Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Cinder MIPS Road Helmet

GiroCinder MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(66%)
(31%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Ken
Albany, NY
Overall Rating
Good fit, bulky

Somewhat bulky compared to Mavic helmet, great fit, comfortable. Using daily on my commute.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Fred
New York
Overall Rating
Great helmet

I really love this helmet. It�s light, comfortable,

And very well made!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by AlNad65
Gold River
Overall Rating
New helmet

The helmet is light and comfortable. It is stylish and the color is a bonus with a nice matte finish. Only thing that keeps it from being a 5 star is the size runs a tad small. Overall its a good value the price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2019
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid GIRO offering.

Seems to fit more snug than prior GIRO helmets but otherwise true to past sizing. Need a warmer day to test ventilation. Not heavy like their Monarch helmet for MTB.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Really Cool Helmet

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better, and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

Bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Really Cool Helmet

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

I bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2019
by Roadogmak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Helmet comfortable in hot weather.

Have used helmet for 2 months now with temps low to mid 90s F, high humidty and riding 100 mileswk. Helmet has good airflow and is not too heavy. Helmet is sized too large for me, I have always worn a Large with a summer skull cap underneath and need room for a heavier wool cap in the winter. With this helmet I have to tighten the adjustment knob to the max to prevent the helmet from moving on my head after persperation builds up. Helmet movement is also a result it's slippery plastic headband (may be part of helmet's safety design feature). The additional safety the helmet offers makes it a worthwhile investment for me. You may want to consider purchasing a smaller size than you normally wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
North East Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Used Giro helmets for 25yrs

Long time road bike with some mountain bike riding too.

I have used Giro helmets for 25 years. Wanted to add a new one with newer design. Ordered the same size as always but this one seems narrower than all previous ones. A little tighter on my temples to the point of potentially causing a problem. I haven't used it for a longer ride yet so I cant say whether it will be a problem. Still great quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2019
by Garth
Cycling Enthusiast
LAOC Counties
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Aero Issue?

After 3 years with the Giro Synthe, it was time to replace it. I selected the Cinder as it was on sale, had MIPS, resembled the Synthe, and had the colorway I wanted. I'm not completely happy as the Cinder seems to rotate towards my eyes as I ride fast, especially downhills. Using the dial adjuster in back only serves to cause me headaches and the helmet still rotates. This is my fourth Giro helmet and two have saved my noggin in crashes or accidents. I'll go back up the line to the Synthe or higher for my next helmet. I won't be waiting long as this one is annoying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2020
by Anonymous
Georgia
Overall Rating
Awesome

Love this helmet. This is my second Giro. Super light. Well vented. Love the selection of colors. Great price. Received my order quickly. Love the customer support, selection and prices at BTD. Been shopping here for years and look forward to many more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Bright, comfortable and good air flow, I'm believer in the MIPS safety system

..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2017
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice helemet - similar to the Synthe

This helmet looks very similar to the Giro Synthe helmet. The venting is close to the Synthe as well. The plastic inner liner of the MIPs structure seems to make the helmet a little hotter and the helmet is not super light. For the money though this helmet provides features that are very close to the more expensive Synthe.

I actually prefer the look of the Cinder helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit but doesn't do well to push sweat away from my face.

Overall fit well and comfortable. The strap and adjustment and well made and work as intended.

Like all helmets, my biggest complaint is they do a poor job of re-directing sweat away from the face.

I ended up using a Halo Headband underneath and there is enough adjustment to fit right.

If i try using the Halo Headband with Solar flap (to cover the neck) then the fit is too tight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/4/2017
by Anonymous
New Jersey
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet

For the price there's no better MIPS equipped helmet. It's light and airy, what more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/7/2017
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great value

Wanted a MIPS helmet to replace my aging Bell Ghisalo that needed new cushions.

Saw this and the discounted Gold Express deal and purchased it. It fits nicely and is comfortable to wear with plenty of ventilation thus far. However, I have yet to wear it in the summer humidity here in Houston.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Bikeric
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, grat fit, comfortable

This is somewhat of a silly question, I wear my helmet to protect my head.

I find the strap difficult to undo, unlike the numerous Giro helmets i have owned

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2017
by Kansasjack
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
An excellent fitting helmet.

Have wore Giro helmets for years, the Cinder fits well and is very comfortable, hi-vis is another plus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great MIPS option

I like vivid colored helmets for safetyvisibility combo. This MIPS helmet fit me perfect and is comfortable in all climatic conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Entique Lipp
riverside CA
Overall Rating
Giro helmet

Is a nice helmet light and fits perfec !!

Biketiers store it has the best deals in the country!! And arrave right on time !!

Thank you ...!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
good lid! enjoy peace of mind of MIPS

Good lid for the great price on BTD. Good circulation. Light. Good helmet and the price was right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 91