Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Register MIPS Helmet

GiroRegister MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(60%)
(10%)
(20%)
(0%)
(10%)
Reviewed 6/11/2021
by Chicago Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love the helmet!

Its very comfortable, and easy to fit. I have struggled with the sizing of other helmet brands, the Giro was so easy to adjust and fit. The color is highly visible riding on urban streets. I would buy it again in a minute. As a matter of fact, I got one for my wife too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Randoneeman
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet but adjustability sucks

My head circumference is 24" and the Register fit fine. If my head were a little bit bigger, not so.

I ordered this helmet because Consumer Reports rated it highly although they added that adjustability was a problem. That was a gross understatement.

The generic helmet manual pamphlet that comes with the helmet says to adjust the straps so that the helmet cannot be pushed up off your forehead or ride up in back. Good advice. Trouble is, the straps are sewn together at the point where most helmets have a fitting permitting one to follow that advice.

If you are lucky, your head size and shape is such that the straps are "just right" as is. If you are not (and I bet most folks fall in this category), the helmet cannot be properly adjusted.

I hope the folks at Giro fix this flaw; meanwhile, only buy this helmet if you can try it on somewhere first and see if you have a Goldilocks head.

I am shipping it back to BTD using their label so my refund will be reduced by $7.95. Fair enough. But do not make my mistake!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2020
by MJ
DC area
Overall Rating
Excellent helmet-- excellent price

Seems great, but i haven't tested it in a crag yet!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Pat
Cycling Enthusiast
FarRockaway,New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice

This helmet is light weight and adjust easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2018
by JOFOB
Casual Cyclist
South GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Helmet, would buy again.

My sole criticism of this helmet is the straps which I thought were poorly adjustable. I was able to replace them with the straps from an older helmet with just a little effort. I did not find the ventilation to be a problem, even though I live in the southern part of Georgia, a state not not for pleasant summers. I would buy this helmet again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2018
by Steve
Bentonville, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable fit but somewhat lacking in ventilation

Helmet fits well and is very comfortable on but may not have enough room for balaclava or beanie come cold weather. The Highlight Yellow is very visible which is main reason for selecting this helmet. The visor is too short and too high to be of any use. The ventilation is not adequate for hot & humid conditions. This will be my commuter helmet. It is a good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2018
by SteveP
Cycling Enthusiast
Bentonville, AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable fit but somewhat lacking in ventilation

This helmet fits my head well and is very comfortable. I'm concerned that there may not be enough room for skullcap or balaclava come cold weather though which could be a shame as this helmet seems better suited for cold weather. 1) The helmet is not as well vented as the Giro Pneumo it is replacing or the Bell helmet I had prior to that. It is noticeably warmer on hot days. 2) The visor is pretty much worthless. It sets too high and is too short to block any sun.

That being said it is a good value. The highlight yellow is very visible. I wish the straps were more adjustable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by Craig
Williamsburg
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Exceeded my expectations!

Purchased on the recommendation of Consumer reports, whose objective, thorough and impartial judgment I have relied on for decades.

Perfect fit, easy to adjust, secure feeling, and a nice minimalist flat gray color without gaudy ornamentation...also like the generous ventilation ports and detachable sun visor.

The best MIPS helmet I have owned in my 74 years...thanks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by Craig
Williamsburg
Overall Rating
Exceeded my expectations!

Purchased on the recommendation of Consumer reports, whose objective, thorough and impartial judgment I have relied on for decades.

Perfect fit, easy to adjust, secure feeling, and a nice minimalist flat gray color without gaudy ornamentation...also like the generous ventilation ports and detachable sun visor.

The best MIPS helmet I have owned in my 74 years...thanks!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2018
by wind2URback
Cycling Enthusiast
Phila
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
MIPS Helmet

Fits well. Great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 44

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]