FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Giro Aether MIPS Helmet

GiroAether MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(78%)
(11%)
(0%)
(11%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/20/2018
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Exceptional Helmet

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by griley
Cycling Enthusiast
Crescent City, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet.

It is difficult to review the most essential function of a helmet, protection in a crash. So, I will need to defer to the testing completed by Giro, and talk about the feel. This helmet fit beautifully out of the box. It is light and snug and very comfortable. I also look for a helmet with a lot of air flow and this helmet meets my needs. I would highly recommend this helmet to anyone with a little extra cash to splurge.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by menace
Cycling Enthusiast
virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
can you put a price on preventing head injuries?

i look for the best value, but i won't skimp on my helmets. mips is a must. if you have ever had a concussion, you will do what is necessary to avoid it ever again. giros typically fit the best, so with their next gen mips protection, i opted to make the jump. pricey, but i'm worth it. not a liner, but a shell within a helmet. that's right, a helmet within a helmet. the aether is less clunky than my poc mips, a plus,i had to monkey with the straps for a better fit, but hey, that's the case with most helmets. the aether mips is not for everybody, but for the cautious ones out there, it's a no brainer (no pun intended).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2018
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet!

Great helmet, fantastic fit. I wore a Synthe MIPS, and the Aether fits about the same, I was a little worried when I read the review concerning the bad fit. I think maybe the person who had the fit problem, may have had a size issue - like too large. I really think this new MIPS technology is a large improvement over the first MIPS. Have worn Giro helmets for years and they continue to improve their helmets. Hopefully I will not have to test the Aether helmet, but a Giro helmet saved my life 13 years ago, would not have survived my head injury without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2018
by otimothyboy
Competitive Racer
Berkeley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
excellent Ventilation, nice fit, the concept is good.

I use this helmet on my road bike training. I got the color that changes color, so it matches my Tarmac. I really like the concept in terms of hopefully not crashing, but just in case this makes sense. It fits well but I'm always in between sizes, so a small is just a bit to tight, and the medium, just a wee bit loose, but it cinches down ok. Overall I'm happy with it, and would probably buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great helmet

Helmet is comfortable and extremely light. As much as was hating having to retire my Giro Ionos, I actually like this better....though I will miss the winter liner. The aether docking port for glasses makes stashing topside easier than expected. A previous reviewer had issue with comfort, interference with glass and the back of the neck in drops. I have not had any of these problems and found just the opposite, that it works well in all positions and with my Oakleys. I took one star off value for this helmet being spendy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/30/2018
by SDCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Winter Liner

Something I forgot in my review, do not retire that Ionos winter liner. I used it in my Synthe helmet and plan to use it in the Aether - it fits!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Anonymous
Michigan
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Technology- For me Extremely Uncomfortably

The technology in this helmet is incredible. It is also extremely uncomfortable. The problem for me is it is cut about half an inch longer than other helmets. It pushes hard on the stems and bridge of my sunglasses and pushes them down on my nose. Because of the longer skirt it also digs into the back of my neck when I am looking up from riding on the drops. No adjustments cure this ... in my case. I would love to have this state of the art protection, but I am not willing to ride without my Oakleys and I cant tolerate the discomfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2018
by Roland
Competitive Racer
South Florida
Overall Rating
Great Helmet in function and style

unlike a previous comment. The helmet fits great and it allows me to wear my Oakleys without pushing down on my nose and it is very comfortable in a super tuck position. By the way it looks great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.