Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Kask Protone Helmet

KaskProtone Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(56)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(92%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Adamm
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An absolute treat

I already have a big head and my vanity will not allow me to slap a double-wide MIPS helmet on top of that. So after returning a top-o-the-line Giro that was as wide as my shoulders, I went looking for the lowest profile helmet I could find and Kask was the answer. Not only does is look great but you barely notice it. I just did a century last Saturday and I didn't think about my helmet once, even though everything else hurts. If it's not an issue over 100 miles it will never be an issue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2020
by MatM
Cycling Enthusiast
Gambrills, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Do you want to feel really good about spending money?

I have the Kask Mojito from a few years back. A really good helmet. It has a two way fit. The Protone has the Octofit. Its pretty slick how you can really dial in your fit. I bought a medium and and Im the upper end of the medium. I didnt need to adjust the chin strap. Im a big fan of how the buckle is offset and not in the middle of your chin. I gave it a few cranks on the back. Very nice fit. I cant say if this helmet is noisy as of yet, its gust in here today. Ive been more focused on staying upright. But my initial indications say its probably no noisier than any other aero helmet Ive used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2019
by Snowman
Cycling Enthusiast
N.E. Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
BEST HELMET EVER

Had to replace my old helmet. Looked for a new one for a couple of weeks until I found one I felt was the best out there. Wanted light weight, keep your head cool, good fit and does not sit high on top your head. The Kask Protone does it all ! What made my final push to buy was the online chat help I received from the Bike Tires Direct representative. When I received it, it was better than expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2019
by John
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Fit & Appearance

I have a large head and have owned a lot of helmets over the years, mainly Bell and Giro. This is the best-fitting helmet I've owned (I got the 59-62). I put it on and forget it's there. The strap connection points are adjustable so they position around your ears well, and the under-chin strap is comfortable. The buckle's in an odd place, right against the corner of my jaw, but I don't notice it while riding-mainly an aesthetic issue. The helmet nicely snugs around the crown and back of my head, and it's contoured well so it doesn't look too much like a mushroom atop my big head.

I may be imagining it, but the helmet also feels very aero from all angles. I ride in a lot of cross- and head-wind, and the wind doesn't seem to catch my head like it did with my Bell Sweep. I haven't ridden in hot weather yet so I can't speak to cooling or sweat management.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2019
by VanBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit, comfortable and looks good

The Protone fits well, is comfortable and the slimmer profile makes it more attractive than many bulbous helmets on the market. The quality of finish is excellent and the level of comfort is high. A helmet is definitely worth spending extra money on if you find it comfortable, you like the looks and it provides some level of protection. As one who struggles with sweat in the eyes, the Protone offers little help. That said, I have yet to find a helmets solves that problem. Hats and headbands are my only solution. As usual, Bike Tire direct service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by AndyS
Competitive Racer
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet, EVER

Most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. Great price too. Kask Protone is now my Go TO helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2018
by Z5_Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Helmet

Bought a Medium on sale and my 58 head fit perfectly. Adjustments are more advanced than other helmets on the market. Great chin strap. Bonus, I do not look like a mushroom.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Rick @OCRR
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet, well made, well vented, be careful on the sizing!

Overall I like the KASK helmet, reasonable weight, very well vented, but be careful on the sizing. I am a very medium sized guy but the medium helmet was almost too small on me. I had to max out the sizing adjustment ring to get an acceptable fit. Straps are well located, attachment buckle is on the side where it does not touch your head, so that is a very nice feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2019
by Ken B
Cycling Enthusiast
DFW Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My Best Helmet

Out of my 6 top brand helmets this is my favorite. Great fit, better straps than other helmets, plenty of air flow in the Texas heat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Jason
Idaho
Overall Rating
Protone Helmet

Head size 22 and 56 cm approx. and purchased medium that fit well, strap and adjustment are very nice, helmet is light would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Monica, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Ventilation and Fit!

I have an enormous skull and this is a great fit, which is a rare treat. Cool and quiet. Love!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/10/2017
by WestchesterBiker
Competitive Racer
Westchester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet I've used to date - comfort, speed and looks - this has it all.

Still in the early stages of using my new Kask Protone. Initially drawn to it by positive reviews from ride buddies. Compared to my previous helmets I can tell and feel that this is made with a view to cutting the air efficiently. It is comfortable with good venting and a high quality retention system, which on a ride lasting several hours on what could be a hot day, is critical. My previous helmet looked like a mushroom on my head - this does not. Plenty of flexibility in the retention to accommodate cold weather skull cap or liner. Sunglasses fit without problems. My only issue is that it feels a bit too snug on my forehead which I expect is more a function of my head shape rather than being any sort of design flaw.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by misterbentley
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing and highly adjustable

Love this helmet.

I've always been fearful of buying helmets online as there is generally a round or oval config for the shape...Kask's design is amazing. No issue and a dialed-in fit every time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by Turre
Competitive Racer
Baja, Mexico.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great aero helmet

This helmet is light and good looking. Kask makes quality, light and fancy cycling helmets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by Kevin
Tarzana
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Proton fits like a glove

I tried Giro first, but found the fit isn't for my head shape, the giro helmets are for rounder type heads, my head is thinner on the sides even though I wear xl helmets. The proton fits my head like a glove, even, and balanced. It's ducts keep my head nice and cool on hot days. During 50f days, it was too efficient, making my head cold, but I should have worn something underneath the helmet to cut the wind. I've had a ton of helmets over the last 30 years, and although it isn't the lightest, it fits the best!! Being aerodynamic, it reduces air drag in fast descents. I always catch my friends on descents, not sure what percentage is attributed to the helmet, but I'm sure it contributes in reducing drag.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2017
by Bikebaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lodi, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Sleek Modern Helmet

I use this product for every bike ride, short or long. It's stylish, comfortable and different than all others. I have received many compliments.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2016
by Gryder
Cycling Enthusiast
Irvine, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great looks, great fit and aero!

I was in the market to replace my Giro Synthe that I had to trash because of crash caused by a SUV cutting me off. I've always owned Giros but they never quite fit me right. I have a 59cm circumference head so according to Kask sizing, I should be wearing a large but the medium fits me great. I have a more round than oval shape head so that maybe the reason. Both the helmet and chinstrap are way more comfortable than my old Synthe. I love how the chinstrap lays perfectly flat against your face. That has to save a watt or two. ,-) I do have one minor quibble, my POC sunglasses do not fit that well in the air vents. Not a deal breaker but it's the reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
kask Protone

This helmet is the lightest and most comfortable Ive ever owned. Dont look any further. Just do yourself a favor and buy it from Bikestiresdirect. You wont regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2019
by Anonymous
Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is a top notch helmet

I love the fit. Very adjustable. The leather chin strap is very nice. I have taken a hard wreck in one and got my clocked cleaned pretty good but no concussion. Great helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2019
by Anonymous
NYC
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light weight good fit

This is my second Protone one I bought Large which was too Large. This time bought medium it fits snug with enough room for caps. Very light and comportable. Havent test safety(I hope Ill never have to)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 13