Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Empire SLX Road Shoe

GiroEmpire SLX Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(96%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/26/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Next best thing to barefoot on the beach!

I developed plantar fascitis this year and my Sidi Ergo2 and Ergo3 I have enjoyed for years became painful to even put on my feet. I also have a pair of Fizik's that wasn't working either. The Empire SLX has been a gift for my feet! These took a few rides to break in and are now much more comfortable than any bike shoe I have ever worn. And very , very light. My foot is fairly wide and the shoe expands in the toe and forefoot areas to accommodate. I do not miss buckles as the design of this shoe provides give where other shoes caused pressure at the point of the buckle closure on the side of my foot.. I am a 44.5 in Sidi Ergo2 and generally a U.S. mens 10 in most street shoes. These fit me in a 44.5 which is listed as 11 US mens. So I would recommend you order at least a half size larger than what your regular shoe size is.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2017
by Carl
DFW, TX
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Yes, the reviews are right

Comfortable Oh yes, unlike anything I've ever used dating back 20 years. My feet just disappear into them. They wrap around my feet with the most uniform pressure I've ever experienced. For lacing i just get them as tight as i can and they loosen up just a bit as I ride. But even when they're a little loose, no change to the comfort. The included arch supports work great. I use the highest of the three.

Stiffness oh yeah. Sprint finishes, no problem!

Weight I don't know how it matters but it really does seem to. I'm just flat out faster turning over the pedals in these.

Intangibles There's a significant stack height difference. These shoes feel REALLY close to the pedals! Perhaps it's really this and not the weight i feel.

Bottom line Sidi's now used on the trainer! These are the go-to's

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2019
by Lance_notstrong
los angeles
Overall Rating
Great performer and styling

Giro empires are a classic high end race shoe! Once you get the fit down, about half size smaller than usual. Great shoes and love the ability to tighten areas more than others with the lacing system.

Ive customized the uppers and its a great canvas for that. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2019
by Lance_notstrong
los angeles
Overall Rating
Top quality shoes

These are one of my go to shoes with great design. Would suggest going up half a size from your normal size in cycling shoes as this particular Giro model are a tad narrowersmaller. The laces allow for personal fit in terms of tightness at lower and upper portion of your foot.

Power transfer feels great and shoes fit snug once you get them broken in. Got another pair of these as a backup pair as I'm not a big fan of the imperial with their mesh design as I like to have the ability to customize the design on this shoe and it's generous surface area.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/15/2019
by Anonymous
San Francisco
Overall Rating
Laces

These are a great light weight roadgravel shoe. This is my 3rd pair since their inception in 2015. The last pair I got roughly 20k miles out of them. I love the support of the laces. The sole is solid. However like all road shoes if you crash you will rub the uppers of the shoe to the point theyll either get a hole or theyll be too supple to support your foot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/23/2017
by rareclan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super light and comfortable

After reading about this product, as well as other reviews, I decided to give them a shot and I'm glad I did. These shoes offer a rigid sole and very light weight. I have not yet ridden them in the heat of summer, so I cannot comment on how cool they will be as the temps go up, but I have very happy with them so far. The laces do cause a bit more time and thought when putting on the shoes versus Velcro andor ratchets, wire, etc., but I think it is well worth it as to how you can get the shoe fit exactly how you want it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
phoenix, az
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit, very comfortable and with a stiff sole

I picked these up on sale and couldn't be happier. My old Specialized BOA came completely off and I had been struggling to find a shoe that was as comfortable as those until i took a chance and tried SLXs. First ride was a bit of trial and error on how tight to tie the laces but once thats figured you'll forget you have them on, which is the idea with any new bit of kit. Overall I'm glad I tried these out cases not only do they look sharp (got the bright orange pair) they also fit great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2019
by billspreston
Cycling Enthusiast
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfection

Huge fan of laces on cycling shoes. The fit and aesthetics afforded by laces are superior to a BOA type system while being lighter and less complicated. Thank you Giro for giving us a simple performance oriented lace-up shoe!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2016
by EnduranceJunkie
Cycling Enthusiast
Yonkers, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light weight and comfortable

So far, the lightest and most comfortable road shoes I've owned. I've been using these pair with my Speedplay Zero pedals and walkable cleats. Current mileage is 217 miles and my longest ride was 57 miles and it's very comfortable shoes and it's so light. No complaints here.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seal Beach CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Size Matters.

