Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Lake CX238-X Wide Road Shoe

LakeCX238-X Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/17/2021
by Dave
Marana
Overall Rating
Fantastic shoes!!

Very comfortable while still stiff enough to maintain power numbers. BOA's are very easy to adjust while underway. Plus they look great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by BB
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A Real wide shoe = happy feet

Switched from Sidi's shoes in November because kept getting unrelenting hot spot and numb right foot starting this summer.

Tried everything from moving cleat to loosening buckles and shimming pedal outboard. Nothing worked.

Until I got wider shoes. These shoes are the same width as my Keen Austin walking shoes. I took the insole from them and it fits perfectly in these. I use Size 46 for both shoes and am 6'-2" tall. Leather uppers are very supple and no pinching since boa's can be loosened very easily. Now pain free riding.

Considered Bont's but didn't want to pay 2x the cost and have a shoe that was too stiff.

Got these for about 240 dollars on sale. Thank you BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Brt
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Work Shoes..

I own 5 pair of Lake's including 2 pair of CX402, Lake's top of the line race shoes, I also have the previous model of CX238 and this new version is so much better in every way, the old model looked and felt like the upper was made with synthetic leather and this new model has a soft and and expensive looking leather upper, the tongue is very very comfortable. The old shoe is actually a bit too wide and the new is again perfect plus the shape of the new shoe is significantly more attractive. I have about 10 hours of indoor bike time breaking them in and while I'm riding I can't tell that they are even on my feet. When I ordered them I was a bit skeptical they might feel cheap like my old 238's not so, these look and feel expensive.. the down side is they are a bit heavy and they are not really warm weather summer shoes but if you live in a cooler climate like I do they make a great cool weather option.. Highly recommended for riders that experience foot pain while riding with standard width shoes but don't need a pair of swim fin's either..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wide in forefoot where needed

Finally found a shoe that is designed around the foot, instead of fashion. They are a very comfortable and good looking shoe to boot :)

Gone are the hot spots and pinched toes and also allows for the cleat to be be set further back.

Dealing with Bike Tires Direct has been great! Price was awesome and let me order several sizes to insure a proper fit. Lake shoes are my now go to brand for bike shoes

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by gsharum
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best if you want comfort for long rides and need a wide shoe

If you have a wide foot, these are the shoes for you. I have owned Specialized and Giro but Lake are so much nicer, easy to put on and take off and just plain comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by Urbana Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent introduction to Boa Lacing

Purchased the CX238-X to replace a fairly dated (at least 10 years old) but still functional Sidis with rachet & Velcro system. Compared to my old shoes, the Lakes felt soft yet secure with no noticeable hot spots. The 2 Boa dials were easy to adjust and were able to distribute pressure more evenly on my foot. The ventilation also felt good, making my feet feel cool during 80+ degree/60+ humidity rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfy shoe for wide feet

Retired my Sidi Megas and bought the Lakes. After about 150 miles of riding, the Lakes feel less constricting in the forefoot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Most comfortable wide bike shoe I have tried.

High quality construction, comfortable and the carbon sole is very responsive to the pedal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Anonymous
New England
Overall Rating
Lakecx238 wide

Good quality shoe for the money. Extremely comfortable w the added bonus of a wide toe box. Super easy Boa adjustment on the fly-

Only drawback, and a big one is the lack of padding at the achilles/ankle. Also, the ankle is too wide which doesn't lock in the shoe when standing sprint or uphill maneuvers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Ken W
SoCal
Overall Rating
Great for wide feet

Having purchased cycling shoes in the past based on my guess from street and athletic shoes has been a disaster. Trying larger sizes to get a wider width became a waste of time and money. Using Lakes measurement method and finding the appropriate wide size for my feet worked out very well.

The CX238-X fit me just right. The length and width are spot on. The twin BOA dials allow for easy adjustment, even while riding. No hot spots on the foot from the uppers or the sole. The super stiff carbon fiber sole is wonderful for power transfer. Glad I saved up for this purchase. No regrets getting these shoes. Looking forward to many miles and smiles in my Lakes. Now to save up for a white pair of CX238-X.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 69

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]