Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Giro Isode MIPS Recreational Helmet

GiroIsode MIPS Recreational Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(4)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(63%)
(25%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Bike Utah

Reviewed 8/26/2021
by Bike Utah
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake CIty
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A great value!

The price was what made me interested, I knew I had to have a MIPS helmet, and I was dubious it could be good and be this inexpensive. But I dove in. It is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned, and it is light too. I don't notice any overheating problems it is well vented and the adjustment straps work well and have a great design (no having to cut off excess strap.). I will buy this one from now on, or at least until something better than MIPS comes along.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by vrosales

Reviewed 5/12/2020
by vrosales
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect it love it

I purchased this helmet because it has the MIPS, because of the MIPS I have a perfect fit. the fitting is easy to adjust and does not come loose during rides. I am very happy with this order. I received it fast and it was a very smooth experience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe Wiederhold

Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Joe Wiederhold
Bellingham
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good, not great

Thought the price was a little too good to be true. It is an adequate helmet for guest riders (used occasionally) don't think it would hold up in daily use. Just a lighter version of my $100 plus Giro helmet. Has the same features, just not as robust.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mc Ryder

Reviewed 1/10/2023
by Mc Ryder
Daily Commuter
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Straight forward- comfortable, easy to use

Great for the occasional rider. Straight forward and Easy to use. Comfortable. Fits well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/26/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
wildomar, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Stylish, practical and functional.

Casual riding around town and nearby country.

Lightweight and easy to adjust. The straps can be challenging at times, based on how it connects through helmet, but just gently tug on one side to even them out.

Love the matte color.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/15/2019
by Anonymous
McDermott, OH
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best Value Helmet

For just a bit more than an entry level Schwinn helmet, this helmet manages to pack an array of amazing and possibly even life-saving features. First, the MIPS portion of the helmet is worth the cost increase alone for its proven safety benefit. Secondly, the ample ventilation in this helmet is more than enough to cool you down on your next local club ride or even a century. Next, the Roc Loc adjuster on the back of the helmet seems very reliable from my experience and it allows for a safer, more comfortable helmet. Finally, the color schemes are stylish and the reflectivity is also another added safety benefit.

At this price point this helmet cannot be beat, especially not my a company as reputable as Giro.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 8/9/2019
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Helmet, Odd Looking

I bought this helmet because it was on sale and I was looking for a helmet with MIPS. The finish is great and so is the technology, but because it is a one size fits all style, it looks kind of big and ungainly on me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/2/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet - just wish you could adjust the straps under the ear

Fine, comfortable helmet that I bought for my daughter. The only thing keeping it from being five stars is the fact that you can't adjust the straps under the ear, making for a more clunky fit. Otherwise, a fine helmet.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Typically the under-ear straps have a snap that you can open to adjust them up and down, and change the fore and aft tension!
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/3/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very happy

Nice and light very comfortable

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bad Bobby

Reviewed 5/9/2019
by Bad Bobby
Iowa
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great product great price

I needed a new helmet for my wife this was on sale, fit like a glove, great purchase!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/19/2021
by Anonymous
El Paso Tecas
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit

Fits perfectly. Easy on easy off. Comfortable and light weight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/23/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Central Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good helmet.

Mountain biking. it's light with good airflow.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/17/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany NY
Overall Rating
Fits good and fairly light.

I was looking for a low cost MIPS helmet for gravel ride and this works.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ben

Reviewed 8/6/2021
by Ben
Iowa
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet for the price!

I have been using this helmet for a few months now and really like it! The helmet itself appears well constructed but Is also very light. As far as the MIPS system I have no complaints whatsoever. It does exactly what it says it does; provides a custom fit and keeps the helmet securely on my head... Overall, excellent helmet for the price!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Reggie

Reviewed 7/2/2020
by Reggie
Bowie, Md
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helment

Love the helments I brought a grey and white one. I was looking for nice helments to that I can use for different color bike clothes. The Giro helments was perfect. They are very light and extremely comfortable for riding

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tamies

Reviewed 10/2/2020
by Tamies
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Helmet

Fits very well. The straps don't tangle up so no hassle or frustration trying to untangle the straps when you are in a hurry.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]