Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Roc Loc 5 Retention System

GiroRoc Loc 5 Retention System(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(8)
(2)
(2)
(3)
(73%)
(15%)
(4%)
(4%)
(5%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 3/23/2020
by jmarchan
Competitive Racer
Brownsville, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Giro Helment Replacement Part

I was just about retire my Giro Ionos Helmet, but I found the replacement part on Bike Tires Direct and my helmet is back in business.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2017
by rpeastman
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fit EXACTLY as it should

The old version broke. The replacement fit exactly as it should have - slipped directly into the existing sockets after removing the old broken s Roc-Loc pieces. Worked as it was designed. Actually, a fair price as well.

Richard Eastman

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by mcgrawm
Arkadelphia
Overall Rating
Saved me from having to buy a new helmet

A little tricky to install but totally possible. You must connect the middle piece (at the back of the head before connecting the side pieces. To connect that back piece you must turn it 90 degrees and really press hard to get the tiny plastic rectangle through the slot. You then turn it back to normal and the rest is very intuitive and easy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect replacement for Giro Atmos

Plastic part snapped on the helmet and I looked to see if I could get the replacement part instead of shelling out $100 for a new helmet.

Made sure it was the same locking system (there are multiple types for Giro helmets so make sure) and removed and installed with little to no drama.

The hardest part was snapping the top part back into the helmet. I had to twist and push the tab in. Everything else was just carefully routing the straps through.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy as pie and renewed my old helmet.

Broke my Gyro retention system in Tour de Palm Springs. Found the Youtube video about replacement. Much cheaper than buying a new helmet. Bought it, installed it, good as new!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2014
by TJD
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good snug fit.

Replaced old Roc Loc system with the new one quick and easy. Fit is very snug with easy adjustment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2013
by Carlos A
Competitive Racer
Nogales AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I hope it doesnt brake soon, looks very fragile

I was surprised when I looked at it, and see how fragile it looks

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fits my Giro Phase!!!

I hated the rocloc that came with my phase, fortunately this one fits the phase, with a bit of effort, but my helmet is much easier to adjust now!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2013
by MoCo
Cycling Enthusiast
Vanuatu
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect fit

If your Roc Loc breaks like mine did - use cable ties until you get one of these. Snaps right in. Installation requires undoing the chin strap from one side so that you can thread it through the Roc Loc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Fit

Item fit perfectly on my Giro Xar MTB helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2012
by mwride2
Cycling Enthusiast
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Roc Loc 5 Fragile and Defective in Design

I am replacing the Roc Loc 5 retention system for the second time in two years. It is a manufacturer's defect and should be replaced free of charge with something better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2012
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
good but fragile

Nice systems, but I've replaced it three times in the last two years after breaking the adjustment wheel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2019
by cheah
Casual Cyclist
long island ny
Overall Rating
original one cracked...this is the replacement

At first I thought it difficult to install considering the first one cracked and I thought this piece too fragile to really man handle. Mine cracked on the thinnest part of the lateral side of the piece. There's a few online reviews of people complaining this is hard to install as well. Not the case however. You have to, with your thumb, push the male piece out far enough so it will fit back in the female end. It won't break, the plastic is flexible enough. The whole piece though, unlike the original, moves up and down far more easier and freely once the replacement is attached. I actually didn't know it did that......but it most certainly does now. Not a bad thing however. All of this will make sense should you try what I'm saying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Anonymous
Utah
Overall Rating
Perfect fit, quick delivery

This was the the correct replacement part for an old broken one and now I can use my helmet again! Cheaper than buying a new one. Pretty tricky to get on, so I recommend watching a how to video.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2020
by Caingray
idaho
Overall Rating
Amazing

Fit beautifully and saved me from having to buy another $250 helmet- they even got rid of the tiny spring that broke on the original that came in my helmet- ratchets better than ever as well as increased comfort!!! Definitely buy!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Anonymous
Oregon
Overall Rating
Perfect Fit

So I replaced the retention system in my

Giro helmet with this product. It fit perfectly and was fairly easy to install. Unfortunately, I crashed the helmet a few weeks later. Glad I had the new retention system.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Easy to replace, fit just as original

Wasnt even sure this part was able to be replaced and was glad to find it available. It was a little tricky to align the pieces and replace out this part, but overall only took A few moments. Havent had an issue since.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2020
by Mike
Boston
Overall Rating
Gear extender!

This system is not the most durable. When mine broke I thought I needed to buy a new helmet. I was so pleasantly surprised that this replacement is available. My helmet is like new again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/21/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Freiburg, Germany
Overall Rating
Need replacement after 2 years

The grey 'case' of the lock broke apart after 2 years of usage aprox. twice a week. For more durability this part should be from fiber plastics or something like this. On the other hand the retention system is very easy to adjust with one hand and comfortable. Looks like no shop offers the spare part in Europe so I came here. My helmet is still in very good condition beside the broken lock and this service will ensure an again satisfied GIRO customer. )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect fit - way cheaper than new helmet

The part came as advertised, fit perfectly and working great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 65

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]