Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Kenda K1047 Small Block Eight SCT 29 Inch Tire

KendaK1047 Small Block Eight SCT 29 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(56%)
(22%)
(11%)
(11%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Rob
Competitive Racer
Pacific Northwest, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great multi-use tire, Good wear life, Lite and fast.

I use this as my commuter tire on my inclimate weather bike. It is lite and fast enough on the road with stiff knobs that do not flex and washout in turns. The lite supple casing rolls fast and climbs well, and is comfortable even at higher pressure. The knobs are deep enough to bite on gravel paths, fire roads and well groomed trails. Not the best for wet rocks and roots or mud. I do about 70% on road and 30% trail on my route and get a couple of years of regular use out of each rear tire (I'm on my 3rd and same front tire).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Derby, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires So Far

Ive ridden 360 miles of mostly gravel, a little pavement and a few miles of Singletrack. These tires have been very stable in large and small gravel and deep sand due to their size (29 x 2.1). Cornering in gravel is good, havent found the traction limit yet. ^) Rough roads, washboard and mildly rocky Singletrack has been smooth sailing. They seem to do fine in mud, but I havent been in the sticky stuff yet. Speed has been good with them and they roll better than I expected on pavement and do not sound like a truck. Seems like this bike and tire combination will ride well anywhere I want to go. Kendas are little pricey, but they have never let me down. Ive worn out three sets of Kenda Flintridge Pros on my other gravel bike with only one flat. The Flintridge does not come in my size for the new bike, but Im liking the SB8s. Bike is a Trek 920 29r.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
victoria, bc
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
poor puncture resistance

No resistance whatsoever to thorns and other sharp objects. 5 punctures in 60km of trail riding. Switched to Conti, and none in the last 400km on same trails

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Tire

Great tire for interurban trails, roads, gravel roads, and moderate MTB. If you are riding all sorts of terrain this is the best tire I have found. Yes, it will wash out a bit on gravel, but all tires will.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2018
by Brooks
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good XC tire for asphalt and dirt roads

OK , most of the other reviews are for the older version of this tire. Older took higher pressure. This is the foldable, dual compound version that is SCT tubeless sealant compatible. Pressure rating 30-50 psi.

I was able to mount the tire on DTSwiss rims without sealant with a normal JoeBlow pump. I wiped the tire bead and rim off with Windex beforehand. Held 40-45 lb pressure for a week. Then added sealant through valve. Tire good for hardpack and asphalt getting to the dirt, and is fairly light.... weighed about 650-670 gr. I would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great traction, lots of thorn flats.

Great traction for what I ride, but I am getting lots of blackberry thorn flats. I have gotten 5 this summer alone. The tires are only 6 months old too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2013
by Clint HR
Cycling Enthusiast
Hood River, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Favorite summer tire for dry Post Canyon single track

Excellent traction on hardpack trail with dirt 'ball bearings' in the corners. I usually pump these up to 75-80lbs for trip to the trailhead, sometimes 15mi on pave, then drop pressure to 35lb for the dirt. The sidewalls are a bit fragile for rock garden riding, but the tread wears well, and they are superior to all other heavy tread tires in the rock-hard dirt of summer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2013
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great on hard pack loose in sand and other soft conditions

Great tire for hard pack. Grips great on both front and back again on hard pack, but the front kept washing out in looser conditions, so I changed the front tire to one with a more aggressive tread. Kept the small block 8 on the rear and works great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Jethro
Daily Commuter
Colorado
Overall Rating
Good all around tire

This tire has good traction in the snow. Good in other conditions as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 09

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]