Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Gore Wear Mens C5 Goretex Shakedry 1985 Jacket

Gore WearMen's C5 Goretex Shakedry 1985 Jacket (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(17%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/10/2021
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Definitely think about buying this jacket.

I bought this jacket in February 2021 and since then have had worn the jacket a number of times. I guess the first ting I have to say is the jacket works to keep me warm over a large temperature range; and in regard to wind protection, it works great, and is comfortable. Have not worn it in a true rain storm yet. It is light and packable. I will note the jacket does seem to run small, so consider that when ordering. The only issue so far is the zipper assembly, which seems unforgiving. You need to perfectly line up the slide, the insert pin and the box pin, otherwise the zipper won't close properly. So far this hasn't been a problem, but then again I have not been cold and wet when trying to zip up the jacket. Lastly, I hit a big BTD discount for this item, makes it all the better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by J. Quon
Cycling Enthusiast
Canby, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Modern fabric technology is AWESOME

This is the 1st modern Gore cycling product that I've purchased and I'm really surprised at how well such a light jacket keeps the water out. It's a bit spendy normally but with a coupon or sale price, it is worth the price. Not how many versions are out there but mine doesn't seem to have the softer backing that my brother's version is but they seem the same on the outside. Either way, water isn't getting in unless you go swimming in it or leave the zipper open. As a bonus, it packs up into super small and light bundle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2021
by Dry Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Unbelievable how great this jacket is.

This jacket is thin, light, smooth, and waterproof. It fits close to the body so air does not cause you to become a sail on your bike. I wore this during a gran fondo in the mountains during a heavy rain day. I remained warm and my torso remained dry. I am so happy to have this jacket in my arsenal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Anonymous
Sacramento
Overall Rating
Great Jacket for rain and/or chilly mornings

Versatile jacket. Can't go wrong with Goretex for the wet weather. Keeps the core dry and warm. Works well for chilly mornings also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2019
by George
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worth every penny and then some more

The Shake Dry is an amazing fabric. It combines two contradictory requirements. It is 100% water proof, but it also breath as good or better than any light winter jersey. The translation, you stay dry from the outside, but your sweat also moves away, so you stay dry on the inside also. There is nothing like this. The older Goretex fabric was able to get the former right, but, it is nowhere near breathable. While it keeps the elements out, eventually, you will be swimming in your own sweat.

Fit is something personal, one jacket might be better than the other, or a different brand might fit better.

The downside Obviously, it is not cheap and it is relatively fragile. You cannot use a backpack or a hydration pack with it. And you can get it in any color you want as long as it is really dark.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2019
by Andy Leeka
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
Shakedry

Absolutely my go to windbreaker and light, wet weather jacket. I have not tested it in really heavy rain since I just received it. However, in a light rain it works outstandingly well. I just finished riding from Washington, DC to New York City. It is the perfect light, portable jacket to take the chill off early mornings and keep you dry. No doubt it is expensive, but the technology is well worth it. If I lost it, I would buy another one immediately.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2020
by DB
Western Washington
Overall Rating
Amazing jacket

This is an amazing light and waterproof jacket. I had the good fortune to test them out on a rainy gravel ride recently and immediately had to have one. It's perfect for wet Western Washington springfall rides. The size guide is dead on. I usually wear LXL in most manufacturers, but 42-44 is XXL for Gore and the fit is perfect, enough room for layering, but not so loose that it flaps on high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The perfect jacket for Seattle

This jacket has performed flawlessly throughout Seattle's rainy season. It's actually as rainproof and breathable as advertised, fits easily into a jersey pocket for mixed weather rides, and shows no wear after a season's use. It fits a little tight across the chest when upright so it isn't ideal for running, but fits perfectly in a riding position.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2018
by mtnCruzer
Cycling Enthusiast
Durango CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
As Good As Advertised

It really is shake dry and waterproof. The cut is a bit relaxed relative to other Gore garments and thus I did not have to go up one size. It still provides room for a long sleeve jerseythermal layer if needed. My jacket tipped the scales at 120g and easily fit into a jersey pocket. It is a bit of a challenge to fit into its own zip up pocket, but that is a minor issue. The logos on the sleeves are a bit over the top, but I am sure Gore is proud of what they accomplished. Pricey, but get it on sale. A great, high performance, light, waterproof layer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2020
by Ted
Hood River, Or.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great coat

This coat breaths better than any that I have previously owned. Important to layer light under it. Very light weight and better for road/gravel than mountain biking. Fit is snug.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Anonymous
PDX
Overall Rating
Solid

Has kept me dry from rain in heavy downpours in Portland. Best in cooler- cold temps

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2018
by jbithaca
Cycling Enthusiast
Ithaca, NY
Overall Rating
11 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Works as advertised.

Bought this to replace a 5 year old Showers Pass Elite 2.0 rain jacket. Rode in a downpour for about one hour in 65-70 degrees. Did not overheat. I am 5-10 and around 175 lbs with a 39.5 chest and 32 waist. I am a randonneur which rides brevets (125 miles and up) in all weather and wanted a jacket that was light weight, windproof and breathable. This checks all of these boxes. Wish it had more reflective material though I wear a reflective vest in low light andor night time conditions. Also because the zipper has small teeth you must be careful zipping it up or it can get snagged. The rear pocket is very small and will not fit a Samsung Galaxy S7 cell-phone. Not much room for more than a license or a small energy bar or keys. Barely feels like you are wearing anything. I put it in a small 1-quart ziplock bag in either my jersey or my handlebar bag or saddlebag to keep it from rubbing against other things. We will see how durable it is over time. Decided to buy this as there was a 25% off sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 74

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]