FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Kenda K193 Kwest K-Shield 700c Road Tire

KendaK193 Kwest K-Shield 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(12)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(50%)
(46%)
(0%)
(4%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/12/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for hybrids

Hav been using this tire for several years now. This is my second set. They wear we'll have excellent traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2018
by Tom Catt n Snoball
Haines city
Overall Rating
Kenda

Little over a thousand miles on these,, just starting 2 show a little wear on rear tire,,, im happy with them...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2015
by RichRies
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires with one glaring exception

Easy to mount. Stick to everything, paved or unpaved, wet or dry. Confident in corners. Sublime ride comfort. No flats yet (but since I routinely ride an entire year, several thousand miles, without a puncture, this may not be all that relevant). Their one fault is a biggie They're slow. Really, really slow. I have routes I ride frequently and on those routes with these tires my average heart rate is higher and my average speed is lower. I'm working harder to go slower. Hardly seems fair. It's not their weight, at 520 grams (on my digital scale) they're a bit lighter than the Kenda Kross Cyclos they replaced. I've run them at 80 psi and 60 psi and several points in between and they remain slow. By contrast Vittoria Randonneurs are almost frighteningly fast. But the Vittorias are super tight and nearly impossible to mount with shop tools, much less while fixing a flat on the roadside using little levers. If I could find a tire with the attributes of the Kwests and the speed of the Randonneurs, I'd never buy anything else. For now, the search for the perfect tire continues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2017
by Joe Rider
Competitive Racer
Bucks County, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy duty commuter

I put these on my commuter cyclocross bike to replace some very worn file tread cross tires. I wanted something more pavement friendly but still bullet-proof. These tires are heavy - overall a good thing as they seem super durable and puncture-resistant. The price is low!

They mounted easily for me. Since I was replacing cyclocross file tread tires I assumed the handling would improve but honestly it was about the same. The tire is very stiff and non-supple so they definitely are not a performance tire. That being said, that's not what I expected from a sub-$20 tire, and it does live up to the heavy-duty commuter role.

Great grip wet and dry but not very good on snowice - yes, I commute in ANYTHING. For the snowy days you'll need something grippier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2015
by Solstar
Casual Cyclist
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not flat yet !

Have had tire on a couple years little wobble in the rear tire wher daughter hit it with her car but mostly straight if I can keep the fenders from falling off !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2015
by Mattster
Casual Cyclist
Las Vegas, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires with possible reservations

Used these tires on my single-speed mountain bike to diminish rolling resistance on the streets. They worked wonderfully for that purpose! They also handled some light, dry gravel roads with ease. Never had any issues with them while riding, but after putting about 600 kilometers on the Kendas, and while the bike was being stored (outside, under a cover), one of the tires went flat on its own. The other one followed soon after. This could have been an issue with the (Michelin) inner tubes, of course, so all in all I find this to be a good tire for a very reasonable price, especially if its on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2015
by Daddy Chaps
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Coral,Fl.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire for the money

With three years and probably over 7500 miles I finally wore these out. I'm over 240 lbs. and realized I undersized these at 35mm . I rotated once front to back to get a little more time and started getting flats so now I am replacing with 40mm Michelin Protek. The roads here in Southwest Florida are coarse, hot, and the bike lanes glitter with glass shards dropped from recycling bins. Add a heavy guy to the mix and the tires are being tortured. The Kendas were fine in the rain and rode smooth. Really no complaints with this tire, just going to try something different - might be back next time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by FrankFrank
Cycling Enthusiast
NY, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Thousands of miles and going stong

I bought these in August of 2011 and with more than 5000 miles in NYC they are still rolling. I've had 3 flats during that time but I can't think of any tire that would have kept those glass shards out. Yes, I'm still running with good size shard slits in my tires. Looking for a tank commuter at a great price, these are awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire for a Good Price!

These Kenda Kwest K-193 tires in 700 x 35c are perfect for my around town bike. Bad roads, potholes, curbs, and road debris are no problem for these tires. They are reasonably lightweight and roll really well. The minimalist tread pattern keeps you wheels down when it's wet too. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The Tires are working very well and I am pleased with them.

I use the product for casual riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/1/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

very good tire for my city bike. Smooth and easy rolling. Good value for the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2013
by HybridRyder
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires, good value

I put a pair of these on my commuting hybrid in hopes of having a smoother ride. After about 100 miles I'm still impressed at how well they hug the road-even under damp conditions-I just wish I would have bought more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Bay area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product for that price

Have it for 2 months now and no problems so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2013
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Replaced knobby tires with these, fly like the wind now!

I replaced knobby tires on my mountain bike with these, still have the mtn bike tires for if/when I go offroad again, but found I was more times on pavement so decided to give these a try. I read all the other reviews about them on here first and found quite a few did the same thing so I was encouraged to try. I am amazed! No more huffing & puffing trying to get up hills, and I can do 10 miles plus with ease now. I don't bike regularly so don't go long distances but when I do I like to go faster and easier, and these tires work for that. I fly like the wind now! Just have to be careful going up gravel driveways and such like that because these don't grip like knobbies. Oh I also got the high pressure ones (100 lb) so had to buy a pump that can go up to that with a built in pressure gauge but I found one for [$] at a local store no problem. I can't really get up to 100 psi but close, 90 psi, and that works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2013
by Colorado biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
i purchased these tires a couple months ago and have been very pleased with them for soft trail and riding on asphalt and concrete. good overall tire,

i replaced both tires on my bike and are very pleased with them. Seem very durable. i use them on soft trails as well as concrete and asphalt trails and roads. They work well on all 3 surfaces. Have not used on any mountain bike trails, but would not expect to. not the correct tire for that surface. Around town a very good tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2013
by Shaun
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Nice value

Good traction and a solid performing tire. Holding up well with all the junk in the curb where a fixxie gets ridden.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
State College, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Very good road tire

Good road tire

has some grooves for water but not much and still has good traction when its wet

kshield is very good, doesn't seem like it will puncture easy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2012
by Ranger 1942
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Better of two options by far

DILs bike came with el cheapo tires that litterly blew off the rims when inflated to the correct pressure.

She and Son live out in the sticks and love cycling.

Figured they had two choices...Good tires or slime tubes.

The Kwest with K-Shield have held up really well and offer less rolling resistance.

(I may be prejudice..I run Kriteriums on both my road bikes and haven't had a flat all season)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2012
by Aaron G
Casual Cyclist
Louisville, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, would buy again!

I replaced my stock Specialized Crosstrail 2012 tires, which were 45mm wide with these babies and wow, what a difference! It has made my bike faster with less rolling resistance and the steering was also greatly improved. The best part was the price was right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2012
by Milest
Cycling Enthusiast
Houson, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires for the road.

My first set lasted 5 years and I hardly had any punctures. Good tread and rolls easy on pavement. Not good for dirt or off road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.