FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Giro Montaro MIPS MTB Helmet

GiroMontaro MIPS MTB Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(55%)
(36%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/10/2017
by Boston Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fitting helmet, with one correctable flaw

The helmet fits great and is very comfortable, however the GoPro mount that was provided in the box did not fit. It was very loose, and wobbled around in the quick-release mount. I found this answer from httpswww.pinkbike.comnewsgiro-montaro-helmet-review-2015.html helpful

Thanks for calling us out on the GoPro mount... We just received replacements in our warehouse and at our distributors' warehouses. Here's the part number 8046963. Give a shout to Giro customer service, your dealer or distributor and we'll get replacements out.

I contacted Giro support, and they sent me a GoPro quick-release that fits properly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2018
by Chaz
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Lower profile for giant head but still adequate coverage

My giant head makes most mips helmets look like doppler radar towers on my noggin. This helmet has a lower profile - even though it is also mips - and has plenty of coverage on the sides and rear.

It's light and very comfortable. As cool as any other helmet I've owned too - good ventilation.

Get one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2017
by KG314600
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Mtn Bike Helmet

After years of using road helmets while mountain biking I decided on and the Montaro. The fit is as good as any of my road helmets and the added material isn't noticeable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2016
by USCkid
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, if it fits

Giro made a fine helmet. Fit and finish, ability to dial in fit and included accessories make this helmet a good value. However, it didn't fit me quite right. The strap on the left side kept digging into the back of my ear. I didn't want to live with this on long rides. The right side of my head was just fine, so maybe it's just my head shape. It might fit you better, give it a shot because it's a nice, solid helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2015
by deeBiker
Competitive Racer
Portland,
Value Rating
Overall Rating
best bang for buck MIPS MTB Helmet

Can't complain at all about this helmet. It's a straightforward fit with stylish trail looks. I like the retention system and the weight's not bad. The adjustable visor is a nice touch as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2015
by Darrin
Competitive Racer
Reno, NV.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit, looks and price

I just got one of these helmets before a week of riding in the Downieville area. The set up was super fast with the new retention system. I really like the new strap guides that do away with the cam lock. The straps lay flat and don't twist. I also really like the in-molding that goes all the way around so no EPS is showing. My helmets take a lot of abuse and exposed EPS gets hammered on in no time. This is my first helmet with MIPS which I can take or leave but safety first...

The fit was spot on for my head and all the little style hits was a bonus for what I was a super reasonably priced helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Carnalvelez
sunrise FL
Overall Rating
Exellent protection and confort

Tje only reason i m giving it 4 starts is because the padding. I had to get a replacement padding right after the 1st use. The sems at the end are falling aprt and the same is happening with the replacement. Other than that the helmet has great coberage and it stay put when you shake it coming down the hills

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Brenton
Ridgecrest CA
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite mtb helmet

I really like this helmet, I use it for everything from XC to all mountain ridding. I really how light it is and very comfortable too. I'm on my second one and if they still make it when I need a new mtb helmet, I will definitely get another one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2017
by Like to MTB
Cycling Enthusiast
San Clemente, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very Happy

Light, good looking, good fit, sun visor, and excellent product at a good price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2015
by pdxcrossguy
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Trail Helmet!

Love this helmet. It's a straightforward fit with stylish trail looks. I like the retention system and the weight's not bad. The adjustable visor is a nice touch as well. Solid construction that's ready to take an impact if it needs to while keeping my head nice and safe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2017
by Fibu
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, Fl
Overall Rating
Great Helmet!

Very comfortable and the fit is perfect... a bit on the heavy side though

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.