Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Lake CX238-X Wide Road Shoe

LakeCX238-X Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(21%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by CF

Reviewed 2/9/2023
by CF
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super wide toe box

If you want a cycling shoe that has a truly large toe box, look great, and are reasonably priced, these are it ! As I gotten over 60 years of age, my feet have gotten wider, leading to hot foot and general discomfort. Not with these shoes! Very soft uppers, great BOA closures, and a stiff carbon sole make for great rides. They run true to size.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/4/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great wide shoe!

I had numbing and heat issues with my prior shoes (Fizik), they looked great but anything over an hour was not pleasant. Once I switched to the Lake wide it was all gone, did 3-4 hour rides with zero issues. They are plenty stiff on the sole, the Boa is great for micro control on both front and top and my toes are happy. They don't look as cool as the Fizik, which I suspect is just the fact they are wide, but happy for this small downside. Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fig

Reviewed 10/22/2021
by Fig
Cycling Enthusiast
Dunedin, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoe, very comfortable.

I have experience with wide cycling shoes from both Specialized and Shimano. These Lakes are by far the best wide shoe I�ve ever used. Sure, they are pricier, even on sale, but well worth the added cost. At least for me�my only cautionary advice is make sure you pay attention to the sizing guide. Using the Cm measurement from inside the tongue of my old shoes worked well for me. Admittedly, I felt they might me too small when I first tried them on, but after wearing them around the house for a few hours a few times before mounting cleats loosened them up to where they fit like a glove. If you have the means, you will not regret this purchase.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by squirtdad

Reviewed 9/10/2021
by squirtdad
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Wide Feet? this works

I really thought about paying this much for a shoe, but it was worth it. works with my fred flintstone feet. the boa adjustment is very practical, allowing micro adjustment on the fly. No hot spots and highest quality. The only difficulty is sizing. Following Lakes sizing instruction I got a 43.5, too tight, tried a 44 (at a shop, too tight) ended up in a 45. In Giro's and Shimano I am in a 46. so go up at least 1 to 1.5 in size from lake sizing

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

Reviewed 7/20/2021
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice shoes, but not for me.

These are very nicely made shoes. Lake is one of a few companies that offer really wide shoes.

This model does not work for me as although it is wide it has too much toe spring ( a drop at the ball and rise to the toe) for me.

I have a problem most riders don't have so this shouldn't detract people from this shoe.

The Boa dials are the new type that turn both directions , a great feature, and the leather seems well done and durable.

Lake has a couple other models that I plan on trying.

Biketiresdirect has great sales and if something doesn't work out for me there is no problem with returns.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BB

Reviewed 1/8/2021
by BB
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A Real wide shoe = happy feet

Switched from Sidi's shoes in November because kept getting unrelenting hot spot and numb right foot starting this summer.

Tried everything from moving cleat to loosening buckles and shimming pedal outboard. Nothing worked.

Until I got wider shoes. These shoes are the same width as my Keen Austin walking shoes. I took the insole from them and it fits perfectly in these. I use Size 46 for both shoes and am 6'-2" tall. Leather uppers are very supple and no pinching since boa's can be loosened very easily. Now pain free riding.

Considered Bont's but didn't want to pay 2x the cost and have a shoe that was too stiff.

Got these for about 240 dollars on sale. Thank you BTD.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brt

Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Brt
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Work Shoes..

