Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Lake CX238 Road Shoe

LakeCX238 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by RD Cyclist

Reviewed 10/9/2023
by RD Cyclist
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Excellent Cycling Shoes!

I�ve been dealing with Morton�s Neuroma in one foot. These shoes have been godsend with their wider toe box. They are very well made, plenty stiff and supportive. Use Lake�s foot measurement system to get the correct size.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mithrilbike

Reviewed 1/30/2022
by Mithrilbike
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, stiff and comfortable for a wide foot

I tried the Specialized Ares shoe first and it was nice but too narrow for my feet with a perfect length. The Lake CX238 has a nice stiff and light carbon sole and fits my slightly wider foot (age 61 cyclist) with just enough room for thicker socks if I want to wear them. The two BOA ratcheting knobs on each shoe let you micro-adjust tightness in each direction (tighten or loosen). These shoes are super comfortable for rides up to 6 hours. My only slight complaint is that I do feel a bit of tightness from the uppermost tightening wire on my right foot when I am climbing and pedaling hard out of the saddle. They are still five star shoes to me. I used the Lake shoe sizing guide on their website to choose after measuring my feet on a sheet of paper as they recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/23/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A Fantastic Road Shoe- Be Careful on the sizing

The dual adjusts make a truly comfortable "all day" shoe. Sizing can be tricky. Use the Lake foot length measurement process (on Lake's website) to select the right size. The conversion from foot length (as shown on the Lake website) to US sizing is wonky. In the world of shoes I wear a US 9.5 which is consistent with my measured foot length (174mm) except for Lake which converts my foot length to a size US 10.5. I ordered by my foot length measurement (which is a EU 43.5) avoiding the US sizing confusion, and got a perfect fit. If you order by your US shoe size using the chart on the BTD webpage you will likely find the Lake shoe about a full size too small.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Oldkingcoal

Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Oldkingcoal
Cycling Enthusiast
Queens, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Comfortable Shoes

These are incredibly comfortable cycling shoes. While I purchased these on sale, they are absolutely worth the full price. I purchased these since I needed to finally replace my Time road pedal system. I had been using Carnac shoes(now extinct). Those were pricey in their time and were made of Kangaroo leather. I never thought I'd find shoes as conforming as those, but these Lake shoes likely surpass them. The leather upper in these shoes is soft and conforming, with a wider toe area than Sidis. The 2 BOA laces give ample adjustablity and fit. I have bunions that are no problem for these shoes. These shoes have a decent arch built in, but I still use my orthotics and have no issues with heel slide. I got the appropriate size by following the instructions on the Lake website. I recommend putting mink oil type leather protector on these to help protect the leather in the event you get caught in any wet weather. I am unsure of the overall durability of the leather, but as long as I get a few years use I'll be grateful. Time will tell.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/23/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Ultimate Comfott

For the past 14 years I have been using Sidi. My last pair was never comfortable. After much research, I landed on the Lake CX 238. Best decision I have ever made in cycling. I followed the Lake website for sizing, I was right at the end of the 44.5 and decided to order the 45. It turned out to be the correct move. The toe box is wider (but not too wide) and the comfort is noticeable. Also, the BOA system is far more comfortable than the ratchet and velcro of the Sidis, The real leather is like a glove on my feet. These shoes are a cycling treasure for this 63 year old cyclist. You will be happy if you buy these shoes. The BTD staff couldn't have been more helpful answering all my questions and helping with my decision.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BoomerBiker

Reviewed 2/15/2021
by BoomerBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable, well built shoe

I bought these to replace a pair of CX 237s which were nice shoes, but had a couple of flaws or limitations. First, the boa closure on the 237 model did not have the micro adjust in the reverse (loosening) direction, the 238 has the micro-adjustable boa closure. The 237 also had a leather liner. Over the time I've had them this liner has cracked and torn from getting wet and then drying out, repeatedly. I never had that issue with other shoes, but it was what caused me to replace them. The 238 fixed this issue by making the liner synthetic. Other improvements are the toe and heal guards to reduce the likelihood of scuffing the leather. The shoe is vey comfortable, particularly if you like a roomy toe box like I do. The sole is a nice, stiff carbon sole.

Overall, Lake took a good shoe with good value for the money and made it quite a bit better! I'm very happy with it and highly recommend it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/13/2023
by Anonymous
AZ
Overall Rating
Lake shoes are the best

Nice to finally get a shoe that fits American feet

Great fit, quality love the shoe

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BTDARE

Reviewed 3/24/2022
by BTDARE
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best fitting shoe I have found for my feet.

This shoe is very comfortable and fits well. I wear a size 47 in Lake and it was true to size as per their size chart (i.e. size 13+shoe in U.S. ). I have put in about 1000 miles or so finding it comfortable with winter socks as well.

This was purchased after finding the newer Specialized shoes too tight around the rear of the foot at the ankle joint area.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ashokdad

Reviewed 2/7/2023
by Ashokdad
Baltimore, MD
Overall Rating
Fit like a glove

The leather uppers are soft and compliant and fit like a glove. The double boa set up is a slightly pricey upgrade, but worth wild for the adjustability that it provides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable

Love the comfort of these shoes. The fit is accurate. I have not ventured outside of Shimano until this pair of road shoes being the fifth pair in ten years

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/17/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good fit and extremely comfortable.

Wide toe and soft leather uppers. A very comfortable feel. Very pleased with this purchase.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/22/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

I have a EE foot. The Lakes accommodated width and are easily the most comfortable shoe I've owned

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sblair32000

Reviewed 9/17/2021
by Sblair32000
Austin, Tx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good deal

Very nice pair of shoes that fit real well and feel great, maybe not the trendiest shoes you've ever seen, but do the job nicely!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/1/2021
by Anonymous
Windsor Ontario
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe

Best fitting shoe for wider feet. Love the power trnasfer from the carbon sole.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/29/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable

I really find these shoes comfortable on long rides. The boa works great. They also look good

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]