Yes, these shoes are a wonder to behold. Wonderful fit, beautiful construction, super light. Have a chair or stool ready to put them on as the laces do take a little more time to get ready. When they are on sale, the price is ridiculous.

However. The size chart is ALL wrong. I wear a 9.5 and the size chart recommends a 43 for that size. I had to get a 44 for proper fit. That is the same size as a Specialized shoe I wear. I don't blame Biretiresdirect for this as this is the same size that Giro recommends from their website. I did tell them about this.

For the weight weenies, the 44 weighs 201 gramsshoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by BillyNYC
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love these shoes

Got on gold sale....very light, stiff, comfortable and hi end

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by bb
Cycling Enthusiast
cincinnati ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
most comfortable shoes ever

very lightweight and comfortable shoes. I've had sidi and theses are comparable in size as I wear 43 in both. lace ups make it so it is adjustable in more points.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2015
by Fpetrulli
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester, Ma.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Wow! Light weight and comfortable.

Saw these online at a great price. I was a bit skeptical about the laces but was pleasantly surprised when I laced them up and rode 80 miles without them ever feeling loose. These are great, light weight and fit like a pair of your favorite slippers!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2015
by cjheimerl
Competitive Racer
Littleton, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love the fit and the weight!

I was absolutely amazed when I pulled these out of the box. I had no clue how light they really were. And the lace up fit is so custom and snug. The little elastic strap for the laces is perfect. I've had so many compliments on these shoes and again, the weight and the fit are perfect. Bravo Giro!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2015
by Ãlvaro
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
high performance

Using these shoes for almost a year, 6,000 miles, best shoes ever super light, fit like a glove, stiff sole great performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2015
by donaldusa
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
fantastic.....

very light and comfort...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by sc13285
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really great shoe

Unbelievably light and comfortable. Felt broken in within the first few rides. A definite upgrade from my older Giros. Hell of a price too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2017
by John
Westchester, NY
Overall Rating
Light and comfortable

I replaced a pair of Sidi shoes with these. I have a hotfoot problem and to date have not experienced an episode yet. That said I have not gone further than 50 miles. I like the light weight, they are super comfortable and I don't miss the buckle and Velcro one bit

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2017
by Mountain Goat
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Light, stiff shoe great for climbers and spinners

I'm a lightweight (150 lb) climber and ride a lot in the hills on the SF peninsula. I've been using Sidi Genius models for the past 15 years and also have an old pair of Rocket 7. Sidis fit me like a glove, but it seems they are getting so expensive, so I decided to try something different. The SLX Empires are about 125gshoe lighter than my Sidis (same weight as Rocket 7s). This weight savings is significant, especially for a shoe since that is rotational weight. When I ride with these I feel like I want to spin more. While not quite as comfortable as the Sidis, they are close. The main difference I feel in fit is the heel cup. The Sidis grab the heel more and the SLXs are tighter around the arch and instep. Once I'm on the bike grinding away and suffering I don't notice this however. Both are super stiff so no difference there I can tell. I do have to spend more time putting on the SLX and adjusting the laces (I actually have to use a shoe horn to get them on), so that's the only drawback. Otherwise I think they are a great shoe.

I wear size 10 consistently and bought these in 43.5. My Sidis are 44. They feel a bit narrower than the Sidis so if you have wider feet you probably want to size up.

Bottom line If you want to save some weight or like to spin, and don't mind spending an extra couple minutes putting on your shoes, you will like these. It may take some time to get dialed in with the right size, arch inserts, and lace adjustments, but once you do you'll benefit from these lightweight performers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, Oregon
Overall Rating
Very light. Excellant fit.

Excellent fitting shoe, true to size. Very light and comfortable. Laces are long enough to tuck into sides of shoes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 32