Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Ambient Skull Cap

GiroAmbient Skull Cap(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(34 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(15%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/27/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
PNW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best fitting skull cap ever.

This is a great cap for wet wintry weather.

The ear flaps do not ride up your ears and can easily be turned up when needed.

The micro-brim helps keep sweat off your glasses.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia Pa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Warm, comfortable and actually covers your ears!

Wear it while commuting and I have no problems with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2020
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
It is a great skull cap

It is a great skull cap for cold weather riding. It fits perfectly under my Giro helmet, and is very comfortable. The ear protection is much better than my other skull caps. I use my sunglasses with this cap, and have no complaints with the glasses falling or getting away.

There is some wind noise, but not as much as my other caps with the ear flaps down. When the ride warms up,

the ear flaps go up and it works as a wonderful temperature control.

I wish I had these sooner!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
eastern Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent fit/comfort and features

Unlike the cycling "skullcaps" of OLD, THIS one actually fits large heads comfortably! Ear flaps extend down nicely, the hint of a brim over the eyes rimmed with reflective stripe is a nice touch. Fabric has smooth outer and is thin enough to fit under helmet with little or no helmet adjustment needed, and fleeced inner feels great. The wind blocking front panel, with breathable sides/back provides comfort for wide range of temperatures. Easily fits in jersey pocket when not in use. Exactly what I was hoping for!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Dicimon Arustavi
Daily Commuter
SE Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The best winter hat I have

I bought this hat for winter cycling to increase my everyday wardrobe from two hats to THREE HATS. I am a huge fan of the cycling caps with bills so I was glad to find this one that had both long warm ear covers, and shading/shielding bill features, since my two at the time were just skull caps.

It is toasty, has long side flaps to keep your ears warm, and also has a nice little forehead flap that keeps your forehead warm. This forehead flap has been very useful in this time of constant temperature checks when I walk in to work with a frozen face. My other hats cause me to fail checks with a "low body temperature" reading, but wearing this hat has been keeping my body temperature "normal." With that being said it is obviously not as breathable as my other thin skull caps, but that's kind of the point.

Also great that it is made from polyester, polyurethane, and nylon...NO WOOL, making it a vegan option!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/3/2022
by Eric
Central Kentucky
Overall Rating
Works great

Works well for those cold rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2022
by Silicon Farmboy
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for 45+ weather. Fits XL head size.

I have tried a couple of skull caps that didn't fit my head. Since there are two sizes, I gave this cap a try. It's perfect for cold (40+ degrees) weather. The ear flaps work well with the helmet straps keeping them in place. There's some breathability so while my head did get somewhat hot, I didn't create any problems or discomfort. Hopefully it lasts after a few washes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2022
by Jim
Issaquah, WA
Overall Rating
Tested down to 30'F

Had the opportunity to test this out on a ride that started with temps in the very low 30's F for the first couple hours and my head stayed quite comfortable. As the temps warmed up into the mid-40s my head was starting to sweat. Fits well under my helmet. The small brim can be of marginal use since itbis pretty short and barely, if at all, extends beyond the edge of my helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2020
by Slim
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Finally found the right cap!

I bought this cap for 20-50 degree (F) road bike riding and training. The short bill is excellent to help keep the rain from dripping off the helmet into the eyes and the wind stop frontal section is just what you need to make the cold bearable at speed.

My head size is approximately 6 5/8 (small) and the fit is nearly perfect. My only note is that the ear flaps tend to creep up very slightly. This is no problem since I wear a thin baklava over this cap on cold days and it holds the ear flaps in place. I would purchase this again as it it completely satisfies my search for cold weather protection, light weight, and fit. As mentioned above, I do wear a very thin baklava for added face and neck comfort on the colder days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2018
by Woodcraft
Cycling Enthusiast
Norcal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job well

Having used the Giro merino winter cap for years,

I've given this a try, & it's working well.

Covers the ears, but you can uncover them on the fly for temperature control.

Not overly warm- I used a 2nd thin skull cap for a 40 ride, fits under helmet well.

Get the large size- tight fit cuts circulation.

The best part is the brim, which is enough to keep rain out of the eyes, but doesn't obstruct vision

when in a low position- a problem with many caps including the merino one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo,MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
works for me at 50 to 40 degrees

Really works well for me from about 50- 40 degrees. I like that it covers my ears

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2018
by rockn Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
Weatherford, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great cap

used this cap in temps from 40's to the 50's. keeps your head warm. the ear flaps want to flip up when riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2022
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for cold weather rides

Keeps head and ears warm even on sub-freezing rides. Comfortable under helmet. Blocks wind chill on ears on cold weather rides. Stays ward on rain soaked rides too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2021
by Wattaride
Competitive Racer
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Hot Head

Used to wear headbands and (ski)helmet liners until I found this one. Fits perfectly under the helmet and is warm and windproof (tested on rides into the mid 20s). The small brim is a great additional feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by Cope
Daily Commuter
Danville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Extremely comfortable

Fits great, the ear tabs provide just the right coverage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Fit and Weight

I use it under my helmet on coldchilly days. Fits perfect under my Giro Helmet and is not too hot when the day gets warmer and I get warmer. Have worn it comfortably enough up to almost 60 degrees, typically wear when below 50ish at start.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Doing business with BikeTiresDirect makes the purchase that much more pleasant. Thanks!!

This is a great product, exactly what I expected, the service and ease of doing business with BikeTiresDirect makes the purchase that much more pleasant. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fits well under a helmut; very comfortable.

This cap has been great in the cold, but I wouldn't recommend it at temperatures below 35deg. Also doesn't work well with Aftershokz headphones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good hat

Good design,warm,wind proof front and breathable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2019
by Onegear29
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around cap!

Needed a cap that was in between a thick wool cap and a cotton cap for winter rides and this cap fit the bill to a T. Great for temps from 32 to 45 but can get a little toasty above that. The fit is great with just enough ear coverage and the bill long enough to provide protection for glasses while still venting. Fits under my helmets just fine without bunching up or moving around. Great product especially for the price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 41

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]