Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Merino Wool Glove

GiroMerino Wool Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(48%)
(38%)
(10%)
(5%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/4/2021
by GOGG
Competitive Racer
Far NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Versatile glove

I've used these gloves for a few months now. They are great for about 35-60 degrees, as long as it's not too windy, as they are not windproof. The grippy dots work, and these gloves are touch screen compatible. I appreciate that it's easy to wash and dry the gloves as well. I just rinse them in the sink with dish soap and dry them by the fireplace.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect cool weather wool gloves

Like gloves in the time of year were temps are inthe low40s

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not as warm as advertised

These were advertised to work well down to 45 degrees but the packaging listed 55 degrees and above. Also rather bulky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Versatile and sharp looking

Got this glove for bicycling and it works great down to the 40s. The rubber nubbins have worn just a bit after one season, but the overall glove is still in excellent condition. It is also a great looking glove and I ended up buying another pair just to wear when I am not cycling. You can also use a smartphone with the fingers which is nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect cool weather wool gloves

Like gloves in the time of year were temps are in the low 40s

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Michel
sf bay area
Overall Rating
Very comfy gloves

These gloves are super comfy, warm and they allow me to interact with my iPhone and Garmin perfectly well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2019
by Big O
Cycling Enthusiast
Pass Christian, Ms
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Not Really a Biking Glove

Just purchased these gloves on your one day half off sale. Used on a ride where the temp was 43-45 degrees at the start. Wind went through the gloves. My hands got cold fairly quickly. Gloves also slipped on the handle bar. Dont really know what the little bumps are for. These gloves will be good for just wearing when you need gloves in cold weather, but I would not recommend for biking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by Rhinorider
Daily Commuter
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good gloves

Very warm for what they are. I've worn them on slower mtb days (not windy) down to about 35F. And slower commuting days to about 40F.

Grippers are nice.

Touchscreens work fine. I've even started using these gloves on a day to day basis for non riding stuff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for spring/fall

I bought these gloves in neon for visibility when signaling on my commute in downtown Boston. They are very comfortable on the bike. I have worn them on short (2 mile) rides at 25 degrees and have been ok - wouldn't go much longer though. The wool quality is high and the touch screen compatible feature does work. All in all these are a nice 2 season springfall glove.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2018
by Chainstay
Cycling Enthusiast
Toronto, Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Warmest liners going

Wear these in sub zero temps under lobster gloves and they work on 100km rides. Since they are wool they will wear holes but these are tougher than others I have had

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2018
by DC commuter
Daily Commuter
Arlington VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good commuter value

Because BTD keeps track of all your orders, I am able to see I bought a pair of these (at the same price as available today, interestingly) two years ago.

These are a good choice for weather from the mid-30s on up to 50 or so degrees. I'm not sure the dots contribute much but they don't cause any problems, either. For grip, I have an older stretched pair of fingerless gloves that I would put on over these.

After two years, I will need to buy another pair, apparently. The thickness of the material is even and so what are high wear areas (maybe this is just for me) wear through - the area that covers the inside (towards the rest of the hand) of the thumbs in particular.

The gloves might have lasted longer if I had not occasionally worn them for non-cycling activities, like walking the dog.

Because the temps here can vary widely from morning commute to late afternoon commute, I have a selection of gloves that I mix and match. After fingerless gloves, these are the ones I use in moderate temperatures. In the 30s I use these with some thin glove liners with some success.

I have some lobster gloves for weather below freezing and down below 25 or so I use thin liners with those - I don't think these gloves are particularly good as liner gloves since they fill up the air space too much, but I haven't made a scientific study of it. )

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2018
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for using inside of Bar Mitts

I use the Giro wool glove inside my bar mitts when riding in below freezing temperatures. The gloves work on my Garmin Edge 1030 screens and keep my hands warm enough when locking up the bike at rest stops. Sweat is not much of an issue because of the merino wool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2017
by Indiana Biker
Competitive Racer
Columbus, Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for cold weather running, cycling in the 40s or as under-glove for mittens in really cold weather

I bought these as a sale item on BikeTires really with a view to using them for cold weather running (below freezing), however they really surprised me with how warm they are and how much wind blocking they achieve with just a wool weave. Ive used them as a base glove under lobster claw mitts in the 20s and on a change-able day ended up with these as my main glove as the temperature came up to the high 30s, my mitts got stashed in my jacket pocket. Grippy dots on the palm & fingers help feel with brakes and gear shifters, the conductive tips work well with my iPhone. Overall great value and a great product, Ill be buying some more. I use these for daily commuting as well as training rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2021
by TeeArgh
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Overall Rating
Great lightweight glove

I've been using these gloves this winter for a variety of things. By themselves, they're warmer than I'd thought they would be making them nice for short evening walks with the doggo in sub freezing temps. Under the snow gloves, they provide a nice extra insulation layer for colder days, and great when needing to take the large glove off to access phone, etc (thumb and index work well with touch screen so far). Under the bike gloves, which was why I'd bought these originally, they're great, and work as hoped. They do add a bit of bulk when under my slimmer snow and bike gloves (don't know how to get around that) which isn't ideal, but compared to large, bulky snow gloves they're svelte and comparably warm. When combined with my PI cyclone gel gloves, they've kept me warm on 1-2 hour rides in 20-30F temps where the pearl izumi gloves won't do by themselves. The only thing I've needed to watch out for is velcro. I can tell that these, being knit, may be capable of disintegrating, or being pulled apart if constantly in contact with any velcro.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Overall Rating
First impression was very positive.

I've only worn these once so far and was really impressed with how comfortable they were for a 3 hour ride. Initially I was concerned because they have no padding in the palm but on my ride the glove padding was not missed. They kept my hands warm and were very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2021
by Mason
Colorado Springs
Overall Rating
Knitted bike gloves

I got these after losing a pair of standard cool weather cycling gloves. I was initially neutral at the appearance, but when I use them for cycling and warmer skiing conditions, I loved them. Moisture from my skin or from the writing conditions didn't seem to change there efficiency. Would definitely buy them again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Boston
Overall Rating
Takes the chill off, but no padding

These gloves are fine for short rides on cool days. I will most likely use them for utilitarian trips about town. The grips and the touchscreen compatibility are a nice addition.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2017
by sr64olds
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
GIRO MERINO WOOL GLOVE

I have not used the gloves extensively. I have worn them twice on road bike rides. In my experience these gloves are of good thermal quality. The fit and feel of the material is good as well. However, when it comes to grip, I did not feel as confident as when I use my regular fingerless cycling gloves. I am not suggesting one would be totally unsecure, though due to the nature of the material you will feel some movements of the hands inside the gloves. Personally, I would not use them mountain biking. Otherwise, they are of good value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2019
by Mark
Vail colorado
Overall Rating
Good glive

I bought this glove to wear as a light glove for everyday use in the cold weather. I live in Vail and it works very well for that purpose. I will probably wear it when the weather clears this spring for peddling around town but I dont think it would be the glove to have for a big ride in the cold.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2019
by Mister Cheesecake
Daily Commuter
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
The Giro Merino Wool Glove is more than toasty below forty degrees.

With the current snow levels these casual wool gems have been perfect for late evening commutes when the temperatures have been as low as 30 degrees. One of the best purchases I have made in 2019. Why did I wait so long. Great fit and easy care.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 03

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]