I own 5 pair of Lake's including 2 pair of CX402, Lake's top of the line race shoes, I also have the previous model of CX238 and this new version is so much better in every way, the old model looked and felt like the upper was made with synthetic leather and this new model has a soft and and expensive looking leather upper, the tongue is very very comfortable. The old shoe is actually a bit too wide and the new is again perfect plus the shape of the new shoe is significantly more attractive. I have about 10 hours of indoor bike time breaking them in and while I'm riding I can't tell that they are even on my feet. When I ordered them I was a bit skeptical they might feel cheap like my old 238's not so, these look and feel expensive.. the down side is they are a bit heavy and they are not really warm weather summer shoes but if you live in a cooler climate like I do they make a great cool weather option.. Highly recommended for riders that experience foot pain while riding with standard width shoes but don't need a pair of swim fin's either..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/2/2023
by Anonymous
Seattle
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Happy feet

Been on the hunt for shoes that keep my feet happy. Have had the "hot foot" problem, the numb toes, foot cramps and worn out velcro that just doesnt keep things snug with several other shoes. So far these are keeping my feet happy but still need to test them on a long hot ride. Succumbed to a bit of vanity and went with white. When the weather warms up I'll be so much faster with these white shoes sans cold weather booties.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wide in forefoot where needed

Finally found a shoe that is designed around the foot, instead of fashion. They are a very comfortable and good looking shoe to boot :)

Gone are the hot spots and pinched toes and also allows for the cleat to be be set further back.

Dealing with Bike Tires Direct has been great! Price was awesome and let me order several sizes to insure a proper fit. Lake shoes are my now go to brand for bike shoes

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PWC

Reviewed 6/13/2023
by PWC
Cycling Enthusiast
East TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit but heavy

The 238 Wide was the one in the Lake line-up that worked for me. I'm not particularly a weight-weenie, but these are noticeably heavier. Great for training though!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eee Zee

Reviewed 5/8/2023
by Eee Zee
NJ
Overall Rating
Best shoes I have ever had

Wide and high-volume, with enough space for all my toes. Great deal at BTD, big discount when compared to what I paid at a store.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

Reviewed 1/24/2022
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beautiful, well made shoes.

Leather upper molds to your foot and breaths well.

Carbon sole is nice and stiff.

But the huge positive is the wide fit, they are truly wide in the wide version .

Nice looking also, and as always great BTD prices !

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by barry_z

Reviewed 10/29/2021
by barry_z
Cycling Enthusiast
Plano, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Actually wide cycling shoe

I have been satisfied with my Shimano wide cycling shoes, but this Lake wide shoe was even better-fitting--a truly wide shoe. Most 'wide' cycling shoes seemed to be designed for 'high-volume' feet and not those that are actually wide. These are a revelation!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/7/2021
by Anonymous
Chicago
Overall Rating
Perfect fit, very comfortable

I have wide feet and have trouble finding cycling shoes that fit. After trying multiple brands, I landed on Lake Shoes. It's literally like wearing slippers with a carbon sole. they're so comfortable and don't give me hot spots. The measurements listed on the lake website helped me find the perfect size. A must if you're in the market for a wide fit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Nice shoes

Fit well for someone with a wide forefoot. Wish it could accommodate spd pedals but probably not meant for that. Seem well constructed and comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Urbana Biker

Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Urbana Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent introduction to Boa Lacing

Purchased the CX238-X to replace a fairly dated (at least 10 years old) but still functional Sidis with rachet & Velcro system. Compared to my old shoes, the Lakes felt soft yet secure with no noticeable hot spots. The 2 Boa dials were easy to adjust and were able to distribute pressure more evenly on my foot. The ventilation also felt good, making my feet feel cool during 80+ degree/60+ humidity rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 6/17/2021
by Dave
Marana
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic shoes!!

Very comfortable while still stiff enough to maintain power numbers. BOA's are very easy to adjust while underway. Plus they look great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gsharum

Reviewed 4/8/2021
by gsharum
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best if you want comfort for long rides and need a wide shoe

If you have a wide foot, these are the shoes for you. I have owned Specialized and Giro but Lake are so much nicer, easy to put on and take off and just plain comfortable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfy shoe for wide feet

Retired my Sidi Megas and bought the Lakes. After about 150 miles of riding, the Lakes feel less constricting in the forefoot.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/21/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Most comfortable wide bike shoe I have tried.

High quality construction, comfortable and the carbon sole is very responsive to the pedal.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]