Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lezyne Pressure Drive Hand Pump

LezynePressure Drive Hand Pump(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(7)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(70%)
(19%)
(5%)
(3%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/5/2012
by AlexM
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Coast, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
LOCTITE your presta valve cores or this pump will unscrew them

The pump manual comes with the following instruction

On presta valves with a removable valve core: Before use with pump, remove valve core and apply small amount of LOCTITE thread locker to valve core threads. Reinstall valve core and securely tighten.

My experience

To use this pump, you screw on one end of a flexible hose to your tire valve stem and the other end to the pump. After pumping when you remove the hose it rotates the same direction as unscrewing a removable presta valve core. Your valve cores will want to unscrew with the flexible hose instead of staying in the stem. You may need to use pliers to unscrew the core from the hose and it is easy to damage the small rubber seals on the valve core.

Even if you LOCTITE your own valve core stems it could be disastrous to loan this pump on the trail because another rider's valve core stem could get jammed in your hose, which leaves them without a valve core, and renders your hose and pump unusable until you can unscrew their valve stem.

The pump has unscrewed valve cores in several my Kenda and Q-Tubes brand presta tubes, I can't trust taking it out on the trails with my MTB.

I don't know of any problems using this pump with schrader valves but that's not what I bought it for.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

A few of us here use these Lezyne pumps and, in our experience, Loctite Threadlocker is not necessary if the valve cores are securely installed. Removable cores can be tightened with a core tool, or even a pair of needle-nose pliers. If you are going to use a Loctite Threadlocker on a valve core, the Blue 242 is most appropriate as you will want to be able to get the core out later. And be careful not to Loctite the core shut!

One might also consider buying tubes without a removable core if this is an issue.

We also tend to thread the hose onto the pump first. This may reduce some of the strain and twisting on the valve.

Thanks,
Theo
Customer Service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
performs well, lightweight, compact

I use the pump to inflate tires on the road. I don't normally check pressure after repairing a flat but the pump does seem to be able to achieve high pressure as advertised. I like the small size and efficiency of the pump and I'm completely satisfied except for a couple of minor points 1)the rubber dust cover gets in the way when when inflating the tire and 2)the pump tends to rattle a bit if it's not fastened down snugly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2012
by thbarron
Cycling Enthusiast
Canon City, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great pump

Great bike pump, light, compact, and very functional.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/12/2012
by BrooklynGUy
Competitive Racer
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
A good, light pump to bring with you

I really like this pump and wish I had bought it before the others. It's light and extremely easy to use. The hose screws into the pump and doesn't rattle, then unscrews and attaches outside for easy use. It came with a frame bracket which I put on one bike, and I keep it in my jersey pocket when I ride the other.

I've had other pumps snap my valve stem because they connect right onto it and they heat the stem up when trying to get to 100psi. I've had to use this pump several times and it works well, though as other reviewers mention, it does take some physical effort to get your tire to a point where you can ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
compact, powerful, and easy to use.

I'm a recreational rider and use my bike for short commutes and for fun. It's nice to have a light, easy-to-use pump to take along for topping up tires or contending with possible flats. I often lock and leave my bike where something like a pump should definitely not be left on the frame. One thing I especially like about the design of this pump is that it is easy to slip from the frame and carry along with me when I've arrived at my destination.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2012
by jbailiff
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
By far the lightest and most functional framepump with hose-attachment efficency and the power to get over 100psi.

I ride with a Lezyne on both of my road bikes and my timetrial bike. Great tool...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2012
by beachbiker52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Effective pump.

The pump is light, easy to use and pumps up a tire easily. It does take some effort to get the tire up to 100 psi.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2012
by Bikerdude
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This pump is the road biker- best to own.

Absolutely one of the lightest and functional pumps on the market. Low profile

that fits just above your front deraileur perfectly. Operates just as designed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2019
by Jay
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great high pressure pump in a small package

What can I say? It gets the job done in a very small and lightweight package. Small enough to easily fit in a back pocket with risk of falling out.

There are two shortcomings. First, the detachable rubber tube can rattle around a bit. This can be noticeable if you use the frame mounting kit. However, I never hear it when I put the pump in a rear jersey pocket.

Second, you have to be careful when using this kind of pump (i.e. one that screws onto inner tubes) with tubes that have removable valve cores. I found myself in a jam out in the middle of nowhere when the pump kept removing the valve core when I was done pumping the tire up. Now i carry a little tool that allows me to really tighten the valve core down before using the pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
Overall Rating
Functional, rattles

Compact and light, but it rattles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2015
by eric stover
Cycling Enthusiast
seattle wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
pump is fine if you can figure out how to attach to bike

This pump work fine. Unfortunately the velcro piece is so short it will not got around frame of bike. Really? for a 40 dollar hand pump could they have spent another 10 cents and given us more than a 4inch piece of velcro? Did they test the attachment with any road bike to see what would happen? I actually took it to a bike shop to see if I was missing something, but no they could not figure it out either. They ended up selling me a bigger piece of velcro. Ridiculous.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi,

The velcro on these pumps is meant to secure the pump to the bike-mount, which mounts under your bottle cage with the same hardware, which is why it would most likely be too short to wrap around a bike frame. If there's anything we can do to help you out with the pump please let us know by phone or email!

Best, Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Dave
corvallis, oregon
Overall Rating
This pump is food

Ive been able to repair my tires and use this pump to fill back yo 100psi

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/6/2014
by Mission cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San francisco
Overall Rating
Best compact road pump

This is great little light weight pump that is able Pump to road bike tire pressure .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2013
by DaveM
Competitive Racer
Southern Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
More confidence in a saddle bag than CO2.

The Lyzene Hand Pump is solid and user friendly and is small enough to put in a medium seat bag. It takes up about the same space as 2 CO2's. The flexable tube and quality are what sets this pump apart.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2013
by TREKER
Cycling Enthusiast
PEVELY MO.
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
perfect size

wish it had presure gauge

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2013
by Wild Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I have Lezyne pumps on all 5 of my bikes.

These pumps are small, light and very well-made. Look nice, too. I like the bottle cage mount, too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great pump, but obnoxious rattle

The hose which is stored inside the barrel rattles continuously. Drove me crazy. Had to return it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 59

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]