Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Giro Aether MIPS Helmet

GiroAether MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(83%)
(8%)
(4%)
(4%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Luvs2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Cool and Comfortable

The fit of this helmet in size Small is the same fit for me as my Giro Synthe (non-mips). I feel it is true to size. I bought the helmet for the added safety and also hoping that it would be cooler than my Giro Aeon or Synthe in the Texas heat. I wore my new Aether tonight in 92-95 degree heat and I could feel the cool air flowing across my head. It was almost like an air conditioner! The helmet is noticeably cooler than my Giro Aeon. I will continue to reserve my Giro Synthe as my winter helmet. The Aether is very comfortable and I certainly did not notice the few extra grams (apx 35) between it any my other Giro helmets. Adjusting the helmet is super easy and I love the new Roc Loc and the sun glasses holder. Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice upgrade over the Synthe

My Giro Synthe helmet was ready to be replaced and I had been drooling over the Aether, so, at a big % off, it was great deal. The Aether has the MIPS technology built in to the helmet instead of being attached to the already made helmet, so the entire interior of the helmet rotates to absorb shock in case of a crash. This seems much better than the Synthe. Fit is very good. I've only had one ride in 85 heat and the ventilation was good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2020
by R michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My wifes helmet and she loves it.

The giro helmet was expensive, but what is it worth to keep you brain together. It is light weight and adjusts easily. Glad you had it in stock.

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/19/2020
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a GREAT helmet

I use the helmet on all my rides. It is light and comfortable, and fits my head without any undue pressure points. It works with all my Oakley sunglasses. I have used several winter caps under it, and with a twist of the knob it adjusts for a perfect fit.

I crashed once, but did not get to test the helmet as there was no head contact with the ground. I hope to not test the helmets crash worthiness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2019
by PhxStar
Phoenix
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great comfortable helmet

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2020
by Adam W
Cycling Enthusiast
Carson City, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Makes you look like a mushroom

I don't have a local shop where I can try on higher-end helmets. Even the big shops around here have a few entry- and mid-level helmets. I splurged because I expected a pricier helmet to look more sleek. Instead I look like a mushroom. The Large is about 2 inches wider than my old large Giro and I though THAT helmet was bad. I will apparently need to go to a different brand. Luckily I was able to return so I'm only out the return shipping. To be fair, this helmet looks awesome coming out of the box, it just doesn't look like an expensive helmet atop my rather bulbous head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Worth the price.
Southern California desert
Overall Rating
Top quality and functional

I replace my helmet every four years and found this Giro helmet has everything I need. I especially enjoy the fit, vibrant colors, space to mount a rearview mirror, and innovative MIPS Technology that allows thinner helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Worth every penny

Bought this to replace a Synthe that took a fall when bike was knocked over. While it was a bummer, I was always secretly wanting an Aether, especially given the improvement to the MIPS system and the fit. Was not disappointed. This thing rocks and I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Ventilation is stellar too, especially on hot Florida days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2019
by Gooner
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best helmet I've had, light, comfortable and stylish, little pricy..

Road and Mountain Bike, cold and hot weather.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by griley
Cycling Enthusiast
Crescent City, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet.

It is difficult to review the most essential function of a helmet, protection in a crash. So, I will need to defer to the testing completed by Giro, and talk about the feel. This helmet fit beautifully out of the box. It is light and snug and very comfortable. I also look for a helmet with a lot of air flow and this helmet meets my needs. I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone with a little extra cash to splurge.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by menace
Cycling Enthusiast
virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
can you put a price on preventing head injuries?

I look for the best value, but I won't skimp on my helmets. MIPS is a must. if you have ever had a concussion, you will do what is necessary to avoid it ever again. giros typically fit the best, so with their next gen mips protection, i opted to make the jump. pricey, but i'm worth it. not a liner, but a shell within a helmet. that's right, a helmet within a helmet. the aether is less clunky than my Poc MIPS, and I had to monkey with the straps for a better fit, but hey, that's the case with most helmets. the aether mips is not for everybody, but for the cautious ones out there, it's a no brainer (no pun intended).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2018
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet!

Great helmet, fantastic fit. I wore a Synthe MIPS, and the Aether fits about the same, I was a little worried when I read the review concerning the bad fit. I think maybe the person who had the fit problem, may have had a size issue - like too large. I really think this new MIPS technology is a large improvement over the first MIPS. Have worn Giro helmets for years and they continue to improve their helmets. Hopefully I will not have to test the Aether helmet, but a Giro helmet saved my life 13 years ago, would not have survived my head injury without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet

Helmet is comfortable and extremely light. As much as was hating having to retire my Giro Ionos, I actually like this better....though I will miss the winter liner. The aether docking port for glasses makes stashing topside easier than expected. A previous reviewer had issue with comfort, interference with glass and the back of the neck in drops. I have not had any of these problems and found just the opposite, that it works well in all positions and with my Oakleys. I took one star off value for this helmet being spendy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2019
by Nerlens
Cycling Enthusiast
Humid, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solved a specific problem and better ventilated that my Synthe.

Upgraded from Synthe for longish (4-6 hour) road rides. I didn't like the way that the Synthe MIPS materials left imprints on my forehead for an hour and a half after my rides. This helmet doesn't do that and seems to have better ventilation too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and incredibly safe

The helmet fits me perfectly. There are plenty of ventilation holes that works well. Placing sunglasses in the vent holes is easy and there are rubber pads that keep them in. This is the top of the line helmet from Giro, the price shows it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by otimothyboy
Competitive Racer
Berkeley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
excellent Ventilation, nice fit, the concept is good.

I use this helmet on my road bike training. I got the color that changes color, so it matches my Tarmac. I really like the concept in terms of hopefully not crashing, but just in case this makes sense. It fits well but I'm always in between sizes, so a small is just a bit to tight, and the medium, just a wee bit loose, but it cinches down ok. Overall I'm happy with it, and would probably buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2018
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Winter Liner

Something I forgot in my review, do not retire that Ionos winter liner. I used it in my Synthe helmet and plan to use it in the Aether - it fits!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Gorgeous Helmet

Not as comfortable as previous Giro helmets for me - I have an oval headshape and this one is a little more round than oval in shape. Lightweight, great airflow, loving the upgraded straps. Overall, a very nice helmet with leading edge technology when purchased at a sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Overall Rating
Amazing helmet!

I love everything about this helmet. Great upgrade from other Giro helmets I've had in the past. Amazing fit and so comfortable!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 31