FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Giro Empire ACC Road Shoe

GiroEmpire ACC Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(13%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by psychoch
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Most comfortable bike shoes I've ever owned

I'm a road bike rider, and have owned shoes from a number of different brands-Sidi, Fizik, Diadora. These are extremely light, and very comfortable. After a hilly 200k ride, no hot spots or foot discomfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2017
by Anonymous
Tampa
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Looks fantastic

These shoes are cut small and a lot little closed in. They look great. I am a 10 normally in regular shoes. I returned these and got the Giro Slx Empire. Love them. I got the 44. 5 11 US men's. They fit good and are the most comfortable shoes I've ever had I wire Sidi Ergo for years in 44.5 but these are more comfort. I have a wide foot so stretched these out gently with a wooden spoon when I got them. The slx is super light and comes with a variety of insole. I would recommend these for comfort and lightness and adjustability and go up at least a half size. I don't wear anything else since I got my Giro Empires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
la Mirada CA
Overall Rating
Light, stiff and comfortable

The Empire ACC works for me. I like that adjusting the laces makes the fit more customized. I don't think about the shoes or my feet while riding. They're lightweight, stiff and comfortable I like the looks too. Best shoes I've tried, and I'm picky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2017
by Anonymous
la Mirada CA
Overall Rating
Light, stiff and comfortable

The Empire ACC works for me. I like that adjusting the laces makes the fit more customized. I don't think about the shoes or my feet while riding. They're lightweight, stiff and comfortable I like the looks too. Best shoes I've tried, and I'm picky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Steve
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No more doubts about shoes w laces

I've always had shoes with ratcheting buckles or hook-and-loop straps. I was motivated to buy these because they are fully reflective (which is amazingly bright and effective) but had my doubts about the convenience and comfort of cycling shoes with laces. After several months, those doubts are gone. In fact, I will be sticking with laced shoes (so long as they're available, I suppose). It's easy to get them comfortably laced up, the lace garage is easy to use, and I've had zero problems with the laces. These are also my first Giros and they are stiff and fit well. I found the size charts mystifying, but I wear size 12 sneakers and went with size 47s (even though the chart recommends 46) because I wear 47s in Sidis and Shimanos. The 47s work perfectly for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2017
by SC_SoCal
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Monica, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Beautiful and well-made

I am a big enough fan of the Giro Empires that I own four pair. The laces allow for customization of fit that is terrific....a little tighter or looser wherever you want. No worries about the laces coming undone as Giro has produced laces that do not come undone. They are light, they are comfortable, and they look great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2016
by Biker Prince
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not quite right- for me

I really liked the idea of using laces to get the best possible fit. Unfortunately, the last was too narrow through the mid foot area for me and I could compensate enough by loosening the laces. I ordered the shoes in red to match my bike and kits, but they were almost orange. I sent them back back unused.

I was surprised that BTD doesnt offer a return shipping charge, that is deducted from the credit, and paid $XXXX to ship them back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Like a old friend

Worried about laces taking so much time to put on. Does take a little longer to get on but it is worth the time. Have a few hundred miles on the Giro's and can't tell much difference between first time I put them on. Break in time was very short. Feet don't hurt anymore after a ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2016
by cascadebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfy and Built to Last

Sometimes it is helpful to get the perspective of someone who has actually been using a product for awhile. I've used these shoes almost exclusively through 10,000 miles of riding- they are outstanding. Super stiff sole and easily adjustable fit to adapt to wide or narrow feet and thin or thick socks depending on the weather. When I first considered purchasing these I was worried primarily about two things 1) The laces would flop around and get caught in the chainring, and 2) I'd have to keep stopping during a ride to readjust as there is no way to just reach down and ratchet a little up or down like with most other bike shoe fastening systems. I can't recall a single time either happened. The laces are slightly rigid and once they are tied and placed through the lace garage loop don't move at all. It is also amazing that after you tie these up prior to starting your ride, minor shifts of your foot position just shift the lace pressure to give you room where you need it. Love these shoes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Power Comfort Style

I came from a Fizik Uomo 5, which in its own right was stylish, comfortable and durable. However, when I slipped these on, it was a whole new world.

It was light as a feather, super comfortable, form-fitting, stylish and supportive. My Fizik's weren't heavy, but these were just ridiculously light. you can feel it from the start. I expected some break-in period, but for the most part didn't need it. It didn't feel like an old fair of shoes, but it was 70% there. It didn't have extra space under the center of my feet, which I could feel with my old pair.

One thing I didn't like is how careful you have to be because the outer can scratch easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fit true to size 49/14. Stiff and Light weight. Laces are better than buckles. Who would have thunk?

Road bike. Love em.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love 'em.

Lightweight, fits well, forget that they're on my feet. Bought a second pair just to have a different color.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by SRWilliams
Cycling Enthusiast
Kodiak, AK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better than I had Imagined

The Empires really caught my eye when I first saw them. The old school look with modern technology got my attention. I have owned velcro as well as ratchet style roas shoes and was skeptical about laces because I like to be able to readjust during a ride. There is no need to readjust with the Empire. The laces allow a much more precise fit. They breathe well and are light, a great road shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by Anonymous
The great state of Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid platforms

Better fit than buckles and straps, old school good looks with new school carbon sole - thinner and lighter than the balsa wood soles on my old Duegis. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classy kicks

I'd been waiting for these shoes to go on sale for a long while and when they finally did, I picked up a pair. They're everything I was hoping for - a great combination of style, performance, and...style! They are super lightweight and very stiff. I have really narrow feet and wasn't sure if a men's shoe would work, but with the laces you can dial in your exact fit. Roomier where you need it, tighter where you don't. I'm already planning my next pair!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Giro 2014 Empire ACC Road Shoe
Reviewed 12/19/2014
by oldcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
ft worth tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great shoes,price and service

Great shoes great service and price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Giro 2014 Empire ACC Road Shoe
Reviewed 4/4/2014
by US PJ
Cycling Enthusiast
New York State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Infinitely adjustable fit through the new technology of laces!!

These shoes have a stiff sole, are lightweight, look good but best of all are easy to get an exact fit through the use of the laces. I have other shoes with rachets and boas but none have the custom fit of these Giros. The shoes included Giros adjustable footbeds but I was not too impressed with these but once replaced with my usual footbeds the shoes were very comfortable. These have finally replaced the last shoes I had with laces from 1990!! I love them and the price was awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by Huntsman
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe with added style of laces.

I like these shoes as they give a very relaxed fix compared to some higher end road shoes, with the flexibility of the laces. You aren't left wanting for a stiffer sole in out out of the saddle during hard efforts, they do require a little adjustment to get the fit correct but once you do there great. I like the color the reflective model adds a bit of style to your kit, I find this shoe great as I tend to have an odd fit with pressure on the top of my foot but the laces give me the ability to really fine tune the fit.

If your thinking of purchasing these I highly recommend you do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe, takes a while to break in

Sole is as stiff as you'd expect from a high end shoe, power transfer to the pedals feels great. They can feel a little tight at the front of the foot at first but they break in after a while. Laces offer great customization of fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Giro 2014 Empire ACC Road Shoe
Reviewed 8/15/2014
by Joey
Competitive Racer
Indio, Ca
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Definitely an eye catcher and well made shoe for any event.

Have been using these Giro 2014 Empire AC road shoe for past three weeks (criterium and club rides) and are very comfortable. Definitely made a big difference on the hills lightweight and snug fit. The classic look also brought a lot of attention to fellow cyclists. Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.