good price. The optimum Mat 2 tights pretty much fit the bill. Light weight for the time of the year just before you go to shorts. No chamois - I don't like tights with a chamois. Recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Clay

Reviewed 4/20/2022
by Clay
Cycling Enthusiast
Land O Lakes, FL.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Tights!

The tights are good for cool weather not cold. They are form fitting tights. I purchased the medium and I'm 5'11" at 178 lbs. I like them a lot and an added bonus is a side pocket for your phone. I'm pretty happy!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/7/2022
by Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Overall Rating
Economical and Gets the Job Done

I purchased these for cold winter mornings. They fit over my cycling shorts, allowing me to shed them as things warm up. They scrunch up into my jersey pocket. I'm 5'11" and I bought a medium. They're just a little long, but fit fine otherwise.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/11/2022
by Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ
Overall Rating
Economical and Gets the Job Done

I purchased these for cold winter mornings. They fit over my cycling shorts, allowing me to shed them as things warm up. They scrunch up into my jersey pocket. I'm 5'11" and I bought a medium. They're just a little long, but fit fine otherwise.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RidingFine

Reviewed 11/16/2021
by RidingFine
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice lighter weight tights

Just right for about 50 degree weather and probably a bit cooler. medium is a good fit for me - 5'10/ 170lb, though I wear pants with a 30" inseam (on the short side) and the legs on these are a bit long - they still work fine - I scrunch it up at my ankle or fold over a cuff

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
bd\beautifully made, but too thin for cold weather protection

Well constructed of quality materials, but unfortunately too long in the legs, and too thin for thermal protection in cold weather. I wore them on one ride in 40-degree weather, and cut my ride short to go home and change back to my old, warmer tights.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/14/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo,MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice extra layer in the 40 degree weather

I primarily use this for an extra layer when it is 35 to 45 degrees. I have warm tights and like this thin layer over my warmer thighs when it is below 45 degrees

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/28/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product

These tights work very well: they stay in place but don't constrict movement, they keep me warm down to the low 30s, and I like the pocket (my cell phone fits and holds well).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom P.

Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Tom P.
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice lightweight tights

Well made, classy looking, lightweight tights. Small fit me well. I am 5'9".

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brad

Reviewed 2/14/2022
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Tights But Very Lightweight

These tights are a bit lighter than I anticipated (I should have done a little more "homework" before I purchased them). Basically what you are getting is a wind barrier for your legs with minimal insulation that comes with having a thin layer of material. I love the pocket, going forward I will not buy shorts/tights without them; pockets are far more useful than you would think on shorts/tights. The material is very stretchy, lightweight and packable so if things warm up you could remove and store them in a jersey pocket. Overall I am glad I have them but I just need something that falls between my deep winter tights and these. I would choose these for temps maybe 45-50 degrees F.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by roadbiker

Reviewed 3/28/2023
by roadbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Overall Rating
Good lightweight tights

I needed a new pair of lightweight tights to wear in the spring when it's too cold for shorts, but to warm for mid-heavy weight tights for cycling. I have LG shorts that I really like, so I gave these a try. They are perfect and exactly what I was looking for. And there is a pocket on the right thigh area! I'm really happy with them and would highly recommend these tights.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Guy

Reviewed 3/28/2023
by Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson Az
Overall Rating
Fit well, light weight for not too cold mornings

See above. No negatives

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NVCycler

Reviewed 1/16/2021
by NVCycler
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Overall Rating
Works for Most Cold Days

This is a medium weight but warm tight that should work for most riders for the most days of cold weather. It is comfortable, looks good, and well made. And it is great value like most Louis Garneau products.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]