Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Giro Cinder MIPS Road Helmet

GiroCinder MIPS Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(14)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(69%)
(27%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by BruceCurt

Reviewed 9/29/2023
by BruceCurt
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Looks good and fits great but it could use better air flow.

I needed a new helmet to replace my Giro Atmos and I was interested in a MIPS helmet. I�ve worn Giro helmets for many years so the choice was easy for me. I had decided on the Cinder as a mid-priced helmet, but I caught it on sale so the price was even better. Then to sweeten the deal a little bit more I was contacted by BikeTiresDirect as I had previously registered to be notified when the helmet was back in stock during an earlier sale and was given a few dollars more off on the helmet. Can�t beat that. The helmet fits very well and there seems to be a good deal of adjustment. My only issue with the helmet is that it doesn�t seem to cool as well as my old Atmos. As someone else noted, I think the MIPS liner interferes with the air flow over your head. Otherwise it is a very good helmet. I would add that Cinder is probably not the best name for a helmet that one would buy to keep you head cool.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by D Allen

Reviewed 1/12/2024
by D Allen
Santa Cruz
Overall Rating
Giro cinder review

I like the helmet. I've always worn Giro helmets.This one is great, the price was spot on, it didn't break the bank. The quality of the helmet is great. Every year the helmets get better. I don't need the latest version, I just want an inexpensive helmet that looks good and fits proper. This helmet does just that.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mellow rider

Reviewed 2/15/2024
by mellow rider
Cycling Enthusiast
michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
lightweight, comfortable, efficacious, stylish, aerodynamic

8-days a week, just like jpg and r

i like

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/19/2022
by Anonymous
New York.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Giro Cinder

This is my first Giro helmet i have purchased and I am glad that I did. The helmet is extremely comfortable due to the adjustments that can be made with the dial on the back. There is an additional adjustment inside the helmet that can be used to add additional comfort. I had measured my head in order to purchase the right size. I was surprised that I fit into a small even with a cycling cap underneath the helmet. I would recommend purchasing this helmet if you are replacing an existing helmet or purchasing your first helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by k*

Reviewed 8/16/2021
by k*
Cycling Enthusiast
North Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Love this Helmet

I've used Giro helmets for 15-20 years because they have okay adjustability and a decent fit and usually pick the $50-75 dollar ones, but this Cinder is so much more comfortable with great airflow. It's light, stays rock steady in place so much so that I just don't notice I'm even wearing a helmet as much. Even the straps are more comfortable and easier to adjust. I decided to try the Cinder because of a good price match and some VIP bucks to make it a steal but wow am I'm impressed with this helmet. Definitely recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Frank

Reviewed 9/26/2023
by Frank
BOISE
Overall Rating
Good helmet

Does everything as advertised.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Road, gravel rider

Reviewed 7/29/2021
by Road, gravel rider
New England
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Super nice helmet

Great air movement, comfortable, and, I�m told, not bad lookin�.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kamas

Reviewed 11/30/2019
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solid GIRO offering.

Seems to fit more snug than prior GIRO helmets but otherwise true to past sizing. Need a warmer day to test ventilation. Not heavy like their Monarch helmet for MTB.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by agshane

Reviewed 8/22/2019
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A Really Cool Helmet

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better, and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

Bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by agshane

Reviewed 8/22/2019
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A Really Cool Helmet

This is the second Giro helmet that I have owned. The other was a couple of levels below the Cinder. I have found that this helmet is cooler, fits better and seems to be constructed better than previous less expensive products. Oddly enough, the straps were perfect and needed no adjustment, just another plus.

I bought the Cinder on sale, so it was a steal compared to the MSRP. After buying this helmet and seeing the quality of the helmet, I believe I would go ahead and pay full retail if I had too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roadogmak

Reviewed 8/13/2019
by Roadogmak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Helmet comfortable in hot weather.

Have used helmet for 2 months now with temps low to mid 90s F, high humidty and riding 100 mileswk. Helmet has good airflow and is not too heavy. Helmet is sized too large for me, I have always worn a Large with a summer skull cap underneath and need room for a heavier wool cap in the winter. With this helmet I have to tighten the adjustment knob to the max to prevent the helmet from moving on my head after persperation builds up. Helmet movement is also a result it's slippery plastic headband (may be part of helmet's safety design feature). The additional safety the helmet offers makes it a worthwhile investment for me. You may want to consider purchasing a smaller size than you normally wear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Garth

Reviewed 6/17/2019
by Garth
Cycling Enthusiast
LAOC Counties
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Aero Issue?

After 3 years with the Giro Synthe, it was time to replace it. I selected the Cinder as it was on sale, had MIPS, resembled the Synthe, and had the colorway I wanted. I'm not completely happy as the Cinder seems to rotate towards my eyes as I ride fast, especially downhills. Using the dial adjuster in back only serves to cause me headaches and the helmet still rotates. This is my fourth Giro helmet and two have saved my noggin in crashes or accidents. I'll go back up the line to the Synthe or higher for my next helmet. I won't be waiting long as this one is annoying.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bergen County NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet with MIPS

Helmet is very comfortable and easy to adjust. Love that it has MIPS to protect me.

Bike Tires Direct is great to deal with. Very fair prices. Quick answers to questions.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ajlacombe

Reviewed 7/24/2017
by ajlacombe
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nice helemet - similar to the Synthe

This helmet looks very similar to the Giro Synthe helmet. The venting is close to the Synthe as well. The plastic inner liner of the MIPs structure seems to make the helmet a little hotter and the helmet is not super light. For the money though this helmet provides features that are very close to the more expensive Synthe.

I actually prefer the look of the Cinder helmet.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/26/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Bright, comfortable and good air flow, I'm believer in the MIPS safety system

..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit but doesn't do well to push sweat away from my face.

Overall fit well and comfortable. The strap and adjustment and well made and work as intended.

Like all helmets, my biggest complaint is they do a poor job of re-directing sweat away from the face.

I ended up using a Halo Headband underneath and there is enough adjustment to fit right.

If i try using the Halo Headband with Solar flap (to cover the neck) then the fit is too tight.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/4/2017
by Anonymous
New Jersey
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent helmet

For the price there's no better MIPS equipped helmet. It's light and airy, what more could you ask for?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim

Reviewed 4/7/2017
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great value

Wanted a MIPS helmet to replace my aging Bell Ghisalo that needed new cushions.

Saw this and the discounted Gold Express deal and purchased it. It fits nicely and is comfortable to wear with plenty of ventilation thus far. However, I have yet to wear it in the summer humidity here in Houston.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bikeric

Reviewed 2/20/2017
by Bikeric
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet, grat fit, comfortable

This is somewhat of a silly question, I wear my helmet to protect my head.

I find the strap difficult to undo, unlike the numerous Giro helmets i have owned

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kansasjack

Reviewed 1/16/2017
by Kansasjack
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
An excellent fitting helmet.

Have wore Giro helmets for years, the Cinder fits well and is very comfortable, hi-vis is another plus.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]